Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Va

Over the Top

Posted Apr 24, 2017
From the moment of our arrival we were greeted by Abhishek Panshikar the GM and his excellent personalized service filters down to the entire hotel staff. Also Mr Grewal and the fantastic Gautrav Pandey made our stay just that more memorable. Our visit from the bar to the pool and dining in both restaurants was Over The Top
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Abhishek Panshikar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you review on Expedia. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant and a memorable stay with us. I am also glad that you had enjoyed your experience from bar to pool and both dining restaurants. Great care was taken in designing the hotel to ensure all the rooms offer an uninterrupted view of the monument. Your appreciation for the services at the hotel offered by my team exceed your expectations. It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to Gaurav Pandey, Ms. Grewal and the entire team. They are delighted to know that their contribution has been recognized and appreciated by you. At Oberoi Hotels we truly believe that our people are our biggest asset and it has always been our endeavour to anticipate guest needs and create personalized experiences for our guests and I thank you for your kind comments. We at Oberoi Hotels and Resorts take great pride in our service and happy guests are the greatest source of motivation for all of us here. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the services at the hotel and it will be my pleasure to share the same with my team for whom it will be a great source of motivation. I hope our distinctive service will tempt you to return soon to one of our Oberoi Hotels and Resorts. Warm regards, Abhishek Panshikar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Incomparable location and experience

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing can compare to seeing the Taj appear out of the fog each morning on one's balcony. Likely amazing on summer evenings too when sunsets better.
Cons: it is expensive so one has to decide for oneself if the experience is worth the price
Location: well, the Taj is right there...you also have ready access to the souvenir shops near the Taj gate if that's your thing.
Perhaps the decor/architecture is a bit over the top (you can judge from the photos). However the location is second to none. Room decor follows that of the hotel, the opposite of minimalist. The grounds are spacious and invite one to walk around or just sit by the pool to listen to the water features. Rooms are spacious with all expected conveniences for a hotel of this quality. Getting a room with a Taj view balcony is worth the splurge (after all, you did come all this way to see it so why spend this much on a room and not get the view). Great to be next to one of the Taj entrances (golf cart transport to and from provided) to beat the crowds. Also gets one away from the noise/pollution of the city itself. That is likely worth the price of admission by itself. Hotel staff are outstanding. I caught them at a time of lower than normal occupancy and everyone called me by name. Excellent restaurants (although I would stick to the Indian fare as the continental options are unremarkable). I had been provided a guide (Rizwan Mohd) by my Delhi hotel but he is a local working free-lance also for the Oberoi so have them book him ahead.. English is excellent and he is a very knowledgeable and personable individual. Visiting the Red Fort and old town was certainly a good adjunct to the Taj. Going to Fatehpur Sikri first thing in the morning (to avoid the other tourists) also. The hotel can arrange for both if you don't already have a driver. Music/dance performance each evening
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Abhishek Panshikar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you review on Expedia. I am pleased to know you had enjoyed the view of the Taj Mahal from balcony of your room and room as per your comfort. I am also pleased that the architecture and décor of the hotel was to your liking. The hotel is situated at about 600 meters from the Taj Mahal with such a close proximity allowing uninterrupted views of the monument from all out rooms and most of the public area. We also offers complimentary golf cart service to and from the monument, ensuring it’s just minutes away. The heated swimming pool during winters and surrounded with manicured gardens is amongst the highlights at the hotel and I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the music, live evening dance performance on the swimming pool deck, staged every evening for our guests. Great care was taken in designing the hotel to ensure all the rooms offer an uninterrupted view of the monument. I am also glad to know you enjoyed the meals at the restaurants and services offered my team exceed your expectations. Our trained and guest focused team knows that holidays are truly special and endeavor to anticipate your needs and create personalized experiences for our guests. I am glad that their dedicated service has made this stay a once in a life time experience for you. It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to Rizwan (guide) and the entire team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of motivation for our exemplary staff. Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Amarvilas and we hope to welcome you back yet again for many more amazing stays with us. Thank you, Abhishek Panshikar General Manager abhishek.panshikar@oberoihotels.com
4 out of 5
by Traveller from London

