Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Disappointing stay...

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We booked this hotel via expedia. When we arrived, we were told that no room were available for us. After 30 minutes, the receptionist came back to offer us a room. We understood afterwards why this room was not meant for booking: the A/C wasn't working, the fan on the ceiling wasn't either (it was 45 degrees outside, needless to talk about the mosquito invasion); in the bathroom, the cold water tap on the sink wasn't working; the fridge wasn't turned on, so we couldn't have fresh water; the wifi signal was very weak, only usable close to the door. It would have been find if we had received an adequate compensation. Unfortunately, there was little flexibility on this. For all these reasons and due to the lack of willingness to give a proper compensation, I would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marian from Dublin, Ireland

Most enjoyable holiday

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: Hosts and relaxing atmosphere
Location: You have everything at your fingertips - beach, bars, retaurants etc. Excellent location.
We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Its full of charm, comfortable, great buffet breakfast to start your day off and great value for money. Its close to beach and all amenities and the hosts Eva and Dionisia are wonderfully helpful. We hope to return very soon to enjoy the beautiful sea view. Marian and Alan Dublin
4 out of 5
by Bill & Michele

Great Hosts

Posted Sep 10, 2012 on Hotels
Costas & Anastasia are the best. This was our second time at the Liberty 1, and it was great. We had a nice room with a great view of the water. The buffet breakfast is always good, with everything you could want. Hotel is in a great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Best choice in town

Posted Oct 14, 2011 on Hotels
I arrived on the island around 3pm, missed the last bus to Aghia Marina (mabye there are more in season). I had to take a taxi costing 17 euros but luckily found 2 other tourists to share this with. I agree with previous posts, Kostas and Anastasia are perfect hosts, very helpful, great breakfasts, sea view from my balcony was wonderful. I was there the 1st week in October it's off-season, very quiet but most places were still open including a couple of beach bars, very good value, try the fried octopus washed down with a jug of retsina, delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester, United Kingdom

Great find

Posted Oct 2, 2011
Very friendly staff in a basic (but fine hotel) Breakfast was excellent. I feel we got a lot more than I could have expected from the below bargain rate. Very happy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice beach side hotel.

Posted Aug 10, 2011
The hotel is within walking distance to cafes and restaurants as well as the beautiful sandy beach. The hotel was excellent and clean, offering a nice breakfast. The hotel is located in Agia Marina and is 20 minutes drive from the port of Aegina. Buses are not running after 2:00pm from Aegina to Agia Marina. It's a small secluded beach area you can't stay for a long time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa cruz ca

wonderful breadfast beautiful views

Posted Jun 8, 2011 on Hotels
If your looking for an cheap place to stay this is your spot. breakfast was fantastic fresh cooked eggs and wonderful fresh baked goods by the owners wife. bed room was clean with a deck and views of the ocean. bathroom needs an upgrade or at least mine did shower curtain would be a nice addition and the shower nozel was not attached to the wall. so you set on the edge of a small square area to shower. shower square needed a good scrubing too. quiet at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Hotel Liberty 1 in Agia Marina, Aegina, Greece

Posted Jul 23, 2010 on Hotels
This hotel is absolutely what we had hoped for in a beach-side vacation. Costos and Anastasia, the couple who owns/runs the hotel, are wonderful -- Costos speaks English very well, and Anastasia is so kind and ready to help. The rooms are lovely -- the balcony had a beautiful view of the water (which is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel) and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious -- a real Greek buffet with plenty of options. I'd definitely recommend the hotel, and if we go back to Aegina, I'm sure that we'll say at Hotel Liberty 1 again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Avoid Agia Marina

Posted Jun 16, 2010
I made the mistake of staying in Agia Marina because of its convenient location for a brief archaeological project. I've traveled all over Greece for years, and this was the saddest, least attractive place I've ever seen. Everything is a tourist trap even though there is nothing positive to attract the tourism. The hotel staff was friendly, though.
5 out of 5
by Dimitra

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Όμορφο ξενοδοχείο, απλό και λιτό στο κέντρο ακριβώς της πόλης,ούτε 50 μέτρα από το λιμάνι. Τα δωμάτια καθαρά και προσεγμένα. Οι ξενοδόχοι επίσης ευγενέστατοι. Ελάχιστες παρατηρήσεις για το γεγονός ότι δεν υπήρχε καλή ηχομόνωση ή στο δωμάτιο που διαμείναμε υπήρχε ενα μικρό πρόβλημα με το πόμολο της πόρτας του μπάνιου,τίποτα όμως αξιοπρόσεκτο δεδομένου ότι είχε γίνει σεβαστή προσπάθεια ένα σχετικά παλιό ξενοδοχείο να είναι στην καλύτερη δυνατή κατάσταση. Το συνιστώ ανεπιφύλαχτα,και εγώ η ίδια θα ξαναέμενα εκεί.