Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Black Isle, Scotland.

Nice hilltop location - lovely view.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about it. We had our most relaxing holiday ever - fortunately we had brought plenty of books to read.
Cons: When you are experiencing 30+ degrees and being well looked after you don't look for faults. In retrospect- looking back - I can't think of anything.
Location: The location was OK - half an hour from Heraklion - only an hour to Rethymnon. The nearest beach with lots of tavernas was at the foot of the hill.
We had intended doing a bit of touring but ended up spending most of our time round the pool. The layout was perfect for relaxing and the staff so friendly and obliging we felt really pampered. The food was excellent - we actually had all our evening meals there - outside by the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facilities and nice location

Posted Sep 1, 2017
No complaints - hotel staff were v friendly and accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Very Happy Cretan

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: everything was wonderful, the staff however are what really stand out.
Cons: the rooms... i rented a garden view suite which was A LOT smaller than any of the images on the site, and i definitely wouldn't describe as a suite.
Location: within a 10 minute run or 25 minute walk to Agia Pelagia beach which has a great selection of restaurants and bars.
Everyone working at the Happy Cretan is simply amazing, and bend over backwards to make sure you're happy and relaxed the whole time. The food was delicious, and the pool was amazing to just doze and relax by with nice chill-out music coming from the bar the whole time. the gym on site is perfectly adequate with everything you need for a holiday workout, from a bench with free-weights to a cross trainer, cycling machine, and a treadmill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Amazing place to stay. The staff are lovely. Great views and good location 6 euro taxi to beach and restaurants or 25 min walk. Hotel was spotless and the food was great including breakfast buffet the staff would also make fresh stuff for you too eggs and bacon toastie pancakes etc. Would 100% recommend.
5 out of 5
by P from London

A happy Cretan

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel with the most friendliest and hard working staff imaginable. Pool area was great, excellent selection for breakfast and rooms were tidy, we'll kept and with excellent views of the sea from its position in the hills. Would recommend car hire as its a trip down into Pelagia, but for value for money and a restful trip, it ticked all the boxes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

A lovely gem of a hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
We had the most wonderful stay in this lovely intimate hotel nestled on the Cretan northern coast. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the room comfortable with all amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely small apart hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great value. End of season but staff were still cheerful and place was spotless. Gorgeous pool area and amazing panoramic sea view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely friendly staff, beautiful hotel & room. The shower was only hot in the evenings unfortunately. And you need a car to get around as it's quite a trek to the nearest decent beach and taxis are quite expensive. I'd say don't go half board if you're even slightly fussy with food as there isn't much choice. Nice quiet area, not much night life at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great, friendly staff, good pool!

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Views and staff
Cons: Our room was on the very edge of the cliff so it was too windy to sit on the balcony.
Location: The town is nice, walkable on the way down the hill but you need a car to get back up (or a cab). If you want to sight see then you need a car.
The hotel had lovely views and the staff were friendly and helpful. You need a car if you want to travel around and see the sights, or, to go to the beach (30 minute walk down a very big hill!). The food was lovely, and there were facilities round the pool such as table tennis if you have children that need entertaining.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Average

Posted Nov 1, 2008
The staff was very helpful when they were available. The place seems to run with a skeleton staff. This could be an end-of-season issue but at times it was difficult to find anyone to provide service. Water pressure in our room was very variable ranging from normal to a trickle. This was very inconvenient, and unlike anywhere else we stayed on Crete. The room was clean and well-maintained otherwise. An average place to stay.