Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful old hotel in stunning setting.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Setting/ professionalism of staff. Design of hotel
Cons: Perhaps better lighting in rooms
Location: Temple ruins & ancient gardens are amazing. Need a couple of days to properly experience it. Ancient Villa Romana del Casale is not too far away,.
Staff are really friendly and helpful. Hotel is an amazing old watchtower in a wonderful setting overlooking the temples.. Food is incredible. It was a really beautiful experience there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel. Felt really pampered

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The shower was multifunctional and very complicated. The TV could have been bigger and access to Sky news, CNN or BBC would have been a bonus
Location: Easy taxi ride from the valley of the temples, a must-see and the only reason for coming to Agrigento. I would recommend a two night stay.
The hotel is located in lovely gardens away from it all, halfway between Agrigento and the coast. Great views of the temple valley in the distance. We stayed in the 13th century tower in a lovely duplex suite, clean, quiet, spacious and cool without the need for air conditioning. Very helpful friendly staff, good breakfast. We weren't there long enough for dinner. A coach tour of Americans were also staying but they didn't take over, we still had substantial space to ourselves and the staff juggled their needs very effectively with ours. Would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Tired and dated

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The gardens
Cons: The rooms are tired, the corridors etc. decorated a while back. Needs a face lift.
Location: Perfect place to ready yourself for Agrigento, the temples are amazing.
It has a lovely view and the gardens are wonderful but the hotel is a little tired and dated, and due to its location you are almost obliged to eat there. Food was good but not as great (i.e. fine dining) as it is trying to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Oct 31, 2016
All rooms are average with small windows.The rooms 206 and on in the main building have views of the ruins. 206 is a corner room that has a balcony as well. Visit the roof-by request - for a great panoramic sunset. The hotel is not about the rooms.. It is an ancient watch tower with beautiful gardens close to the ruins. Good restaurant for dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely hotel near near the Valley of Temples.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: location, history, garden, views, and restaurant
Cons: the interior decor of the rooms could be updated a bit.
Location: Scala dei Turchi, Valley of the Temples.
The hotel is a lovely oasis near to both the Valley of Temples and Scala dei Turchi. We enjoyed every aspect of our short stay here: the courtyard and gardens are magical (especially in the evening), the olive groves right outside your window are amazing, the night view of the Valley of Temples from room windows is stunning, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the restaurant is fantastic. We enjoyed one of our best meals in Sicily at this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel next to the temples

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great service and beautiful garden overlooking the ruins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, United States of America

Beautiful grounds with view of ruins

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The setting was the best part. But the restaurant was good and reasonably priced.
Location: It is an easy drive to the ruins and you could even walk.
This historic hotel is on beautifully maintained grounds with a view to the city and the ruins. We were not originally going to stay in Agrogento and just visit the ruins on a day trip but glad we did. We got an early start and missed the big crowds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Absolutely beautiful gardens and views!! The hotel is immaculately clean and the staff is very accommodating!
Cons: Choices of Denis in the bar.
The staff was very helpful in bringing our luggage to our room since there was no elevator. The grounds are gorgeous and the views amazing. We had dinner at the hotel and it was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful garden!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, food and service were of a high standard.
Location: Temples at the archeological site.
Walking into the courtyard of this hotel was a wonderful experience. The gardens and views of the temple area were amazing. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was courteous and very helpful. The breakfast provided in the morning was exceptional. We dined at the hotel in the evening and found the dinners that we ordered were delicious, well prepared with excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous location. Close to the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2016
What a wonderful place. The staff couldnt do enough for us the setting is fabulous. The aromas of the flowers incredible. The food is all fresh and so good. We ate dinner there also - wonderful. We would all definitely stay there again