Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not be returning!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Certainly not 5 star - maximum 3 star +. Most staff not interested in giving good customer service. Bed linen dirty. Spa poorly managed and a joke - electricity not working, building work going on during treatments, I doubt my therapist had any qualifications.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bexhill, East Sussex,UK.

Our experience at the Gallini.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The experience of not having any children staying there was a big plus for us. We found the staff to be excellent at their jobs and very friendly.
Cons: Internet access with a coin operated system and The Gallini is a big hotel and so breakfast sometimes resembled the 'feeding of the five thousand' !
Location: The location was ideal for going into Chania and all of the things to do and see in and around Chania. Next year we will be hiring a car to go further
We really enjoyed our stay with you. In fact we enjoyed it so much that we will be booking two weeks with you next September.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
A little too expensive in comparison to the hotels around it and for not much more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is definitely not worth a 5*

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Wouldn't be going back here, not worth the stay. Rooms are not clean and food was mediocre, location is ok but hotel is up on a hill which you have to climb up everyday or wait for the shuttle bus to take you every time. Entertainment was good but the facilities were not and going half board shouldn't be an option if people are going to be treated that horribly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No
Location: Visit Chania take tour buses and visit different local archeological sites
Excellent hotel with a private beach. situated from the beach and up the mountain with different buildings. The view from our room was breathtaking. The food was fresh and of very good quality specially the local Cretan food. All the areas of the hotel we used were very clean. The hotel personnel was very friendly and answered all of our questions they even let us borrow their cellphone chargers. I will definitely go back to this hotel in the future and recommend it to our family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

I'll be going back!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: everything......the room was spacious and clean, the food excellent, the staff very helpful.
Cons: at meal times it would be better to have some kind of notice on the tables to indicate if the table was in use, needed to be cleared, re- set etc.
just what we wanted for a total relaxing holiday. as described you get a sea view from hotel, the hotel's beach facilities are superb where the "sea view" is even better especially at sunset. there is a choice of swimming pools with excellent loungers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic hotel with private beach for adults only

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The fact that it was for adults. The staff and food.
Location: Lots of trips to different Islands.
The hotel was very nice and all the staff were very freindly, helpful. The food was excellent. I had a fantastic holiday with my friends.
3 out of 5
by James

Not good for a 5 star

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
This is not a 5 star hotel. It might tick most of the boxes but there were a lot of minor deficiencies which were not consistent with a 5 star rating. The room was quite small and the two single beds were not very comfortable. The specification said the room could take a double/two singles and one double sofa bed but there is no way that another bed would have fitted in the room. Also we had to ask for tea/coffee making facilities even though they were listed as standard. Even then someone appeared with a kettle but no tea/coffee or cups! Also free water was supposed to be provided but when we asked for replenishment we were told that it was only on arrival!! The fridge was just about working. We had a shared pool (shared by 8 rooms) but the sunbeds were wooden and no covers were provided until we asked. Then it took 4 days for them to arrive. Breakfast was quite poor with most "hot" food lukewarm at best. The best option was to take an omelette which was cooked to order and was good. For dinner and lunch the food was ok if not always as hot as one would have liked. Also the selection of fresh fruit was quite poor (no bananas or grapes) and the quality of some fruits was bad. On the credit side the staff were quite friendly and tried to help but one got the impression that it was badly run. The hotel is located on a hill about 100 metres from the beach with a steep incline so it is not suitable for anybody with mobility issues. A bit disappointing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

It is not worth a 5* rating

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: The hotel location is very good for a relaxing break because it is on the seafront with the beach a matter of crossing the road.
Having stayed in various 4* and 5* hotels, this one does not compare with its rating. The hotel rooms are dated with no in room facilities, the beds are the most uncomfortable I have slept in and the linens are full of stains, the bathroom was dimly lit and you can hardly see what you are doing let alone get a decent shave. The breakfast was much better as it catered for everyone, vegetarians and meat eaters with everything you could want for breakfast. I'm sure I read that it's adults only hotel and was surprised to see children everywhere. Don't get me wrong I love children and the hotel is good for families with young children because they provide enough facilities to keep the children entertained, why I was surprised at the adults only statement on the site (perhaps not at their busiest time). There are lots of restaurants for a long stretch of the road serving variety of foods. Easy and cheap bus ride into town from outside the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Generally good hotel with room for improvement

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Good selection of food for breakfast and dinner. Nice pool Location is up a hill but otherwise good for shops etc Nice shower Nice room Staff apparently cannot change guests rooms after a certain time, seems amazingly incompetent. Pool closes too early, not nice being kicked out before the sun has even gone down. Not everyone wants to swim in the sun and get burnt/skin cancer. Some sort of system for showing that dinner tables are occupied would be good Service at dinner for drinks was slow Sea view room overlooks carpark - would have been nice to know this beforehand. Don't like things like this being hidden when you pay a lot of money and extra for a certain type of room