Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful! Location was great! Hotel was beautiful !
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for writing your review on Expedia and for selecting our property for your stay at Marrakech. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have especially liked the staff kindness and hospitality. We thank you for your comment about the hotel and location, We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again at our hotel. Sincerely yours,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Will Defo Come Back

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: my Brother
Cons: Only downside was the shower, their is no hook for the shower so you are constantly holding it and the shower guard to protect the water from splashin
Location: 15/20 min drive from the main market sq, you will have to get a taxi for most things as there is nothing outside,
Me and my husband came here on the 29th October until 3rd November Staff were so helpful, the hotel room was so clean and spacious! the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was great!! so much to choose from, very kid friendly hotel, a lot of families were here which was lovely!. Only downside was the shower, their is no hook for the shower so you are constantly holding it and the shower guard to protect the water from splashing isn't wide enough so expect wet floors and aching arms lol. Apart from that I loved it and really do miss it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Kenzi Menara palace, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay at Marrakech and for expressing your opinion on Expedia Platform. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel and that you have noticed that our property is a kid friendly one. We thank you for your remark concerning the shower and we promise you that we will do our best to improve the quality of our equipments. We hope we will have the privilege to welcoming you again at the Kenzi Menara Palace. Sincerely yours, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake Citu, UT

Beautiful hotel for the price

Posted Oct 20, 2017
I felt like we got an excellent value with this hotel. I agree with others that it is not what I would consider 5 star, but the amenities and room were better than expected for what we paid. Pros: - beautiful gardens - breakfast with a variety of foods included - clean and well managed pool area - shuttle to and from the main square (once at the main square, many major sites are within a short walking distance) Cons: - minor repairs needed in room (loose faucet, chipped paint, etc.) - breakfast was prepared in the morning and left out for four hours (best to get there early if you want fresh food) - staff was kind but not particularly attentive to the needs of guests
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Kenzi Menara palace, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to share your review on Expedia Website. We hear with a big pleasure that you have got an excellent value for money while staying at our hotel and that you have particularly liked the hotel amenities, the rooms, the pool area and the shuttle bus service. We would like to thank you for your remarks and we ensure you that all of them will be considered. We hope we will have the privilege to welcoming you again at the Kenzi Menara Palace, Sincerely yours, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hythe kent

GOLDEN WEDDING ANNIVERARY TRIP

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The lovely relaxed atmosphere of the place. The staff are excellent. The pool area is great with plenty of space, umbrellas and loungers.
Cons: The rooms are becoming a little 'worn' but they still have the same relaxed air about them which I would hate to see go.
Location: There is very little outside the hotel. There is a club and a couple of restaurants and shops a short walk away.
Upon arrival we were told that there really was no' ROOM AT THE INN'. This affected us and most other guests that were on our flight. We were very unhappy about this but were told we would be collected from the sister hotel first thing the next morning (which we were) and upon arrival back at the Menara Palace we were upgraded to s suite and all inclusive. After that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Kenzi Menara palace, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback on Expedia Website. We are delighted to hear that you have been satisfied of your stay at our hotel and that you have liked especially the staff hospitality, the pool area and the hotel atmosphere. We are sorry to hear that you have had to spend the first night in another hotel and we apologize for the inconvenience. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Kenzi Menara Palace, in order to offer you a better quality of service. Sincerely yours, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great facilities, let down by staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Rooms, pool and food.
Cons: Staff training and communication.
Location: Free shuttle bus to Menara (market). Shoping centre 10 minutes walk away (supermarket, etc.).
Starting with the positives - the rooms, facilities and grounds are excellent. Everything was clean (apart from one cockroach in the bathroom), the pools is huge and there was always plenty of space on loungers. The rooms are large (we had a garden view room) with good wifi and the grounds are well looked after. The cheerful aqua aerobics guy at the pool worked very hard, the lead concierge was helpful and the singer in the evening had a beautiful voice. Food in the restaurants was good all around - we had all inclusive but it would appear expensive if you don't. However, the whole experience gets let down by what I guess is a lack of staff training or staff retention. No one seemed to know what was going on - you got different answers every time you asked. One of the younger concierges was rude, the lady behind the bar was surly and shouted a lot and the waiters had to be asked three or four times until bringing coffee/drinks. I contracted food poisoning and felt too hot to lie by the pool for the last two days but it took a lot of discussion before they would extend our checkout time to cater for my illness - it could all have been handled quicker and with more consideration. The two times we took the shuttle bus into the Medina, it was 15 minutes late departing because the driver was off on other errands (short staffed?). It took two days to replace a light bulb in the bathroom. We enjoyed the stay overall but it could have been so much better with a little more
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Kenzi Menara palace, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback and for selecting our hotel for your holidays at the red city of Marrakech. We are sorry to hear that you haven’t been satisfied of the service proposed at our hotel and that you got ill during your stay. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences encountered and for the concierge behavior and we would like to ensure you that it’s not the image we are trying to showcase to our guests. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future, so as to offer you a better quality of service. With best regards, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Once grand hotel now plagued by poor management

