Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice but far from San Sebastian

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The place is nice, but it really is very far from San Sebastian even if you have a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Wonderful B&B

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The charm of the building.
Cons: Due to some of the better restaurants being closed on the night we were there , there was limited choice for dinner.
Location: We we hiking the Camino del Norte. It is a beautiful path with amazing views of the vineyards and ocean in this area.
We had a cute room on the upper floor that looked out to the back of the house. The home was very clean and well cared for. The owner is a charming woman who is very welcoming and pays close attention to detail. The breakfast was served in a room with a large window looking out on the garden. The food was excellent and plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Beautiful family pension

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Style and nice breakfasts.
Very nice place, close to train station and city centre. Romantic style and we had nice room on the top floor with little balcony and nice view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming little place in the Basque Country

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay in Casa Mailan and left with a heavy heart. They go the extra mile to welcome guests and help them at every stage. We even got a lift to a local restaurant! Highly recommended if you don't want to stay in a boring anonymous hotel!
5 out of 5
by Donald from New Braunfels, Texas USA

Most awesome place to stay to visit San Sebastion.

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
This was our first time to the area in Spain and it was such a pleasure to stay at this bed and breakfast in. The breakfast was very good and the service was outstanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

What a place

Posted Mar 15, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights, really friendly people, helpful and warm, the room and the whole place is a piece of art, with two lovely pets, Sua and Leo, Will be back soon,
5 out of 5
by Scot from Phoenix, USA

A hidden gem

Posted Nov 25, 2015 on Hotels
For the price my room was fabulous and probably the biggest and nicest room I've enjoyed in a long time. I speak very limited Spanish and the staff very little English but we got along very well. They were most kind and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Dominic from Cardiff

Does Stay In Orio

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
An absolutely beautiful house in Orio - which is also stunning and a great base for exploring the rest of the Basque Country. Orio is quirky and traditional and so friendly. Casa Mailan is perfect, clean and a great host - breakfasts are simple and delicious and nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are very big and beautifully decorated. I can't recommend this enough :)))
5 out of 5
by David from Great Falls, Virginia

Small hotel offers good layover options

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel resembles a house that rents out the basement (lower level) as the quad and other rooms for doubles. We stayed here one night to be close to San Sebastian and to go to the Mugaritz restaurant. From that perspective, it was a good location - however it is a 20 minute car ride to San Sebastian that might not suit people. If one is to hiking or rowing and other outdoor activities, the town of the hotel is an ideal spot. We stayed in the family quad that was large, clean, and fully equipped with a kitchen. There was not a hot breakfast but the served breakfast was varied and good. The manager had lots of maps and local tourist information. No one spoke English though and we had a little trouble communicating. It was easy to drive to and they had sufficient parking.
4 out of 5
by Bert from Stockholm

Rural hideaway

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very good value for the Euros.