Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Terrible - never again

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Staff picking phone and have a room where things actually work.
Location: Not much and not as close to Addo Park as thought.
Informed would arrive late, called them but no answer. Had to wait outside the gate till another guest arrived and opened the gate and waited in car park till someone saw us and gave a room key. Bathroom is a hazard, sheets not clean, worst part was no heating as the AC would not heat and we froze and could not sleep at night. AVOIDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD! Many other better options in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Lizeknoetze, Hotel Management
Good Morning First of all we have waited after hours for you to arrive at our guest farm, and we have a screen in our reception that shows us when there is a car in front of our gates. About the key - we take all our guest to their rooms personally, we did not just hand you a key, if that was the case you wouldn't have found your room . You stayed with us in April, our weather in April are still very warm, if you have changed the setting on the aircon to the sun, then it will only heat. We can promise you that all our sheets are clean and all our guest are happy with our standard. According to our rating for cleanliness we have 9.4 out of 10. I don't think that this comment is at all fair to us and our Staff that works very hard and always willing to help and make sure that our guests are happy and well looked after. We don't understand why would you ask to stay longer after check-out time, if your stay was so terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and tranquil setting

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Air conditioned stand-alone lodge self-catering rooms but with the flexibility of having meals if required. Pool as well.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Really good location for visiting Addo park and surrounding areas
We stayed in the very spacious well-appointed two bedroomed air conditioned thatched cottage which had very good outside space including its own braii and garden with views. Ideally located for visiting the parks. We only stayed one night and wish it had been longer.
5 out of 5
by Jari from Cape Town / Oulu

Review for De Old Drift Guest Farm

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Charming guest farm with a service. Breakfast and dinner were prepared by professionals. Relaxing location out of the main road. If you are looking for relaxation rather than pretentious service like Hilton or Kempinski this is the place.
3 out of 5
by Ulrich from Swiss

Old Farm Lodges is ok

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels
Is ok, for the Trip to Addo park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Edinburgh

Nice self-catering room on guest farm

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: The three friendly dogs were fun (suspect they are regularly treated by guests staying here)
Location: Main reason to stay here is proximity to Addo.
We only stayed one night but wish we had stopped for longer!
5 out of 5
by Mrjars from Australia

Lovely! Really happy

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels
My mother and I stayed two nights in a self-catering cottage. Very comfortable and clean and a lovely location to return to after an afternoon driving around nearby Addo Elephant N.P. The owners' three resident canines are the sweetest-natured, most well behaved fellows! They were so cute the way they'd come for a walk with us down to the river, or quietly sit outside the door in the morning waiting for a "good morning" pat! This was one of the best places we stayed in our trip around South Africa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frances from Northampton, UK

Great for everyone

Posted Apr 20, 2013
Pros: The very help staff and owners, who go out of their way to make everyone feel like they are the most important people they have ever had to stay
Cons: Leaving
Location: Quiet and relaxed.
This was a great great guest house very helpful staff with great ideas of what to do and places to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CHUCK from Maine, USA

BEST SAFARI TOUR

Posted Mar 10, 2012
Pros: FRIENDLINESS OF OWNERS...INCLUDING DOGS!
Cons: NO TOURIST FACILITIES IN AREA....RESTAURANTS/FOOD STORES ETC
TAKE THE SAFARI TOUR WITH DELANO, THE OWNER....INFORMATIVE,EXCITING...A TRUE LIFE EXPERIENCE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Oase kurz vor dem Haupteingang des Addo eine charmante lodge - immer hilfsbereites Personal, köstliches Abendessen - einfach Erholung pur