Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice location in CBD and close to market .

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Nice staff, adequate place to stay . Mild on ceiling in the bathroom . Very old facilities . Pic of hotel is deceiving .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Hotel was close to Clipsal.

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Was close to where we wanted to go.
Cons: Need to refill coffee and sugar daily and supply something to stir your coffee with. Clean towels daily would be nice.
Hotel was ok very out dated. Staff were all very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

one night only

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Water in the shower too hot, the cold tap water didn't work properly. Aircon noisy, construction outside didn't help. The next room's tap water made so much noise as well. Breakfast was included but not nice, especially serving sachet coffees. Overall not a good experience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2015
everything was very old and there was mould in the room. Only the bed was good and comfy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old and tired

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Could be turned into a chic boutique hotel if someone invested several million dollars..good location.
Location: Central. Good location.
Hotel has seen better days. My room was a couple away from the lift..every time the lift was used through the night I was awakened by booming and clattering as the archaic lift door was opened and closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Old but clean

Posted Jun 12, 2015
A quirky old hotel but clean and central to shopping and entertainment.Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to town hall wedding

Posted May 27, 2015
Older room but quaint and adequate. Loved the older heritage lift
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

I would not call it a 3 star

Posted Feb 18, 2015
I would not call it a 3 star website looks amazing but when you get their it's dated and old
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E

Cheap and old

Posted Oct 25, 2014
The hotel is old. I was surprised when I reached at the door and couldnt find the word "Hotel" infront of the ambassador! The lift was terrible I preferred to use stares all the times. The rooms were cleaned every day. However there were a couple of butterflies at room. Also the aircondition was noisy. Ultimately, the hotel was ok and the price was economic however its good to be awar of other conditions before booking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: It was quirky.
Cons: No pokies, that was a big let down for us.
Hotel staff were very friendly and rooms where clean and a good size. This is a very old building so no mod cons but pleasant anyway.