Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost very good. Not there yet. 3.7 is fair.

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Difficult one to review. Almost very good but despite this being Stromboli not the Maldives I can't turn a blind eye... When I was checking in, the receptionist suddenly started dealing with a guest who wanted to pay his bill because he was leaving in the morning, and I don't know why he suddenly became more important. When I was paying my bill, the other receptionist was having an argument on the phone behind the desk...keep this from the guests! I can't fault the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom was modern. But the aircon started leaking at midnight. Aircon off (lucky it's October, I thought). Towels on floor. The leak became a trickle them a drip and stopped in 15 minutes so I left it until the morning. When I got back to the hotel after lunch I was assured it was fixed. Not so. A persistent drip meant I could have aircon if I could put up with the drip drip drip onto a towel. Now about the double bed: it was two singles pushed together. Nothing uncommon about this of course, unfortunately. These single beds had wooden frames though so there was a gap of about 7cm between the mattresses. The solution...fill the gap with cushions neither quite the same height or firmness as the mattresses. Free wifi? Yes if you stand right by the door. Not if you move to the desk or the bed. And so to the great stuff: perfectly positioned for the harbour; excellent breakfast; the best room safe I've seen (seriously!); and of course an active vulcano.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location close to ferry and tours

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed overnight at this hotel with several other couples. This hotel is very convenient to the harbor and to the ferry. All of our rooms faced the sea which was very beautiful. The hotel is a nice place to stay for a night or two, but probably wouldn't be a good fit for a romantic stay. Make sure you closely review your bill when you check out, because one of the couples in our group was charged for cappuccinos that we were told were "on the house" when we first arrived at the hotel early in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Within yards of the port

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Our room was huge with a large terrace overlooking the sea.
Cons: Needed a dressing table in the room . The toilets for the bar are outside and mixed sex -- these should be relocated and single sex.
Location: Climb Stromboli at night.
Check in was quick. Luggage management slick.staff helpful. Slightly disappointing breakfast with only tinned fruit and no fresh fruit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Quick efficient check in. Room 15 has a massive private terrace overlooking the sea/port area. Could feel springs in the mattress so could be better. Good size bathroom with everything in good condition. Breakfast was not included in our booking but was available for 7.50 euro's, was good value for money. Excellent location for the ferry. Helpful staff. Would recommend.
1 out of 5
by Jack from Cannes

Horrible Beds

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
This bed was the most horrible bed I have ever slept on.
4 out of 5
by Tammy from Ottawa, Canada

Great Home-base for Visiting Stromboli

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great spot to stop for a quick overnight visit to the Stromboli volcano. The staff was lovely and the room was spacious, ours having a large balcony overlooking the sea. Pack a flashlight and grab a golf cart taxi from the hotel (10 Euros) which takes you to the end of the road where you can access the trail to hike up the mountain to the observatory (it takes about 30 - 45 minutes). Once there, have a bite to eat and a glass of wine on the terrace which overlooks the eruptions. Great outing!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul from Heywood, Manchester

Stromboli

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location with either sea or volcano view, 2 minutes from the ferry port. Hotel and room was very clean with good service. Only negaive there was no tea / coffee facilities in the room.
3 out of 5
by Maddy

Perfect if just for trek

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
If all you're doing is a volcano trek then it's perfect s just bear the ferry for arrival and departure and 10 mins walk to trek meeting point
4 out of 5
by Susan from New York

Under the volcano

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
Two nights on Stromboli is pretty magical. This is probably the best hotel on the island. It is very old fashioned looking in many ways, but totally charming.Could use an elevator?? Breakfast was very good. Right near the port. Easy to get to from the ferries. Lots of restaurants close and a cafe in the building. All in all, a nice place. I would go back.