Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice little town, average hotel stay

Posted Jul 25, 2017
This hotel served the purpose with a clean hotel, and nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso

Made my trip more difficult than I expected

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: Front desk assistance and capability
The place is clean and not terrible, but i had to struggle during my trip because i was expecting a better breakfast option and the drier was broken with no signs of being fixed. I like to travel light and therefore need to wash clothes at time which was just not possible. When asking the staff they mentioned a posible laundromat down the road but didnt help me further and i couldnt find it. Lastly i almost didnt get my taxi in time to get to the augusta airport. The night before i asked the front desk what the best way to get to the airport was early in the morning and she mentioned aiken taxi and said that calling them 15 min before leaving would be enough. I was nervous so i called 30 min before and they told me they needed a whole hour notice in order to drive me to augusta. Thankfully they werent too busy so they got a car to me in time. The thing is that i would expect the staff to be able to properly guide me in what should be a standard issue for a hotel in aiken. Again, ive stayed in truly bad places and this isnt it, but i would not stay again if i had the option since it provides the bare minimum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that your stay was not as you had expected. I will be sure to put in place more information so that another guest doesn't have the same experience. We would love to have another opportunity to provide you a better stay here in Aiken, S.C. at Americas best value Inn
4 out of 5
by Patsy A

Great Family Visit!

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was pleasant. Hotel was clean & staff was great. Could use some newer mattresses in the room. Well worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of America's Best Value Inn, located in Aiken, S.C. I will be sure to let the entire staff know you were satisfied with your overall stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future should your travelling plans bring you back to Aiken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not the Ritz, but clean and affordable

Posted Apr 11, 2017
It was Masters weekend in nearby Augusta, so I was happy to get anything in Aiken. The building could use renovation, especially the lobby (which could be a lot more attractive with minimal investment). However, as a place to sleep and shower, it was fine. I was impressed with the cleanliness. Reception was nice, and let me check out late, which was helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind remarks regarding the cleanliness of your hotel room, I will be sure to let our housekeeping staff know your were pleased with your stay.
2 out of 5
by LaTosha

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
I didnt like it... I would never stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017
I do apologize that you were not happy with your stay at the hotel, I wish that you had brought your concerns to our attention so that we could have rectified them during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Friendly staff, very clean.
Enjoyed my stay. Helpful staff, very clean. Great location for my meeting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words regarding America's Best Value Inn, Aiken, S.C. I will be sure to let our housekeeping staff know you were pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. We look forward to being your hotel of choice should you visit Aiken again.
1 out of 5
by KIMBERLY

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
The walls and carpet were dirty and stained. There were actually holes in the wall. The room needed a serious face lift. The whirlpool tub was old and scratched up. Not enough towels provided. The furniture was chipped up and awful looking. The TV didn't work and they finally got it working the second day of our stay. The halls smelled of smoke. Our bed was okay but was an older spring mattress that creaked when you rolled over. The only redeeming point of our stay was when the front desk offered to give us a later check out on our last day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to remark on your recent stay with us, I am truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will take your comments as an opportunity to enhance our next guests stay. Should you ever have the need to stay in Aiken again, I would love to have the opportunity to have America's Best Value Inn as your hotel of choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value!

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was friendly. Is as advertised. Pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving such kind remarks regarding your recent stay at America's Best Value Inn, located in Aiken, S.C. I will be sure and let the entire staff know you were satisfied with your overall stay. We look forward to being your hotel of choice for your next stay in Aiken.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment for Americas Best Value Inn, Aiken, S.C., I would have liked to have had the opportunity to correct the issues regarding your stay that your felt fell short of your expectations, we look forward to a future stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty with bug!!! Room service is bad. Towel is old and rugged!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not give us the opportunity to correct your concerns during your stay. We will make every effort to remedy the issues you have pointed out and would love to have the opportunity to host another stay for you.