Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

5 Day Break single Room

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Easy walking (20mins) to Winter Palace etc.
Cons: Nothing, ongoing renovations did not disturb me in any way.
Location: Easy walking to most main attractions (20 mins).
Boutique Hotel with lively decor. Room is small but perfect for city break for me. Bathroom and shower perfect, endless Hot water. Staff at reception very helpful, most spoke excellent English. Clean and tidy during my entire stay. Convenient location for walking to main attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice boutique hotel on the banks of Neva

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff members were very helpful and approachable, and spoke very good English! Hotel is in a quiet neighborhood; location is good, 10 mins walk from St. Isaac cathedral and 20 mins walk from the Hermitage. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious (especially the pancakes with sweet cheese...yummy!). This hotel is in an older building with a lot of history on its walls, but well maintained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Pushkin would be happy!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights. Very nice place and perfectly located. Breakfast is delicious and feeled like home made. Rooms are clean and quiet. What else you need to have to make you stay in SpB successful! Highly recommend in this price range.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, spectacular staff

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed at Happy Pushkin several times, and it’s been always awesome. What makes this hotel special is its terrific staff—I once checked out at 1:30 a.m. to catch a flight early in the morning, and the receptionists not only helped me get a taxi right away but also brought me hot tea and light snacks. I would like to express my special gratitude to Vadim—I've never received such a wonderful service; I was welcomed like an old friend there. I felt so special during my whole stay thanks to the exceptionally helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Andres

Very nice hotel in front of the river

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel in old mansion, had a great time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fascinatingly Russian

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel thanks to its friendly staff, easy access to the Neva, and proximity to major tourist attractions. There is one more thing that I found fascinating--the hotel is full of intriguing paintings that depict Alexander Pushkin's life and scenes from the great poet's literary works, including "Eugene Onegin" and "The Queen of Spades." I also loved the hotel's historic building as well as its luxurious interior design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice 3 star hotel with great location.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
As a seasoned budget traveler, Happy Pushkin offers great value for the money. For me the best thing about this hotel was the great breakfast they offered and the location. This hotel is within walking distance to many of St. Petersburg's historic sites i.e St. Isaac's, the Hermitage, the Admiralteisky, and the Mariinsky Ballet. My room was very clean and quiet as I needed the rest after walking all over the city all day. My only complaint was, for whatever reason, in the late afternoon and evening it took forever to have hot water come out of the shower and bathroom basin. But in spite of that, I would still recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on a budget.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Russian Experience

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely week-long stay at this kitchy, historic hotel. The staff was accommodating, and the breakfasts were tasty. Russian hotels are very different from American hotels! Keep an open mind, be accepting of cultural differences,and you will have a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by Jason from Australia

A piece of history

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room, quite historical, no air-conditioning though so we slept with the window open and with the rain in the tin a bit loud. Staff were friendly, good breakfast and close to bus which takes you to metro and also the view of the canal is nice. For the price I would definitely stay again