Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Needs major updating

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything needs to be improved
Location: Located in downtown Aiken with cute shops to walk to
I am sure at one time this hotel was charming. But now it Needs to be remodeled. hotel is old and tired. Very musty smell. Beds are very uncomfortable and bedding was torn. Elevator is operated by staff only . There was never staff around to run it. Breakfast was gross. Loud music every night we stayed . Even from 3rd floor you could hear the music. All I can say is that this hotel needs a remodel and when it does finally happen hopefully they will bring back the charm .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Very Disappointed

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: in the middle of everything downtown
Cons: EVERYTHING! The only good thing was the STaff!
Location: Lots of shops; great tours if you go with Private Tours (Marty). Marty was terrific!
The hotel was in "dire" need of repairs! Current owners should be embarrassed about letting such a gem get in such condition. Hopefully, Marriott will succeed in its goal to acquire the hotel and hopefully, when they renovate, they will keep in mind the historical significance of the building. And if there is a Historical Society, they should certainly step in and have guidelines!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Hotel Aiken

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: staff, bar, restaurant.
Cons: showers in rooms
Location: great restaurants within walking distance.
Although this hotel is almost 100 years old it was a very pleasant experience. The staff was attentive, informative, helpful and overall exceptional. The room was clean and comfortable and tastefully decorated. Had some minor issues with the shower but to be fair to the hotel I didn't make them aware of issues. The bar and restaurant were great, as was the service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Hotel is in dire need of a remodel. Ceiling tiles are missing, smells of smoke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paradise Valley, AZ

Perfect location. Downtown, in a small, old town.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Everything, except the band in the lobby bar.
Built in 1898 this hotel has some charm. Priced like one of the new, right off the freeway type hotels, this one is special. Downtown, small old town with lots of history and plenty of good shopping and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very tired

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location.
Location: Good restaurants. Good place if you are attending the Masters.
The hotel was built in the 1800's, and I am not sure they have spent a nickel on the place since. The location was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Nothing to see.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Oh, we forgot a good one. Staek House near the hotel is very good. We want to eat this again.
I understand the Masters season at this time. But, I (and my wife) are very disappointed. Hotel Aiken allocated us to the different building, which looked an used-to-be motel with different name. The room is dirty and bath tub etc. looks some cracking. Staffs said ''this is exterior''. Original Hotel Aiken should be interior. We don't know this kind of difference in advance. I could not connect with WiFi at the room. Breakfast delayed in 20 minutes as promised at 6:00am and the taste is not good. Anyway, my wife and I never want to stay at this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Didn't like anything. Sorry I made my wife stay there.
Cons: Get the place cleaned up!
Location: Good location for the Masters.
Room was was very dirty and still under construction. Don't stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

OMG...Hotel rooms dirty and no heat IN ROOM

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Room had wall paper and curtain falling down Plus blanket was dirty. Can deal with that but we had no heat and maintenence staff would not be back until the morning. Room was freezing cold. I have pictures if Expedia wants to see them. Remove this hotel from your listing please.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PA

Run down place

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The surrounding town
Cons: Everything about the facility - needs painting and cleaning.
Location: Golf and horses! some really good restaurants
They didnt have our reservation whne we went to check in but were able to find the email from expedia - still took them an hour to figure it out, we had to go to the bar and wait. The entire place was quite run down. the ladies bathroom had a dirty toilet that still had the same dirt spot 2 days later! the breakfast was completely unappetizing - we didnt eat anyt he first day, we went out. The second day we were in a hurry and the breakfast bar was out of certain things despite it being only 8am! No sign of anyone to refill. The mens room on the ground floor in the morning had broken beer bottles on the floor and in the toilet from the party the night before. We told the front desk staff and they acted like it was not big deal, happened all the time and the cleaners would be there in a bit. Such a shame that a hotel that must have once been quite grand has gotten to this state, especially in the heart of such a lovely town.