Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Steve Clark

Not 5 Star - Tired Building/Unexceptional Staff

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
If you want/need a 5 star experience in Agra, find other accommodations. The poor experience began at check-in. Our presence was not acknowledged by the front desk staff for 13 minutes, they had a paperwork crisis keeping all but the one assisting another couple occupied. No mention about breakfast even though I was confident that it was included in our rate. The paper key cover had been reused from a previous guest. At checkout, I was charge a 5.3% "convenience fee" to be charged in USD when I expressly asked to be charged in rupees. Except for a new TV, room doesn’t appear to have been updated since original construction in 1964. Only 1 outlet for phones/computers except by unplugging TV/lamp or using the bathroom outlet. We requested twin beds, but were given a King, but the “King” was actually two twins pushed together, with twin sheets placed crosswise the head and foot, but the cover (no top sheet) was actually two twin comforters, so there was an overlap in the center. No flat top sheet is apparently common in Indian hotels, but I expect 4 & 5 star accommodations to have higher standards for comfort and sanitation. Food was adequate and appropriate for a breakfast buffet, although baked goods (muffins and danish) were stale. Service was lacking - had to flag the serving staff down numerous times for coffee and tea and refills. This isn’t a five star hotel. Reputable booking agencies should rate this hotel at best 4. I won't go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Steve, Greetings from Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra ! It has been our privilege to having you stayed with us at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra dated 3rd Jan to 5th Jan 2017. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the hospitality to our guests. There are times however, when even the best of intentions are not good enough and therefore, it is only through our guests that we get a feedback of our services, which in turn helps us to improve our standards. At the onset, please accept our sincere apologizes for the inconvenience caused to you on account of your Check in & Check-Out, Food & Beverage experience, and your overall stay. The same has been taken up very strongly with the Executive Chef, Duty Manager along with Reception team & Restaurant Manager. I have personally gone through the same in detail and have taken all the necessary measures of the observations made by you. Request you to treat this as an exception. However would like to inform you that at the time of check out, cashier is charged only your bill amount. i.e. INR 11057 towards your room, above that we have not charged any additional amount. You may consult your bank about the 5.3%. It may possible that your bank may have charged you this amount as a transaction charge. We value your patronage immensely and we hope you will give us an opportunity to win you over with our true level of hospitality and services. We look forward in welcoming you at Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Agra and assure you of our best services and attention at all times. Kind Regards Bhupendra Singh
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Little Disappointed

Posted Dec 19, 2016
I had heard about this hotel for a very long time from relatives who had traveled to Agra. The wifi was not free in the room, only in the lobby. The lobby was so full, I came down and passed by a few times, but the sofas were few and far between and no place to sit and use wife. This hotel needs to be updated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Mrs. Girija Ravi/Manager Reservation, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller.Thank you very much for your valued suggestions. We will be putting this to our Management and will definitely be taking the necessary steps. We look forward your next visit soon to our Hotel Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your visit to our Hotel . With kind regards/Team Hotel Clarks Shiraz
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very good value for money for a five star hotel. The shopping arcade within the hotel was very convenient. The location was great for us as a couple, very quiet and not far from Taj Mahal. Room was also spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings from Hotel Clarks Shiraz. Pleasure to note that you have enjoyed the stay with us. We look forward your next visit to us very soon With kind regards/Team Hotel Clarks Shiraz
3 out of 5
by Bindu

leisure

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place enjoyed the sumptuous food and hospitality.
5 out of 5
by Satish

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Proximity to Taj Mahal

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness. Live music in the restaurant.
Cons: Very poor signs leading to the hotel. All other major hotels had directional signs, but Shiraz had only signs near the hotel. We had trouble finding.
Overall ambience very nice pleasing. clean rooms and facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by Hotel Clarks Shiraz, Hotel Management
Good Evening. Our apologies for the late reply on your review. Nice to see the reviews on our property. We hereby thank you for giving us such an open feedback about the signs and we will be putting this matter to our management for consideration. Once again, thank you for the valuable review. With kind regards/Team Hotel Clarks Shiraz
3 out of 5
by Franciscus

Service....?

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
for this 5 star hotel a shame you need to pay extra for more than 1 hour of WIFI but the most annoying thing was that it took me 5 quarters of an hour and 7 hotel employees to get an extra bed in the room for my son... updating the pool area is maybe a good idea
4 out of 5
by Sandeepshastri from Shanghai

Overly priced old property

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to Tajmahal north gate. Old property with very dull looking rooms, not refreshing at all! Did not obsverve that my booking do not include breakfast, disappointed to know after check-in. Have to send confirmation mails couple of times as hotel did not have my booking reference! No wifi for free. Mughal restaurant is very congested with over priced menu. Later learnt that many good hotels exists with better offers.
4 out of 5
by SANDRO from Rome italy

Good old style!

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Despite the works in progress , we had a perfect stay in this classical atmosphere!
4 out of 5
by Mohamed Rafique from Navi Mumbai

Excellent

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
Though hotel was old but good in condition . Ambiance is too good with excellent service. Staff was polite with smiling face. Food and breakfast was awesome with many varieties .