Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place. Wonderful staff.

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The staff. The garden.
Cons: When we first arrived, we had to wait a very long time for someone to come help us, even after ringing the little bell.
Location: Hiking. Touring Salzburg.
The Doktorwirt is in a nice neighborhood outside of Salzburg proper, siting at the base of a beautiful mountain. You can easily access hiking as well as the Salzburg bus system (a 3 minute walk from a bus station). The owners are amazingly friendly and helpful. We were even offered a free ride to a local attraction! Very nice. On Expedia the sauna is listed as a hotel amenity, but in truth it is an extra charge per person, so I was disappointed in that as that was one of the reasons I chose the hotel (I was looking for places with saunas and breakfast included), but that's more of a problem with Expedia. The breakfast is very nice. The rooms are small but ample. The beds are very firm. And if you stay, I would request a room facing their lovely garden (which, by the way has a gorgeous mountain view in the back), otherwise the views are just of the street.
3 out of 5
by ENRICO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by david from San Francisco

Charming B&B near Salzberg

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
We onl viewsy stayed one night, and wished that we had more time to relax and enjoy this charming B&B/spa near Salzberg. The road approaching the hotel is very ordinary, but the hotel sits on a large lot with an outdoor patio , and lawn, in addition to the outdor and indoor pool, with views of the mountains near Salzberg.
5 out of 5
by Hongmei from San Francisco

Nice resort near Salzberg

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our brief stay in the Doctorvirt. The grounds are open with a beautiful view of the foothills. The spa and indoor pool looked appealing but we did not have time to use them. Our hosts spoke excellent English. The historic center of Salzberg is a few kilometers by bus or car.
5 out of 5
by Lorraine from Montana, USA

well pleased

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
This was a wonderful place to stay. It is just outside of the city, so it is quiet. The decor was beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly. The pool and breakast was nice. I would definetly stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark from Hull

Totally outstanding

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
This Hotel was excellent in every department. From location to cleanliness, food to friendliness i cannot fault this wonderful Austrian gem. Direct location for trails up into the mountains, 15min direct bus ride into the old town of Salzburg and a building which delights in it's nooks and crannies and all round wood panelling. Food was all local and fresh and excellently cooked...i had one of the set menu's .... The staff were all very helpful as well. I had set off with no intention of going to Austria but my original travel plans were disrupted by the refugee crisis. It's strange how things turn out...probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in..i'm already trying to work out some time off to go back for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel staff wasn't always around. But the hotel is lovely, and the breakfast was delicious!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Wir suchten nach einem kleinen Hotel und wurden bei Doktorwirt fündig. Tolles Hotel mit tollem Essen. Nur das Restaurantpersonal war unfreundlich. Im großen und ganzen ein echt schönes Hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel but not worth the price

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The pools, the old woodwork in the rooms, breakfast was great.
Cons: The beds we're extremely firm and better communication about rollaway beds.
Location: You have to take a bus to get to Salzburg as the hotel is outside of the main city. There are a few restaurants, but not nearby. It is very quiet.
Our family stayed here for two nights last week and we only had two complaints. The beds were not that comfortable and we we're unable to obtain a rollaway bed, which I had emailed the hotel staff two weeks prior and confirmed. We were forced to book an additional single room, which to me is bad customer service. It wouldn't have been so bad if they did not confirm via email that a rollaway bed would have been available. The rest of the hotel was very nice comparative to the area. The pools were nice and the hotel staff was helpful. We do not have any other hotels around Salzburg to compare it to, but many of the hotels in Germany we stayed at were cheaper and provided us with rollaway beds without a problem.