Posted Oct 3, 2017
IT system failed during payment, payment still processed by bank. Hotel unwilling to attempt to resolve, only answer was ‘we don’t have a record of it’. Even though I provided the hotel with the necessary information for their bank to locate the payment. General service in hotel was very slow, with the exception of a couple the staff did not seem to be particularly interested in looking after guests. Maintenance in hotel very poor for an alleged 5star hotel. Chipped crockery, leaking shower head, leaking shower enclosure, umbrellas at pool that you had to use string to tie up etc etc. The 2 on site restaurants were embarrassing, the Italian was lacklustre at best. The Moroccan was where I expected this 5 star hotel in Morocco to excel. Sadly it was easily the poorest example of Moroccan food I have ever had the misfortune to experience. (See photo) Lamb Tagine is a favourite dish of mine, two pieces of bone with more fat than meat was not what I expected. Here again the service was poor, I ate nothing of the tagine, complained about how poor it was and no reply. Even though the food was so poor that is not the main issue with the Moroccan restaurant. The have ‘the menu’ advertised outside (see photos) that has a wide selection of starts, main courses and desserts. To eat here you have to book and pay a surcharge. But when you arrive in the empty restaurant you arrive you are only given the option of 2 starters, 2 mains and 1 dessert. Avoid this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Kenzi Menara palace, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with travelers on Expedia Website. We are sorry to discover that you haven’t enjoyed staying at our hotel and that our services didn’t meet your expectations. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and we hope we will have the chance one day to redeem ourselves and offer you the quality of service you expected. Sincerely yours, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vail,colorado

nice and comfort

Posted Oct 3, 2017
nice hotel a litle furder from the medina ... the breakfast exellent ...... !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Kenzi Menara palace, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review on Expedia Website and for choosing our hotel for your stay at Marrakech. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you have loved the breakfast. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Kenzi Menara Palace. Sincerely yours, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Very nice hotel! Walking distance from night club and not far from the Square. very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Kenzi Menara Palace, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on Expedia website and for selecting the Kenzi Menara Palace for your stay at Marrakech. We are delighted to know that you have had a great stay at our hotel and we thank you for your compliments about our staff members. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Kenzi Menara palace. Sincerely yours, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Dining room

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: All facilities good, large swimming pool. Free shuttle service to the souk.
Cons: Staff numbers in dining room needs to be increased.
Location: Great location, not too far for local attractions.
Dining room staff numbers inadequate, long wait for service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Kenzi Menara Palace, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review on Expedia.com and for choosing our hotel for your holidays at the red city of Marrakech. We are delighted to know that almost all our hotel services and equipments did respond to your expectations. We thank you for your suggestion to increase the staff numbers and we promise you that we will do our best to improve the quality of service. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future. With best regards, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager
5 out of 5
by Ihssane

The best Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
It was an amazing experience. I loved my stay. Exellent costumer service, thank you Mr Yassine for the amazing deal you gave me. I will always look forward to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for the feedback shared on Hotel.com Website and for selecting our hotel for your stay at Marrakech. We are happy to read that you have had an amazing experience while spending your holidays at our hotel. We will communicate with a delight your compliments to Yassine, who will be glad to hear back from you. Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Kenzi Menara palace. Sincerely yours, Mrs Ibtissam JAMILI General Manager