Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Philip

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The room (prestige double) was very large and extremely comfortable. The setting -- a former Cardinal's residence -- is wonderful, with an interior grassy courtyard. Very much an oasis. Inside the walls of Aigues-Mortes, this is a very nice luxury, since green space is rare. They also have garage parking, which is very nice. I had a pleasant meal at their dining room one night, and, the second night, went to a restaurant recommended by the nice young lady at Reception. I enjoyed it very much. The breakfast at the hotel isn't cheap, but is very good quality. I will definitely come back here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gloucester, U.K.

Charming, character full, boutique hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location and decoration.
Set within the walled town of Aigues-Mortes, within short stroll of main square. Fabulous gardens and swimming pool. Unfortunately we only had a one night stay, but we'll be back for a minimum of three.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire UK

A lovely find

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: A wonderful hotel, full of character and a great find. Set around a beautiful, well kept garden the rooms are clean, spacious and decorated to a high standard. The bar and dining area is welcoming and elegant... The staff are so helpful, I didn't have the breakfast but it did look lovely. I would highly recommend Villa Mazarin and the beautiful town of Aigues Mortes! It's just magical. Shirley x
Cons: There is nothing I didn't like about this hotel it was just perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

My new favorite hotel!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The courtyard, our room and the staff.
Cons: Staff is a little weak on directions.
Location: Inside the fortress walls but on a quiet street.
Lovely hotel with incredible courtyard with nice pool and Jacuzzi. Nice breakfast in courtyard. Lovely room with nicest bathroom I've ever had. Perfect location in the old town but off the bus streets. The staff was incredible, giving us snacks with the bottle of wine we had brought with us, letting us swim and hang out after we had checked out, etc.
4 out of 5
by bernard from west palm beach

nice stay

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
very nice hotel inside the city great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
En route
5 out of 5
by Edward from Oxford

Excellent anniversary treat

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Villa Mazarin for a belated anniversary treat and were blown away by the service, the room and the location. I'd also asked for champagne and flowers to celebrate and these were top notch. The team at Villa Mazarin were without exception very helpful and also very tolerant of my terrible French when trying to get directions/a restaurant recommendation/chat about the weather! I felt that nothing was too much trouble for them and am hoping to visit again soon. Thank you so much for making our holiday very special.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Hugely disappointing -

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The position is amazing as is the building and some of original furniture
Cons: Virtually everything
Location: Old city of Aigues Mortes, also the Camargue on the doorstep
My minimum list of complaints would include: Failing to concentrate and trying to lower garage door while we were underneath it No hot water in either double room Noisy rooms Dud light bulbs Surly staff and one who stayed on phone and ignored you all times of day 2nd rate breakfast including rotten fruit in fruit compote, self making hot chocolate packets in cheapest mugs Beyond disappointing for what should be a great hotel
4 out of 5
by René from Canada

Should have stay longer

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
We were there for sightseeing, enjoy the staff very helpful and friendly , the pool and hot tub were being repaired and the restaurant was closed during our stay.we were given an upgrade for the room as well as free parking to compensate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO USA

Nice hotel in a small village.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Very we'll kept hotel within the city walls. The service is great and the people very friendly. Interesting places and shopping within walking distance. I found out that many restaurants in Aigues-Mortes do not take AMEX, which was my primary card for the trip, it was a pitty. Great food and wine.