Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Very nice boutique hotel!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Room; Small hotel; Breakfast; Staff
Location: Close to the Mariinsky Theater, but a bit far from the other attractions of Saint Petersburg. We had to walk a lot in our four days in the city...
We loved our stay at Alexander House, The house in great, and our room had an India decoration that pleased us. The room was large, with a kitchen and large bedroom. The breakfast was delicious and with plenty of options, Finally, staff was friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Alexander House provided excellent service by the friendliest staff. The hotel was truly lovely and made you feel at home in cozy environment. Every room had a different theme and was decorated differeny. Very good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Alexander House administration., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your warm words regarding our services and staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and hot buffet breakfast. We will be glad to welcome you back any time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV USA

Nice Hotel near downtown Saint Petersburg

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Very friendly personnel, very original interiors.
Cons: gym, sauna, larger screen tv... be aware, no elevator...
Very quiet hotel, in walking distance (ok, let's say 30min, but it's a walk through the nicest parts of Saint Petersburg) of the Winter Palace and Nevskiy Prospekt. 24h service, very appreciated during the white nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Alexander House administration., Hotel Management
Dear Fabien, thank you very much for taking time to share your travel experience with other travellers. We indeed boast location in the most beautiful part of St Petersburg, 5 min walk from the famous Mariinsky theatre. As our hotel is located in the historical building we can not make such reconstructions as sauna or elevator. But our staff are always at you disposal to help with luggage or advise on the nearest sauna and fitness centre. We will be happy to welcome you back any time in future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Alexander House

Posted Apr 26, 2017
A lovely hotel. The condition of the rooms and service was all fine. The staff are very friendly and all spoke good English. This is a great choice if you are visiting the Mariinsky, but a great choice for the entire city. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great choice of hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service from very helpful staff who sorted out a number of trips for us. The hotel is in a pleasant area of the city but about 30 to 40 minutes walk from the main centre. This is fine for us as we enjoy walking. The restaurant is very cosy , and they light a real fire , great when it's cold outside. We preferred it in there to the local Italian and ate in the hotel most nights. They don't serve wine or spirits but there is a good wine shop about 5 minutes walk away with a decent selection ( or a local mini market with less selection) , and the hotel serves it to you in their glasses. Wine is very expensive in St Petersburg and this works out a more cost effective way of eating out if you enjoy a bottle with your meal. Nice room with good wifi connection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small friendly hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Location: 40 mins walk to city centre, but very near to the Mairinski Theatre
Staff were exceptional - extremely helpful and very pleasant and professional! Room was clean and fresh - breakfast (included) was varied - both cooked and continental options - overall very impressed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa Valley

Fabulous small hotel in quiet neighborhood

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Located in a very quiet spot. On a canal.
The hotel and staff are charming. Could not hope for a nicer more inviting place. The only disadvantage is the fact that there are few restaurants in the area. No metro stop. The tram or bus is a good 3 to 4 blocks away. I like to walk so it was not a problem. The hotel offers 24 hour service in the restaurant. The staff specialize in cheerfulness and good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little gem

Posted Sep 23, 2016
We stayed there for 4 nights in September and were absolutely delighted. The staff are all super young, and helpful, they speak really good English and were always more than happy to help with directions and restaurant bookings. Our room was gigantic and the bathroom was very spacious too. Breakfast was delicious. Being welcomed with a hot tea every night after a day of walking around the city was also the icing on the cake! Location is good - although not quite super central but taxis/ Uber are cheap and there are a few sights really close by too (St Nicholas Cathedral, Mariinsky).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Loved this place. Very helpful and friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast. A little out of the way, but still walkable to most sights. Would recommmend in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Wonderful experience. The staffs there speaks good English and they are extremely helpful. The breakfast there are good. Strongly recommended.