Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jianzhi from London

Lovely stay

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
It's a really lovely place, with amazing pool and lovely views. Staffs are very friendly, who provided free shuttle service frequently. The lack of wifi in rooms is the only drawback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from Reading, UK

Excellent base for exploring the Aeolian Islands

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Quiet location. Lovely gardens. Excellent staff.
Location: Climb to the crater - set off by 9am when the path is shady, Capo Grillo - stunning views, Vulcanology Centre - fascinating, Cantine Stevenson - yum
Guidebooks often describe Vulcano as smelly, which just goes to show that their authors have not ventured further than the fanghi (mud baths) near the port. This apartment complex, which is located on the shores of Vulcanello, is well away from any sulphurous fumes. Our apartment had an upstairs bedroom, with a double bed and a single bed, and a little balcony. There were three further single beds downstairs. Linen and towels were provided and were changed once during our week-long stay. You might want to bring your own beach towels (although you can hire ones for use at the pool). There was a small kitchen (hob only, no oven or microwave, but two full-size fridge-freezers). It was equipped with all the necessary pots, pans, plates, glasses and cutlery. The Italians do not seem to "do" kettles, so bring your own travel one if you are likely to want tea or coffee in your room. Lastly there was a terrace, with garden furniture and a drying rack for wet clothes. There is a small bar near the pool but no restaurant. The hotel has a link with a restaurant in the town, which we took advantage of on our first night. The shuttle service to and from the town is excellent. Don't be afraid to ring ahead and tell them your ETA so that they can pick you up. There is at least one member of staff who speaks really good English and you can save yourself a taxi fare.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Posted Oct 8, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed here for 1 night in September 2011. Although the apartment was very clean, had a nice outdoor kitchen and the swimming pool was beautiful we probably wouldn't recommend Hotel Blu Residence. The reasons for this are that it is a VERY long walk from the ferry terminal/town centre. There were a lack of signs to the hotel and we had a large suitcase which we dragged uphill all the way to Vulcano Blu. It took us 30-45 minutes to walk to the hotel from the ferry terminal with our suitcase. There is a shuttle bus that goes from the hotel into town but there seemed to be no way to organise for this to pick you up from the town. If you were staying for a few days it would be worth hiring a car/scooter. The other problem with Vulcano Blu was that there was no air conditioning in our apartment! There were fans but they were noisy and the room was incredibly hot. Although we loved our stay on Vulcano and would go back, we would not stay at Vulcano Blu again and would find somewhere in a more convenient location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2011 on Hotels
Out of the way, lack of transport. Ground was poorly maintained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2010 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacances en Sicile en famille

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Grand appartement pour 4, propre et avec une belle terrasse même si l'établissement est vieillissant et pas très bien entretenu Piscine avec un panorama sur "Vulcano" . Petite plage de sable noir au bas de la résidence Personnel disponible notamment pour les navettes jusqu'au centre Seul hic :les moustiques présents sur l'île à cette période exceptionnellement chaude pour la saison (fin octobre) : prévoir un lance flammes
1 out of 5
by nicolas

la vue depuis la piscine....A EVITER

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
La piscine est superbe ...mais...il vous faudra acheter un bonnet de pain, c est moins sexy car la piscine est ouverte...au public exterieur et c est la loi en italie...bonnet rouge ou bleu.ca fait moins rever. Par contre trois chiens autour de la piscine....mais eux n avaient pas de bonnet...lol comme disent les enfants...Les enfants justement, munis de leu bonnet, sont interdits de jacuzzi pour ne pas deranger.dommage il etait vide. Ensuite le surveillant de baignade ne les lache pas des yeux, c est franchement penible quand vos enfants ne sont pas des monstres mais des etres vivants. On est reste une seule journee et c etait trop. La residence, la que ca se gate, genre vvf ou pire gcu qui n a pas ete renove depuis 30 ans. Sympa les cris en pleine nuit dans le hall d une equipe bien imbibee d alcool. L'appart, grand, sans charme et superbe vue sur la cour interieure qui ne ressemble a rien. La chambre,le ventilo au plafond fort utile vue la temperature....mais....on le laissera eteint car il menace de tomber....sur le lit....bref a oublier
4 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Christine from Denmark

Great place to stay, go there

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent pool and super friendly staff, who do all they can to make your stay perfect. Breakfast croissants and coffee are cheap and delicious and served with a smile. The resort is a little way out of town but the hotel has a regular shuttle bus running back and forth which takes about 5 minutes. We had to catch a ferry and they arranged another trip just for that. Also when Italy played overtime and penalties the shuttle was late to fit the match, perfect!
4 out of 5
by JULIE from Rhone alpes

A voir

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Séjour agréable