Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Good hotel for a short stay

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The staff was pleasant and breakfast pretty good.
Cons: Serve breakfast earlier and make more: the Chinese people on the tour bus cleaned out the porridge before I could get any
Location: Skiing nearby
My stay at the Geilo Hotel was fine. The hotel is an older building...you'll have to haul your luggage up the stairs as there is no elevator and the rooms/decor have a bit of a dated feel, but comfortable enough.
3 out of 5
by daniel

For one night only

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Room was ok , breakfast was outrages from 08:00 to 09:30 we came at 08:45 there were lots of things missing very poor variety and service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Quaint old hotel with spacious rooms and comfortable bedding. Kitchy decor. Friendly, efficient front desk staff and restaurant staff. Bedroom had fridge. There was a bathroom with W/C a sink and a separate shower room with sink. Dinner was included in our room price as was breakfast. Dinner buffet offered a lot of variety and was pretty tasty. There was a hot and cold sumptious breakfast buffet that was great. We enjoyed our stay and are planning to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sterling, VA

Pleasant Stay

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The room and the beds.
Cons: The restaurant is just okay.
Location: The countryside is beautiful. The drive from Geilo to Eidfjord is stark and beautiful. Amazing canyons near Eidfjord.
My daughter and I overnighted in Geilo. We had a nice room, a little too cozy, but otherwise comfortable. The hotel is close to downtown and to the train station. The area around Geilo is beautiful and well worth visiting.
5 out of 5
by Rikka

Quaint ski resort hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
This was our half way stop between Flåm and Oslo. The hotel is a ski resort hotel with quaint, Norwegian country style decor. Not one of the cookie cutter chain hotels. Friendly service, spacious room, comfy beds and a good nreakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Kenneth, Hotel Management
Hi Rikka. Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our traditional style. Wish you welcome back Mvh Kenneth Børvan General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel!

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Geilo Hotel was great! It is a charming hotel with modern rooms rooms. The hotel restaurant and bar area were excellent. Breakfast was hearty. Staff were friendly and efficient. We had a great stay and would definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Kenneth, Hotel Management
Hi. Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the stay. Wish you welcome back.
5 out of 5
by Charles

Great location, Character, Food and Service

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent Choice for Geilo. within walking distance to train station and to one of the 2 major ski slopes. Great foot, service. I asked for a list of everyone that helped me out and then lost it. I remember David, Richard John, Lara. Great service, nice people. Very local vibe within walking distance to everything. Couldn't be more pleased.
3 out of 5
by Brigitte

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was in a good location, 10' walk to the centre and also to the train station. The rooms were ok and the food was average. The Ski bus was right outside but only picks up and drops off twice a day, last bus is 2.30pm which cuts out half your day. To the ski areas on the other side it will only take you there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to a few restaurants .. Nice staff .. Clean
Hotel was a perfect stop on our drive trip from OSL to Bergen. (After flying the red eye in)
5 out of 5
by Eric

Séjour très agréable

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Bien que nous soyons arrivés tard dans la soirée, à la fin du service, il nous a été possible de dîner. Le personnel était très aimable, la chambre spacieuse, tout était parfait. Nous y retournerons sans hésiter