Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines

5 Star luxury with a Rustic easy going atmosphere

Posted Mar 27, 2018
I think this is the best place to stay in Aitutaki. The private Island was a dream and felt secure and inviting. Staff was amazing. Food is excellent they have a great chef. Loved the cultural evening events with local dancing and fire throwers. Very well equipped recreational equipment with lots of kayaks and stand up paddle boards to choose from. I really enjoyed the help yourself approach and lack of formality. The bungalows has spectacular views. Don't get me started on the sunsets and stars ...so amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by MarkP, Hotel Management
Kia Orana Michelle, Thank you for your review on your stay with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort. It is a very special location and the facilities and friendly staff compliment the resort. Enjoying the magnificent waters of our lagoon are just one way guests can relax but nothing beats the hammock on the beach with a cocktail at 4.00pm. Thank you again for your very positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Private Island. Warm regards, Mark, Sue and the Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Aitutaki Lagoon Honeymon Experience

Posted Mar 12, 2018
My wife and I recently returned from our 1 week honeymoon which we spent at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort. We can't say enough about how wonderful it was to stay here. The staff are incredible and are really what make this place special! They were always so accommodating and laughing all of the time! We stayed in an over water bungalow and enjoyed sipping coffee on the deck, jumping in for a swim and watching the endless stars on the ocean's horizon at night! The food was amazing! We were greeted with a fresh coconut and our room was decorated in flowers! The island feels like a private getaway and really caters to couples without any children onsite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2018 by Freddy Webb, Resort Manager,, Hotel Management
Kia Orana Adrian, Thankyou for your review of your stay with us at the Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and indeed, we are blessed to be part of the World's most beautiful lagoon. Our Pacific staff are only too happy to ensure that your stay with us is both enjoyable and unforgettable. We all look forward to your welcoming you back to your private tropical island home to once again experience that touch of Polynesian magic. We wish you well and the very best for 2018. Kia Manuia The Team, Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Perfect getaway with breathtaking views!

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: The staff were what made our stay incredible. Everyone is so welcoming, helpful, and eager to please. The food was also wonderful!
Cons: Minor updates to the bungalows, which are in the works per the resort manager. Little things like re thatching the roofs or updating decor.
Location: Renting a scooter and touring the island, a guided snorkel trip with the Black Pearl, walking up the mountain, a stop into T&S artworks for pearls.
Our overall experience in Aitutaki was incredible! The lagoon itself is amazing and some of the most beautiful water you will ever see. The various shades of blue that surround you do not ever get old. The locals are some of the most kind and welcoming people we have met which just made our vacation that much more special. We had some concerns of it being "too quiet" or not enough to do from other reviewers but I now seriously question their expectations when booking their original vacation plans. If you go to a resort on a small tropical island in the middle of the pacific ocean and you don't expect some limitations or quietness then there is something wrong with you. We traveled during their "off season" (February) so the resort was only about 50% booked which was perfect. We met plenty of other people but often times we felt like we got a piece of paradise to ourselves because there wasn't very many people around. At times there was no one on the beach or you didn't see anyone else swimming in the lagoon. The resort itself could use some updating and it sounds like they have plans to do so. But its a 30 year old island resort, we had planned for it to be a little dated and we were pleasantly surprised at the condition it was in considering the age. But the grounds were well kept and you could see that the staff to great care in what they did. We will absolutely be returning and Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa will be our resort of choice for trips in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2018 by MarkP, Hotel Management
Kia Orana Rachel, Thankyou for your kind review, and yes you are absolutely correct we are truly blessed to be part of the Lagoon voted the World's Most Beautiful. We appreciate your comments and we are happy to inform you that we are continuously improving our Resort and amenities to ensure that all our valued guests such as yourself, are able to truly experience that touch of Pacific Island magic mixed with Polynesian hospitality. Our staff and the management take great pride in being part of your "tropical island experience" and we all look forward to welcoming you back to your island home to once again experience a touch of tropical island magic. Kia Orana and Kia Manuia. The Team, Aitutaki Lagoon Private Island Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Heavenly island perfect for a beach get-away and to escape the pressures of the modern world!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2018 by MarkP, Hotel Management
Thankyou Anonymous for your review of your stay at the Akitua Lagoon Private Island Resort. We are indeed blessed to be part of the World's most beautiful lagoon and for you to experience a touch of Paradise and Pacific Magic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely resort. Lovely location

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Pros: Outdoor showers
Location: Excellent location. It was great how they provided paddle boards, canoes, etc.
First time I've ever had hotel management take the effort to personally greet us on arrival. Shows they care. Great location and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2018 by mark, Hotel Management
Kia Orana Mark, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Aitutaki lagoon Resort & Spa. It was our pleasure to welcome you and the family and we wish you all the best for 2018. Warm regards, Mark, Sue and the Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Cons: Shuttle bus needs replacement
Rustic...major expenses appear to have been deferred
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by mark, Hotel Management
Kia Orana Anonymous, Thank you for staying at Aitutiki lagoon Private Island Resort. We have ordered a new van for the resort and we will continue with our upgrade program now the high season has finished. Warm regards, Mark, Sue and the Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An unspoilt paradise

Posted Jan 16, 2018 on Hotels
With white sands and crystal clear water, you really couldn't ask for much more! The personal service from the staff was also very impressive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by mark, Hotel Management
Kia Orana Douglas, Thank you for your review and I am proud of my staff for all of their hard work. The location of the resort is paramount with magnificent views of the lagoon. Warm regards, Mark, Sue and the Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Amazing location with impressive hotel for Cook Is

Posted Jan 13, 2018 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Upkeep of some of the outdoors equipment (chess board, checker board, jetskis, paddle boards were cheap, etc).
Location: Aitutaki was incredible, with snorkeling, paddle boarding, beach things, and lagoon tours all easily available
The location was incredible, and the hotel was very nice considering the location. Very nice bungalow on the beach, with great food at the restaurant, and was very easy to use the included paddle boards, kayaks, and snorkeling gear. Was disappointed that the jetskis were broken with no ETA for fixing them, and have to say that I was disappointed to find out there was a very strict No Drone law for the island owned by the hotel, as 90% of the photos I saw of the hotel and island were from a Drone point of view which I had been excited to take myself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by mark, Hotel Management
Kia Orana Ross, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the location, facilities and the food was great. We do not advertise jet ski hire but have 1 for emergencies only. Yes a number of photos of the resort were taken by our company photographer when the resort was at a very low occupancy. I am sure you understand that our guests cherish their privacy whilst on vacation and to avoid any possible negative comments on this we request our guests not to fly drones over the island. Again thank you for your visit. Warm regards, Mark, Sue and the Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2018
We had a lovely stay in an overwater bungalow to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Beautiful setting
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by mark, Hotel Management
Kia Orana, Thank you for celebrating your mile stone with us and I am pleased you enjoyed the wonderful setting. Warm regards, Mark, Sue and the Team
5 out of 5
by robert

Posted Nov 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice, not quite as luxurious as billed and somewhat limited offerings, but nice and friendly, helpful people. A bit on the expensive side for what it is
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017
Kia Orana Robert, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. I am pleased too read the staff were friendly and helpful and overall you had a nice experience. I note your comments on price and again thank you for staying with us. Warm regards, Mark, Sue and the Team