Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachuestts

Very disappointing...

Posted Aug 9, 2017
We had a 2 night reservation - arrived at Noon (4 pm checkin) - we learned that the Eclipse Restaurant was closed for renovations - one of the main reasons we stayed at the resort. This information is not listed on their website or on Expedia. Only the pool resatraunt was open - food was nothing great - outdoors. Resort is in on the ocean and off the beaten path - would not want to be driving locally when dark. We checked out after one night - the unit next door hosted a raging party all night and guests were outside smoking pot. When we got to our SECOND FLOOR we had to carry our own bags up the two flights - no one assists you. The door was unlocked and opened. We had to make sure that no one was inside. Locks on patio doors were cheap and could be pushed open. The main lock on the unit was sketchy and we put a chair uner the handle when we were in the unit. Photos on their web page make it look much nicer than it is. Bottom line we were two women traveling in our 40's and did not feel safe so we left. We booked on Expedia and had to pay $500+ for a non-refundable booking for the second night that we did not stay in. I will NEVER book non-reundable ever again if I have not been to the property. Find another hotel to say at....not worth the money. Front desk closed at 9 pm (they left at 8pm) no one to assist you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Great location right on the beach. The grounds were very well kept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Alain T., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out to let us know of your experience. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward in hosting you again in the very near future. Regards, Alain Tiphaine General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Great place, beautifully decorated, staff poor

Posted Jul 22, 2017
We had a great time overall, but the eclipse restaurant was its Achilles heel. Gorgeous decor but it took us 30 min to get seated to a table not cleaned or had any silverware. Took 20 min to get a waiter. App came out with food!?!? My steak was cooked in A1 sauce. We ordered dessert and coffee and the coffee never came out. The price outrageous 160$ for a flatbread pizza, 8oz ribeye (2oz of fat) and 4 drinks?!?!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Alain T. , Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to sharing with us your experience at Villa Montana. I am sorry to hear that the Eclipse did not meet your expectations. What you described is by no means our standard. Could you please let me know the date and hour so I may investigate what happened? Thank you Alain Tiphaine General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Amazing

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Definitely splurge for the romantic dinner on the beach! Absolutely amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Alain T., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beach view was great

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The beach and the relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Cell coverage wasn't good.
Location: Remote location with limited options
The view and scenery was great. The food options were limited. Lots of opportunities to reflect on what it means to leave your cell phone off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Alain T., Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. One of the good things on vacation is to be able to disconnect during vacation. We don't have very good cel coverage in the area of the property. We look forward to having the opportunity to hosting you again in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lot of money for a typical hotel

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Wasn't what I had hoped for, & considering the price it was over priced & under "wow" factor However the steaks we had @ dinner & our waiter were awesome!
2 out of 5
by Felix

Lacking

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Food was nice. Rooms are nothing out of the ordinary. Bathroom look cheap for more than$300.00 us a night. No TV in room. No chairs on back varanda front varanda looks run down. I am disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

What a beautiful setting, the grounds fabulous

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The peace and quiet.
Cons: Some of the rooms the owners do not take care of very well, no attention to details, no photos or decor. The paint looked like it was a one coat job.
Location: Crash Boat Beach, the best. The walk on the beach in front - fabulous. You don't have to go anywhere to enjoy your stay. Food a walk away. Divine.
I would come again and again. Our room was nice, but could have used a bit of love. The grounds were magnificent. The beach the most relaxing ever, the restaurant - perfection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfort hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
This is my second experience in Villa Montaña and is a perfect place to relax and visit several point of interest in northwest side of Puerto Rico. I really enjoy the experience and hope to have another time to visit this place again.
4 out of 5
by David

Liquid Sunshine

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Nice well kept property. Good Dining. The stay is turn key with a nice beach. If the weather is rainy there is little comfortable common space for sitting/reading/drinking wine etc. If Sunny there are more choices. We were there one night and it was liquid sunshine (ie rainy) my opinion is that the room I had was small not much different than a average hotel room, wouldnt care if the weather had been better but it wasnt a room you want to hang out in. If I revisit I would ask more questions about the specific room.