Ratings based on 874 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelso, WA

Great apartment near park

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Clean and renovated charming brick building. Friendly helpful staff. No lifts from parking garage, so pack light, or unload your bags at the street before parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly room

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Room smelled of cigarette smoke and poor ventilation
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and am disappointed you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel. All our rooms are non-smoking, so it is disappointing also that someone else's actions have impacted your stay. I encourage you in the future to let us know of any issues during your stay so that we can be given the opportunity to provide a solution. Thank you once again and I hope we are able to welcome you back to Majestic Hotels in the future. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Everything....except for housekeeping! The staff were amazing and the apartment was otherwise perfect for the needs of our family of five.
Cons: Housekeeping needs to improve dramatically. I understand that we stayed over the Easter break, but this is no excuse for not servicing the rooms.
Location: Central. Near great restaurants, the zoo, parks and the cbd.
Great facility, spacious apartment with all the mod cons. Only disappointment, was that the room was barely serviced. Beds were never made, floors were never cleaned, linen never changed and fresh towels (when delivered) were simply dumped on the couch. I expected more when staying for six days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and am glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We do a modified service on Public Holidays and do not service rooms on Sundays. This should have been communicated to you in a welcome letter in your room. My apologies that this was not adequately communicated. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great hotel, with big, clean and fully updated rooms, very comfy beds, efficient and friendly staff. Great location and my favorite part about this hotel was the beautiful landscaped grounds. The grounds were well cared for and trimmed, with very nice lighting at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and am delighted your experience was worthy of a 5 star rating! I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from regional SA

Excellent location, English garden feel

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Everything
Location: Restaurants, Adelaide Oval (we walked), O'Connell St, parklands - just a great place to stay.
Perfect, always love staying here, car safely locked up, walk to restaurants and easy 25 minute walk to city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hi Jenny, Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and am delighted we can look after you time and again! I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Marc A

Great stay.

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay. Comfortable rooms. Clean and close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Greg, Hotel Management
Hi Marc, Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and and delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

close to Adelaide oval

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Hotel was situated well and easy to get too. Close to a good pub and a few restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morningto Peninsula

Perfect location

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Lovely walk into the city along the river. Love all Melbourne Streets restaurants and bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hi Lesley, Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and am delighted your experience was worthy of a 5 star rating! I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Majestic Lion Apts Adelaide

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: It was ok
Cons: Staff could smile when you arrive and great warmly , could not find my booking which was made months earlier . Do some gardening at apt 21 courtyard
Location: Good bars Cafes within 2 mins walk , free bus stop to city just outside
If you ever stay there don't get apartment 21 , dark and dull ! It's on the lower ground floor with very little natural light and even on full sunny days you had to have the lights on in the room I felt because I had picked up a discounted rate on Expedia I was given the worst room . Could barely step out onto the courtyard due trees,shrubs and plants all overgrown
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Tom, Hotel Management
Hi Mike, Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I appreciate your comments and am disappointed you did not have the experience you were expecting on this occasion. I can assure you we do not allocate rooms based on where people booked or what they paid. The extensive gardens we have throughout the property do mean that natural light is limited to that room in particular. Thank you once again and I hope we can be given the opportunity to welcome you back for your next visit. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Josie

Perfect spot in divine North adelaide

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Regularly stay at Old lion - great location, spacious accomodation and although the prices have increased in recent years ( ?since football moved to Adelaide Oval ) still good value if you can book in advance, greaat having parklands at your front door in preference to a cbd pavement
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi , Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments and am delighted your experience was worthy of a 5 star rating. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit. Kind regards, Tom Christiansen Hotel Manager