Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cons: We had absolutely no complaints about the hotel or the location.
This is a small, quiet bed and breakfast directly on the sea, with a view toward the other aeolian volcanic islands. It is in Acquacalda, on the other side of the island from the main town of Lipari. The staff members at Hotel Residence were gracious and accommodating. Breakfast was generous and delicious, with homegrown fruit, homemade yogurt, homemade cakes, among many other choices. Dinner at an adjoining restaurant was far superior to anything we found in Lipari. Bus service to Lipari is convenient, although Hotel Residence's owner provided transportation at the beginning and end of our stay. We were grateful for the peace and beauty of Acquacalda, as the larger town is more crowded with ferries and tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Staff was very attentive and pleasant. Hotel was nicely situated just off the shore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gloucestershire.

nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: clean very nice rooms book room with furnished terrace then you will have views of the volcano island of stromboli
Cons: nothing
Location: on beach front nothing else to do except sun bath swim or eat
fantastic hotel in a quiet part of lipari nice rooms very rustic but clean right next to the the sea front aquacalda is at the quiet side of lipari but that didn't matter as we hired a moped and could get into lipari town in ten minutes. the staff were amazing and couldn't do more to help arranging all are trips to the other islands picking us up from the port at are arrival and dropping us of when we had to leave. the breakfast was good and the restaurant next to the hotel was excellent, just like to thanks for a wonderful holiday we will be back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is very pretty and extremely clean. Rooms are cleaned every day which was great. Though, two bad surprises when we arrived, we had to pay an extra 30 euros to use the kitchen and there was no wifi in the room but only in common areas. Both were nowhere written in our reservation even though staff insisted it were. Ended up paying the 30 euros to avoid hassle. We asked to change room as we were staying two weeks to get one closer to reception to get wifi signal but they were not obliging even though we were paying a fortune and staying two weeks in their hotel. They were helpful afterwards for other things like renting scooters,information, etc.. The beds also were terrible, tiny and very hard. As for Acquacalda itself, it is lovely and quiet and has the nicest beach in the whole island but without a car it is quite remote.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danielle from Oxford, UK

Beautiful place, great service, very relaxing

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Service, comfort, sea view
Cons: Slight noise from refrigerator at night, lack of buses to Acquacalda after 6:30 pm.
Location: Beautiful, peaceful, rocky beach with gentle waves, occasionally windy, great views.
We had such a lovely stay here! We came during late-May-into-June, when the island is still quiet, and got just what we wanted: a relaxing break, some beach time, and a chance to eat lots of Sicilian food. Great value for money. Veronica was extremely helpful whilst we were making the arrangements, and once we arrived, Milena picked us up right from the ferry, and gave us a full description and history of the island (albeit in Italian!) during the car ride. Our room was light and spacious and had doors that opened to a sea view and terrace. The bed was quite comfortable, and the bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. The hot water tank needs to fill up again between showers, but that happens really quickly (though not noiselessly). I had no complaints, and my partner's only gripe was that the refrigerator makes a humming noise sometimes that bothered him at night (light sleeper). The breakfast was yummy (a mix of fruit, cereal, cake, croissants, and yogurts) and the cappuccino was always served with a smile. The nearby restaurant was also excellent, though we only ate there on the first night. Because it's the less-populated side of the island, it's perfect for a more relaxing vacation, but if you take a bus or rent a scooter (£15 a day from Luigi's, or £20 from Marcello's) it is really easy to get back and forth to Lipari town or take in the views from some of the hilltop roads. Of course, there's a lovely view of Salina right from the hotel! Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

A flawless encounter

Posted Sep 27, 2011
The Hotel is a perfect retreat for anyone wanting a secluded piece of luxury, still within reach to Lipari town. The hotel is new, with immaculate rooms and lovel,hospitable staff. The hotel is private, well secured, and many (all?) of the rooms had a private outdoor seating area or balcony. Its across the quiet road to the beach - the rocks are fiddly, but the prestine waters are worth it. Views of Strombolis lava. Breakfast is great, and the apartments are fitted with kitchenettes (extra costs) for longer stays. I would recommend phoning on your arrival to ensure that staff can make themselves available, if you arrive during the afternoon siesta time. The hotel is in a small town, about 10km from Lipari. The bus comes about once an hour, but always on time and easy to manage - it's one road in and out. (ticket cost is 1.55eu for the furthest distance). The beauty of this town is in its isolation. I also hired a scooter for a day to drive around the island to enjoy it's views and visit the other remote villages (15eu for the day). I promised the staff At Acquacalda Residence that I would return ...and look forward to it !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Sicily

Lipari

Posted Sep 15, 2010
The hotel and staff were excellent. They picked us up from the ferry and gave us a ride back to the ferry. The views were extroardinary!! The hotel was a little further than we expected, 9 kilometers from Lipari but there is a bus that made it easy to get around. The hotel was extremely clean, modern and comfortable. If you stay there try to get room 106 or 105. They have a large patio on the 2nd floor overlooking the Med. The stay was wonderful and we would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Fantastic for a relaxing break

Posted Jul 16, 2009
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights but could easily have stayed a week or 2. The hotel itself is in great condition and very comfortable, our room also had a kitchenette which was handy. The town itself is very quiet but there is a bus that goes into lipari , a car would probably be a good idea if you stayed for longer. Breakfast was standard Italian but nice and the owners were very nice and helpful although didn't speak much English. If we come back to lipari we will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

I absolutely loved it!! So perfect!

Posted Jul 1, 2009
This hotel was so cute and perfect for relaxing and enjoying the beauty of the island. If you don't want to be somewhere small and quiet, this is not the place for you. Acquacalda was a very tiny place with not much to offer as far as entertainment and choices go, but there was a wonderful restaurant right next to the hotel and the beach was lovely. It is very easy to get around the island by bus of scooter and there are lots of choices for entertainment and food and shopping in Lipari and Canneto. I thought the hotel staff was wonderfully helpful and nice. My stay was perfect and all the people who lived in Acquacalda were very nice and helpful as well. I would recommend anyone who is looking to enjoy some restful days in a beautiful location to go here!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel accogliente e personale efficientissimo.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Ottima accoglienza, personale efficiente, professionale, cordiale e disponibile. Hotel pulito, accogliente e con ristorante ottimo per qualità e pulizia.