Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

A fabulous experience

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: The sundowner deck to sit out on in an evening at the lapa
Location: Explore Addo elephant park and take in a game drive
We stayed in one of the dung beetle suites which was such good fun, hidden away in the undergrowth. Room was large enough for the four of us and our hosts Rod and Magna were both lovely and very knowledgeable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Magna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Decent place near Elephant Park

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Location to the Elephant park, farm setting, and the hosts.
Location: Addo Elephant Park
Friendly hosts. Nice farm setting, clean room and bathroom. Very close to the Addo Elephant park. The road leading up to the place is quite rough, but I believe that is due to the lack of water in the area at the moment. Not the hotels fault, just allow so extra time as you will need to travel slowly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Magna, Hotel Management
Dear Jason, Thank you for your response and feedback. We do look forward to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Magna
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Aust

Unique experience close to Addo NP

Posted May 4, 2017 on Wotif
Rod and Magna were great hosts and the bush cabins were exciting and unique. Nestled amongst vast citrus farms Dung Beetle will remain in our memories for all the right reasons.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Eco lodge on a fruit farm close to Addo

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Addo Game reserve
If you can face the 6km trek on bone juddering roads before you get to the hotel then this could be the place for you. But we stayed in one of the new Dung Beetles accommodation in the bush. Some way from the main lapa. This is an attempt at Eco accommodation with a small concrete structure that could double as a nuclear shelter, which did not quite suit our tastes. The hosts were very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from cancun, mexico

Not your standard hotel....BRILLIANT!

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: So unusual, yet with modern conveniences and very clean. Loved the walk to our hut, with all the sayings about nature. The owners!
Location: Best to have a GPS to find it!
Loved this unusual accommodation with all its repurposed touches. Ingenious! Loved the fact that the huts are in the middle of the bush, yet we never fe!t unsafe. The unit even has a microwave. Suggest putting your overnight needs in a backpack and leaving any heavy suitcases secure in your car in the lot. Rod offers a game drive through Addo that is worth doing. For mature travelers like us, who no longer do so well driving in the dark, you might want to make sure you have an Ramen or similar to have in your room or prebook dinner at the inn. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but the roads are not well lit. Would stay again!
4 out of 5
by srian from Australia. Newcastle

Dung beetle lodge ADDO

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Good place for rest after visiting ADDO Game park. Breakfast excellent. Two Friendly dogs situated in a big citrus Farm
5 out of 5
by Timotheus from Augsburg, Germany

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
The guys running it are doing a fantastic job. Super friendly, super helpful. Great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Bush chalet experience

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Enjoyed the nature feeling. Especially the outside shower view across the mountains.