Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel at Great Value

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very Convenient and Central located and good breakfast, stayed for 8 nights.
2 out of 5
by Camille from Sydney

Ambassador's gave the cold shoulder.

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
There were very few staff around, even when I needed to check out. Breakfast was adequate and the rooms comfortable... for the price. I did have to endure a tepid shower on my first morning and an icy cold one the next. Not great for the middle of winter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice location in CBD and close to market .

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Nice staff, adequate place to stay . Mild on ceiling in the bathroom . Very old facilities . Pic of hotel is deceiving .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Budget accommodation in the heart of Adelaide City

Posted May 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location and price. Helpful staff.
Cons: Carpet in room. Plaster on walls.
Excellent budget accommodation located within walking distance of all the city landmarks. Free city tram and free city/North Adelaide bus a minute away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2016 on Wotif
Very disappointing, over priced hostel imo! Bathroom door wouldn't shut due to bed in the way. Was expecting a rustic charm but was dirty, antiquated and run down. Showering was a horror inducing experience as there were not one but two pubes stuck to the wall, stay away!
5 out of 5
by Ishmael from Ayers Rock

Excellent visit of my life.

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was excellent and we wish to come back again, and refer our friends as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location in cheap digs!!

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Wotif
If u want a cheap bed with basic breakfast this is the place!! Great location,helpful staff,it is old just needs basics up graded eg carpets paint,tiles in bathroom,shower screen
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Close to town
Cons: Wifi was terrible, fridge in room needed to be updated doors hard to open
Location: Close walk to resturants
Was ok for price brekky was a bonus very basic rooms old hotel
2 out of 5
by Kelly from New Zealand

Honesty is the best policy

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Well we knew the hotel had not so great reviews, but actually staying there was something else!!! Free wifi?!! Only if you are downstairs - not accessible from the rooms. TV?!! Only if you like watching a programme with little reception and no sound. Air con?!! If you don't mind a noisy old unit that is chucked in the window?!! CBD?!! Totally, this is fab, but not when you're not informed about the construction that is literally just outside your window, from 6.30/7am...I could touch the guys, they were that close. This should have been communicated before check in. Original?!! Totally! Smells like it too. These justify the price. Apart from all these negative aspects the room was clean and tidy and staff helpful...with all our complaints. I hope they take the feedback onboard to make this hotel a better place, the building is pretty funky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excellent location to the CBD.

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Kat and Maureen
Cons: The decor, the lighting in the rooms, the signage to find your room and the way out! The grumpy barman's attitude to paying guests!
Location: The location is fantastic with the Rundle mall 5 mins away. Places to eat are just everywhere!
This Heritage listed Hotel in the CBD is great. Value for money is fantastic. Hotel needs some modernization in keeping with the style. More signs to find your way around the hotel would be very helpful. Kat and Maureen, the breakfast staff, were so lovely and need to be congratulated on their fantastic, friendly service every morning- they both made our stay better. The bar was a great place to meet before dinner, the young lady,bar staff member, was always friendly, which is more than can be said for the grumpy man who begrudgingly served us drinks- He seemed more comfortable in the betting bar and was so rude at times!! Not good for business! The beds in our rooms were ok but could have done with an upgrade. bed linen and towels were always very clean. I would come back and stay but hopefully it would have been given an upgrade all over and some staff been given some training in how to talk to paying guests! Thank you again Kat and Maureen- you were the best!!