Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Tara

Stunning property

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely loved this place it was peaceful relaxing secluded in amongst fruit trees. The room was large and roomy very comfortable bed loved the bathroom but best of all was main lodge the beautiful log fire and the breakfast was to die for.
5 out of 5
by Roger

best food in ADDO area.

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
The food is outstanding. Our sixth visit.
5 out of 5
by lesley from France

loved it

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
really enjoyed it, the gardens, the food, the room and the staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Hotel with character near Addo elephant park

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Good location, friendly staff, great food. Complimentary pickup and return to game reserves. The buildings have great character, period furniture.
Cons: Open plan bathroom in bedroom (separate wc) ok for couple but could be awkward. Room smelt of rotten fruit on arrival.
Location: A short drive from Port Elizabeth, easy to find with satnav. I would imagine most guests stay there due to proximity to Addo game reserve.
Spent 2 nights at Hopefield whilst visiting game reserves nearby. Booking was very easy, followed up by email from Kobus who runs the guesthouse with details of guided excursions to the parks, and offering to book them for us. Arrival was confusing due to red tape across the driveway but no clear directions for the alternative. Gated access makes the grounds feel safe, and complimentary car wash was a nice touch. The evening meal (requires booking in advance) was superb and reasonably priced, as was breakfast (included in price). Well stocked bar. There is a fire pit for guests to sit round after dinner, a great way to get to know each other.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to Addo Elephant Park, about 25 minute drive

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Have stayed here before, and would return again
Location: 25 mins from Addo, an hour from Port Elizabeth
Good location, great food, relaxing, polite staff, if going to Addo again, we would come back here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great stay near addo

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very nice place. We took the lowest price room and it was very nice and clean. The yard is beautiful. We also had adelicious dinner in the restaurant in place. Breakfast was also really good. The stuff in place was very kind and happy to assist. I really like the classic music that was in the background during dinner and breakfast. Wifi is not the best but we have managed. We also thought the bed linens could be better. Overall a very nice, comfort and beautiful place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was wonderful from the welcome to the lovely rooms, gardens, superb dinner and breakfast. Wished we were staying longer.
4 out of 5
by Lee from Cape Town

Comfortable stay with friendly staff

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed at the lodge for one night, but received very good service from the hotel staff. There was a miscommunication regarding the Addo game drive we booked, which was very inconvenient. We were under the impression we booked the 18:30 game drive through Kobus, but when we arrived at the hotel, were told it was for 16:30 and we only arrived at the hotel at 3pm which gave us only half an hour to relax before we had to leave again. Other than this lack of communication, the establishment was very quiet, offered a lovely dinner, if somewhat limited in choice. Overall we had a good time at the hotel, apart for the miscommunication. The service received by the hotel staff is top quality and they really go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Exceptional Service, lovely guesthouse and grounds

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Rooms, location, service, environment, comfort, air conditioning, gardens.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Addo National Elephant Park
Really enjoyed staying in this beautiful guesthouse. Room was very spacious, comfortable and had a private patio and sitting area. Staff were exceptional, kind and helpful. Great location near Addo Elephant Park - owners booked tours for us in advance. Highlight was the beautiful gourmet meals - make sure you include dinner when asked!