Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel Le Galice Aix en Provence

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Aix. This was along a busy street so perfectly safe at night. The hotel was modern and the rooms were kept clean. Beds were very comfortable and with a decent size bathroom. The hotel however had a very bad smell of cigarettes as instead of smoking in the rooms people would smoke in the corridors. This was enough for me not to recommend it.
2 out of 5
by Francesca from London

Oh dear, oh dear - don't go unless you have to...

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Reception staff poor. Quibbled about putting us in a pool view room after I complained, even though we paid more for a pool view room. Didn't program the key properly, so had to return. Were not allowed two key cards, as they didn't have anymore! Asked for another bed sheet, was told "NO BED SHEET!' I was surprised to be spoken to like that. The lady then wrote down the room number with a big sigh.They then brought what turned out to be a duvet cover. Again returned to reception to explain I would like a bed sheet, as it was to hot to sleep under a duvet. They were surprised that I did not want the duvet cover. After returning the second day, our key card again did not work for the room. I went to use the pool the third morning. The toilets by the pool were out of order, and the sign asked guests to use the lobby toilets. When trying to use these toilets, it then turned out there was no toilet paper. Considering all their conference rooms were full that day, one would think the toilets get used more, and they should do hourly toilet checks to ensure they are clean and stocked. These toilet checks get done in hotels all over the world. The only good thing about this hotel is the comfortable beds, and the pool, but otherwise, don't bother. It is one of the few hotels in Aix with a pool, that is affordable. If you go any other time of the year, stay in a hotel closer into town, as it's not worth the hassle and poor service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, ON, Canada

Hotel was good

Posted May 31, 2016
Clean, quiet and dinner was good. Bed was really hard and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from U.K.

OK for business.

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Restaurant is OK. Rooms are quiet.
Cons: Heating system doesn't let you have control.
Used this hotel whilst working in the area. Generally good place to stay - bed was comfortable, hotel was peaceful at night. Plumbing worked fine. Only problem was the heating, which is controlled centrally & won't let you raise the room temperature (it was very frosty outside!).
4 out of 5
by David from London

Nice with hidden catches!

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Didn't use the restaurant as we wanted to try the restaurants in Aix. Unusual hotel as it promotes it's swimming pool but charges 3 euros per towel which isn't publicised. Car parking is secure, but should be at 12 euros per night - there is no where else to park though.
5 out of 5
by Francesca

Fabulous Hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
Best Western Hotel Le Galice is a fabulous hotel. We had a brilliant time here. We loved the convenience of the location, the gorgeous pool, the consistently great service and the decent value for money. Le Galice is one of the nicest 3 star hotels I've stayed at. The helpful, friendly staff helped us with directions to the centre-ville, booked us an airport transfer and printed out boarding passes. Our standard twin room was really spacious, the much-needed air-con always worked and the bathroom was of a high standard. The swimming pool was a real highlight - the perfect way to cool off after a hot day exploring the gorgeous city of Aix! We also ate at the restaurant, enjoying the relaxing poolside ambiance and local food and wine. The location is good: once you know your way, the 5-10 minute journey into town is easy. Our own quibble is that the neighbourhood can feel a little uncomfortable to walk through in the evening, only because it is out of the main city centre so feels more isolated. Nevertheless, we did not find this a problem once we confidently knew our way. Overall this hotel is highly recommended! NB we were originally booked into Best Western Hotel L'Arbois, also in Aix en Provence. We switched to Le Galice once we realised that L'Arbois is further away and only reachable by (complicated) bus journeys. I’m really glad we did change and urge anyone deciding between these two Best Western options to go with Le Galice.
4 out of 5
by Irene from Paris

In Aix for a Wedding

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
Was there as I attended a friends'wedding in the area. The hotel is a good business hotel but as it was the wkend of 14 Juillet, France's national day, lots of people were on vaccation and the staff present was not enough. They did their best but were visibly overwhelmed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jun 18, 2015
It was a nice place. Not too far from train station or town square. Quiet.
4 out of 5
by William from Ottawa

Nice hotel but please make the free wifi easier!

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
My only complaint is the wi-fi. The first 3 codes did not work and when we got a code to work the sign in procedure was slow and tedious. We spent more time getting connected than we did using it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire, UK

Renovations are improving the hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Convenience for business trips
Cons: Room facilities could be improved
Location: 'La Rotonde' (Aix centre) is 7 - 10 minutes walk from the hotel so the centre is quite convenient for restaurants
The rooms are fairly basic for the price that you pay. The 'office' chairs at the desk in the room are incredibly uncomfortable