Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nairobi, Kenya

A real gem on the island of Crete

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: We just loved the staff: Thomas in the bar, Jiannis in the restaurant, Danae at the reception, the ladies in the spa etc.
Cons: For the evenings with music, it would be better if the bands performed in the bar area as opposed to on the terrace - as it was too cold
Location: We went to the town of Agios Nikolas, Plaka and onto the island of Spinalonga.
The whole experience for the four of us was exceptional. It was our first time in Crete and the hotel looked after us extremely well. The staff were so very friendly, the room (twin rooms with adjoining door and balcony overlooking the bay) was also lovely. The facilities were great, we used the spa a couple of time and went on some of the organized trips. The advice and guidance given by the reception staff was amazing (special thanks to Danae). We bought some items in the gift shop too. We ate one meal at the Culinarium which was very nice too. The two staff - Jess and Claudia - who organized all the extra activities were so well organized, willing to accept positive feedback and encouraged hotel guests to meet and mingle.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Fantastic

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Just amazing layout of hotel, size of rooms, choice breakfast, panoramas, could not ask for more. Pleasant staff upgraded us at least once...small gifts of attention ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth it for the view alone.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The view.
Cons: The shower/bath/breakfast.
Location: Great location. A good 30mins walk into Ag. Nic. Reasonable taxis if you don't want to walk.
Everything was wonderful,except the bath/shower. Very narrow,and the soap dish didn't help. I know some people like baths but I suspect the majority would be happier with a shower you could walk into (with more space). Perhaps other rooms have them. Had better breakfasts although they were more than adequate (apart from the omelettes!) I am nit picking a bit, it's just that everything else was very good. Having said all that I would rate the view 10 stars! Magnificent. The staff were excellent,especially the lady who cleaned our room.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Everything excellent. Only small issue is that the gym is poorly equipped which is surprising in such a wonderful hotel. Having said that I have stayed before and will be staying again.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
A quality hotel on a magnificent location and we were given an upgrade to a suite which was a bonus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Chill out zone

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Had such a great relaxing week here. Have to say that I'm totally sold on Adults Only hotels. The location, the salt water pool, the private beach were superb plus there was a great little gym and other activities if you wanted to do something other than relax. We just went bed and breakfast which I'm glad as it meant we experienced various restaurants around the town for dinner. A perfect combination.
3 out of 5
by Ian

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
We were put in the wrong room for the first two nights, one which was much smaller with two twin beds. Eventually on the third day we were moved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Beautiful hotel, close to town yet very peaceful. Stayed in a bungalow. Would recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, beach, breakfast, amazing view.
Cons: room uplift
The rooms need some uplifting. Not very clean either. On the first day, a staff member entered my room without knocking while I was changing. Mistakes happen, but I didn't even get an apology, The staff is very business centric and it's almost as if they get bothered when you are asking for something. That by itself is a huge 'turn off' Other than that, is very well located and a few minutes from other islands.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Minos Palace Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with us. We are pleased to see, that you appreciate especially the well-kept grounds and the fantastic views from nearly each point of our hotel. We are sorry to see, that we were not able to fulfill your personal expectations completely and ask you kindly for apologize. Please be sure that we will follow up your remarks and work on them, if possible, as they also help us to improve. We would be very happy if we may welcome you again, whenever you decide to come back to Crete and send you all our best wishes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel & staff, beautiful view - Recommended

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Cons: we could feel the springs of the bed We had a lot of gnat in the room and the smell from the AC was of a sewerage. Pros: Staff is very kind, hot water all the time, the room was very big and they arranged a cover for the bed so we wouldn't feel the springs. The breakfast was delicious! Since we had to leave to the airport very early in the morning, they opened the restaurant just for us, so we could eat an drink our coffee. That was a very nice :) Overall I would recommend this hotel. The view is also very beautiful!