Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, peaceful area

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Enjoyed my stay at the hotel roca negra. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Located in a nice peaceful area, away from the hustle and bustle. I had breakfast included in my stay - all you can eat, which I really enjoyed. No real complaints - I guess the only thing I would have liked is a kettle with tea/coffee in my room, but this is a minuscule issue. Had a lovely time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with outstanding views all round.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
It was hard to find the hotel as the SatNav did not recognise the road name, so took us to a different area of the town. Once we found the hotel it was lovely. The staff were very friendly and rooms were clean and comfortable. The only criticism of the room was the aircon was not very efficient. The outside pools were cold with no heating and there is no protection from high winds. The breakfast was very good and again the staff were friendly and efficient. The walks down to the natural pools, town and harbour were excellent however it is quite a climb on the return to the hotel. Overall thoroughly enjoyed our experience staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel,a bit tired rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Modern and comfortable.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Quite. Walking distance from port/restaurants.
Cons: Breakfast coffee was not that great.
Location: Agaete in itself is only worth a short stay. Must-do is the orange/coffee farm trip. Nice beach walks just a few km's drive southwards.
We stayed just two nights and we didn't try the Spa at all. All was fine with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blyth

Excellent hotel 15 min walk from the harbour

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Most things
Cons: struggling, pillows were of poor quality whcih affects your sleep a little is the best I can think of
Location: Great view from the hotel, not a lot of entertainment around if thats what your after
Great base for a quiet hotel in a beautiful area, not for anyone wanting entetrainment, very spanish and low key Food very good staff very friendly, would defo go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice Hotel by the sea

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Very nice and clean quiet hotel, good for getting away for some peace and quiet relaxing environment,
Cons: The gym area is quite small five to six people it starts to become overcrowded, there are no facilities in the rooms for making tea / coffee
Location: Good locating for walks and rock claiming by the beach. The nearest shops are at the harbour which is a good 15mins walk.
Very nice and clean quiet hotel, good for getting away for some peace and quiet relaxing environment, good locating for walks and rock claiming by the beach. The nearest shops are at the harbour which is a good 15mins walk. The hotel staff are nice and friendly, the down fall about the hotel there are no facilities in the rooms for making tea or coffee you have to rely on the restaurant first thing in the morning or the bar though out the day and night if you’re wanting a hot drink. The gym area is quite small five to six people it starts to become overcrowded, has this hotel is rated a (4.5 star)?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Comfortable hotel in lovely setting

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The location and friendly staff.
Cons: The sliding doors opening onto the pool area could do with some maintenance.
Location: The beach is nearby but it takes a steep walk to get to sea level. No sandy beaches nearby. The natural rock pools can be used when the sea is calm.
It took us some time to find the hotel since we arrived late at night. We were met by friendly and helpful staff at reception. In fact, throughout our stay the staff couldn't have been nicer. The hotel itself is located in a quiet area with stunning views of the sea and the mountains. The rooms on the top floor have the best views. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the buffet organised for dinner was good although the food itself was rather bland. If you like a sunny, peaceful break and love hiking, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa break, excellent

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The week was very relaxing, great hotel and the local restaurants were very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great bed at least!!!

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
The room during the day was very hot. At night finally the A/C was good. Walls and floor are paper thin so heard all sorts of bumps and noises - NOT GOOD!!! Short cuts were taken in this 2010 hotel construction that it feels like it was built in the 70's and just made over badly. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Price was great also.