Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JNB, RSA

Amazing Hotel, above the see with lovely sea view

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Location, View, Rooms, Staff
Cons: Cocktail Bar - more variety and fancy cocktails, prepared in a proper way
I had a great holiday at Appolo hotel. The view, the own tranquil stone beach, the salt water swimming pool, the clean rooms, the friendly sataff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice, but off the beaten path

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel staff is very friendly, and attentive to any questions or concerns you may have. The hotel is on the other end on the island, so it takes a little longer to get there via unmarked bus stops. They are at the end of town, so its a bit of a walk to get to the hotel. But, It is worth it! The views are amazing, and they are waterfront. I went in september, and it was not crowded at all. Plus the breakfast buffet is great. The only thing they could improve on is technology; everything is a little outdated.
5 out of 5
by susan from Crowthorne

Fantastic stay at the Apollo Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, lovely food and great value for money.
5 out of 5
by Samuel from Zur Hadassah, Israel

Wonderful site! Very good hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
The location is amazingly beautiful. A wonderful beach, with small almost private fjords, in a corner of Aegina Island, with crystalline water. The hotel has simple rooms, with good air conditioning, it is quite and clean. Service is very good. Food is good and very reasonably priced. I would recommend a vacation in this site to all my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Relax and enjoy

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Location, good design of the classic 1970 building, furniture, decor, excellent staff , clean, comfortable. The owner was always present to be of help
Cons: None, as any individual request had a positive response.
Location: Apollo hotel is in a quiet setting, but not isolated. The most amazing thing about its location is its access to the Temple Aphaea , an absolute must.
The hotel is situated in a quiet bay away from the main port of Aegina , but within a few minutes walk from a village with a number of taverna/restaurants. We only went once to eat away from the hotel, as the food and service at the Apollo was so good and very similar priced that we preferred to eat there. The view from the veranda of the hotel is beautiful, as is the view from the front rooms , the back rooms overlook the hotels own pine forest. It was so relaxing to eat, drink, chat and read. The swimming pool is sea water and is very clean and a good size. Sea swimming is from a few steps from the rocks at the foot of the hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frimley Green, Surrey. UK

Apollo Hotel, Agia Marina, Aegina Island, Greece

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Friendly, welcoming staff. Good service, clean, but a bit dated. Beds a bit on the hard side, typical Greek. Free, fast WiFi throughout the site.
Cons: Some modernisation perhaps, but the economic climate probably can't justify it at the moment. Some typical Greek dishes on the menu would be nice.
Location: Agia Marina is a short stroll away as is the main beach. Sites include the temple of Aphea, the village of Perdika, Paleochora and Aegina town.
My wife and I first visited this hotel for our honeymoon in 1975. This year, 2015, we returned to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary in the same hotel. The welcome was fantastic. They sent the Hotel mini-bus across the Island to pick us up and parked right at the bottom of the gangway of the ferry. The driver greeted like long lost friends and told us that he had been instructed to give us the VIP treatment. We were the only guests on the transfer. The hotel check-in was the smoothest ever. The receptionist welcomed us and handed us the room key. Asked if they wanted to see our passports, "No, we know who you are!" Being off season, as the high season now doesn't start until June because of the economic situation, we had the hotel almost to ourselves on some days. The staff were friendly, attentive but not intrusive. The rooms were cleaned every day and the service was first rate. We were greeted in the room by a lovely bouquet of flowers and a bottle of bubbly in an ice bucket (which I had ordered) as well as a plate of hand-made greek chocolates as a gift from the hotel. At the end of our stay, we were driven back to the ferry in a private car as we had to leave at 6:45 to catch the early ferry. Overall, the staff were wonderful. The original owners who built the hotel in 1971 were on site and came and chatted most days. We had a wonderful and memorable time there and are already thinking about going back at the end of the summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East coast usa

Efficient hotel in a beautiful bay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
A very clean hotel built in the 1970s but maintained. . A great outdoor dining terrace facing the sea with a salt water pool. I will go back next year.
5 out of 5
by efi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pembrokeshire, Wales, UK

Beautiful island location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The views were amazing and snorkelling was great fun in the crystal clear waters of the bay.
Cons: The rooms could do with modernising.
Location: On the seafront and within walking distance of the Temple of Aphia, the hotel runs a free shuttle bus from the port of Agia Marina.
The hotel is situated overlooking the harbour of Agia Marina and the views over the sea are particularly beautiful. The hotel has its own rocky outcrop adjacent to the sea where my girlfriend and I snorkelled and swam. The hotel's restaurant was very nice, the staff extremely friendly and we ate there each night of our stay. My only critisicm of the restaurant was that they were slightly inflexible about meal times and on our last night we were unable to order pudding and the lights were simply switched off around us. The room was perfectly okay but they only provide twin beds which was not ideal for a couple. The bath was not as clean as we would have liked and the sheets were not changed over the course of our five night stay. The hotel is within walking distance of the Temple of Aphia which made for a worthwhile visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Expat Athens Greece

Hotel with spectacular views.

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Rooms are clean and spacious. Great ocean views everywhere. Food reasonably priced. Great places to swim in the ocean right below the hotel.
Cons: Only negative is that the beds are hard which is common in European hotels.
Location: During the summer there are lots of shops, cafes, restaurants, and activity in walking distance. The hotel also offers great meals and entertainment.
i have stayed at several hotels on this island and this is by far the best one. Staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Love this hotel and this island. Will return for sure!