Good, but careful with the restaurants

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was in an excellent location and was maintained to a high standard with an old-fashioned timeless luxury feel. However it lacked certain mod-cons that should come as standard at this price point, such as free WiFi access rather than limited to 30 mins per day. Also steer clear of the on-site Indian restaurant, both my partner and I got food poisoning from eating the same food (almost certainly the culprit as we hadn't eaten anything else all day).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you review on hotels.com The Taj Mahal is located at about 600 meters from the hotel and all our rooms and most of the public areas have a view of the monument. However, it is with regret that I note that both you and your partner had an upset stomach post your eating at our Indian restaurant for which I apologise. I would like to assure you that we follow the highest hygiene standards. Nevertheless I have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef and the kitchen team briefed of your feedback. Your experience is certainly not representative of the care and service we strive to provide for our guests at The Oberoi Amarvilas and I will follow this up to avoid any repetition of your poor experience in the future. I do appreciate you taking the time to bring the matter to my attention. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future and to ensure that you have a truly memorable experience. We hope our distinctive service will tempt you to return soon to one of our Oberoi Hotels and Resorts. Thank you, Abhishek Panshikar Abhishek.panshikar@oberoihotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another palace in Agra

Posted May 23, 2016
Beautiful hotel. The pool area made us feel like we were staying in a palace. All staff were very helpful and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by AbhishekPanshikar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Oberoi Amarvilas on Expedia. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant and a memorable stay with us and our product and services exceeded your expectation. The swimming pool is amongst the many highlights of the hotel where our guests can sit back and relax after a long and tiring day of sightseeing. Our trained and guest focused team knows that holidays with family are truly special and endeavor to anticipate your needs and create personalized experiences for our guests. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas. Regards, Abhishek Panshikar General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honey harbour canada

Very nice hotel and close to Taj.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
My only complaint is they charge for wifi. Seems unnecessary if your already paying over 700 us per night
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Abhishek Panshikar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Expedia.com. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. However, I have also noted your comment regarding pricing for Internet access. I understand that some international chains have taken a decision to either reduce or completely remove internet access charges, most Indian hotel companies including ours, still have an internet access charge due to the service provider costs involved. The price we charge is in line with most hotels in the city and across our chain. However, I will keep your feedback on record for when we next review the pricing structure. Abhishek Panshikar General Manager
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Hampshire

The place to stay in Agra

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Has a great view of the Taj Mahal from the rooms and outside bar area. You can buy tickets to visit the Taj Mahal from reception and the hotel will take you to the entrance by golf buggy. The Oberoi chain have a great breakfast range with waited service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Ankush Mahajan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Hotel.com. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the views of the Taj Mahal from the Bar balcony and the breakfast exceeded your expectations. Great care was taken in designing the hotel to ensure all the rooms offer an uninterrupted view of the monument. The Tickets for Taj Mahal are readily available at the hotel at no extra costs for a hassle free experience while visiting the monument. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future. Thank you, Abhishek Panshikar General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant and memorable stay

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Exceeded our expectations. Beautiful beautiful hotel, comfortable room, great views of the Taj, fabulous staff (from the doorman to the pool staff). Great services to access the Taj (they organise your tickets, early morning wake up, early morning cuppa, buggy ride to the entrance of the Taj as well as pick up after your visit to the Taj is done). So glad we stayed here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Ankush Mahajan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Hotels.com. It is my pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and the products and services exceeded your expectations. The hotel arranges for a golf cart for pick up and drops for our guests ensuring the monument is just minutes away from the hotel. We also have tickets available for the Taj Mahal at no extra cost which ensures a haste free Taj visit. Our trained and guest focused team knows that holidays with family are truly special and endeavor to anticipate your needs and create personalized experiences for our guests. I am glad that they were able to make your family feel special during their stay. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas. Warm regards, Ankush Mahajan General manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2015 by Ankush Mahajan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you review on hotels.com I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and our product and services exceeded your expectation. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas. Warm regards, Ankush Mahajan
5 out of 5
by Zachary from San Francisco

Amazing service, fantastic views, awesome pool.

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was exceptional. The service, the room, the views, the pool. Things are expensive but there's a reason why, because they go above and beyond what is necessary. One thing that I found annoying was that wifi was free for 30 minutes and then after that you were charged for it. It was one of those annoying add on fees that they keep tacking on, they should really just include free wifi since you are paying so much for everything else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2015 by Ankush Mahajan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you review on hotels.com I am pleased to read that you enjoyed different aspects of the hotel during your stay with us. The Taj Mahal is situated at about 600 meters from the hotel and the proximity allows uninterrupted views of the monument. The picturesque gardens and the magnificent swimming pool adds to the appeal of the hotel while the serenity soothes the mind; However, I am sorry that you were disappointed with us for charging for internet, and we shall look into the same when this is next reviewed. Our trained and guest focused team knows that holidays with family are truly special and endeavor to anticipate your needs and create personalized experiences for our guests. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas. Warm regards, Ankush Mahajan Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com