Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Water and Hot Water Shortages at a 4 Star HOTEL

Posted Mar 25, 2018
This hotel is nothing like the pictures. It is fairly outdated. It smells of smoke even in the non-smoking rooms. During my stay, I woke up to no water on 3 days and no hot water on 5 days. This lasted for hours prohibiting guests from showering before business meetings. The hotel is much simpler than the pictures portray. I am fine with simple, but it must be clean, smokefree in smokefree rooms and have adequate water. It was more like staying in a youth hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Convenient Budget Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2018
Pros: Great staff - especially the restaurant staff.
Cons: Rooms are a bit dated, but have everything you would need.
Location: It's a safe area for Cairo and we spent the day in Giza seeing the pyramids and Egyptian museum, which are close by.
We were only in Cairo one day and only stayed in our room to sleep, so this was a conveniently located affordable hotel. All of the staff were very friendly. The rooms are a bit dated, but have everything that you would need. It reminded us a bit of being in the movie Casablanca!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad experience

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Terrible experience, spying people, Staff with very bad attitude and behavior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location, friendly staff.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Everything - Location, good service, amenities nearby, price, comfort, decor. I had a problem with my remote control & it was replaced immediately.
Cons: No complaints - if I was picky I would like tea & coffee making facilities in the room but it is only a 4* and was better than some 5* hotels.
Location: Super location - everything within walking distance - Banks, ATM's Pharmacy, Supermarket, Transport, Shops, Nile River, Restaurants & Take away food
This was my first stay at the Flamenco in Zamalek. I know Zamalek well and I like the location. I have met friends before for drinks in the bar and the barmen are efficient and friendly. The hotel is clean & modern, so I booked as the rate was very affordable for Zamalek, one of my favourite areas of Cairo and it can be expensive. The check in process was smooth, only about five minutes, friendly receptionist who volunteered details about breakfast times, free wifi password and pointed out services near the hotel, which would be good for someone not familiar with the area. On several occasions I asked reception for information and they were obliging, friendly and helpful, so well done. They changed large notes for smaller ones. If they couldn't, they quickly point you in the direction of the money exchange nearby. The room was not huge but clean & modern, with efficient air con, new TV, comfy bed and a very cold fridge (often the fridges are not cold in Egypt). The bathroom was modern with good hot water service and water pressure. The breakfast buffet was better than average with something for everyone, hot dishes, an assortment of different breads and pastries, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, eggs cooked to order, juice, water, tea and coffee - the restaurant is clean & the servers friendly. Room service also affordable, prompt and tasty. There is a supermarket, pharmacy, restaurants, shops, banks and ATM all within walking distance. I will definitely stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

OK

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Not bad of a hotel for the money I spent. Location was just OK. You gave to pay everybody to get a service you feel they are begging you when you ask for a service. Overall it was about to be OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet location near cafes

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location: there are cafes and some restaurants
nice hotel, clean room, great staff always available to help
4 out of 5
by Husain

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your kind review, we are proud to be your host and looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel with kind regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, but needs improvements

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service, attentiveness.
Location: This hotel is in a decent part of Cairo near shops, restaurants, Pharmacy, supermarket.
I stayed at this hotel the last week in June.This hotel is in a decent part of Cairo near shops, restaurants, Pharmacy, supermarket. The check in was kind of slow due to the person behind the counter. She did not seem to have any urgency in doing her job. Once I went up to the room, I called down to the front desk to ask a question, but she did not pick up the phone, and I had to go down back to the lobby. This is bad customer service. Also, I inquired about exchanging money to Egyptian pounds, but she was not willing to assist nor did she even direct me to where I could do so. The room was very small, and while it had air conditioning, it was not effective in cooling the room, as a matter of fact, it was somewhat uncomfortable sleeping at night. Also, housekeeping staff did not replenish the room coffee/tea/water without being asked to do so. Finally, at breakfast in the morning, the waiters seem to be missing in action. Every time I went in, I had to go find someone to bring me a cup of coffee, also, while they had a small omelet station, there was no one there to make the omelets. Check out was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Nasser , Hotel Management
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your kind review, we are proud to be your host we have taken all your comments very serious and promise you that we will do our best that this will never happen again we can only hope to welcoming you again in our hotel in order to show more improvements with kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo Morocco Dubai Copenhagen

Lovely location good service improvement done.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location. Swift service - Clean fresh rooms - comfortable beds - spacious and clean bathrooms - lovely balcony with view of the Nile
Location: Just amble about Zamalek - that's the real Egypt - easy to do excursions from here.
I have been coming to Flamenco (BTW taxi drivers understand Funduq (hotel) Falamango better :)) before and after I lived in Cairo. I have seen the service improve in the past few years. Ask for a room with a Nile view and make sure to ask for Non-smoking - if that is your preference. Staff was extremely professional and kind (this is a positive change - even from last year) I stay here and in other hotels about once a year. Breakfast is ample and delicious. Location is convenient on Zamalek. Definitely hope to return and bring guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel, but with some loose ends.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Quick facts: Good average hotel Rate: $85 nightly Pros: location in Pleasant zamalek island Cons: loose ends here'n'there The hotel is situated in the good zamalek island of cairo. The island also houses many many embassies so it's safe and the hustle and bustle is left out of the island. Less noise, crowded...etc Hotel demeanor is nice not bad, with a bar on the reception level. The staff were skillful at their work with good English and responded to our queries swiftly. The rooms were nice clean and well maintained. Some of the annoyances were, Non functional conditioning WiFi instability The housekeeping does a sloppy job of making up the rooms, Not replenishing the coffee tea plates, not cleaning the utensils, not replenishing the shampoo conditioners and other toiletries. Overall it's a good hotel and would stay there but they gotta tie the loose ends