Ratings based on 807 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Mediocre experience at an average rate

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Has its own beach, breakfast was ok
Cons: Customer interactions and staff selection, generally staff came across as uncaring and lazy
Location: Far from town, about 20 mins, you can have a massage or go zip lining at the resort. The island itself if beautiful with many things to do
Staff were incompetent, they didn't respond to any or our requests, this was our experience not only at the front lobby, but at the restaurants and with the cleaning staff. The resort seemed overstaffed but most staff members would stand around and chat with each other, rather than help the guests. Our room didn't get cleaned unless we asked to have it cleaned, we had noisy neighbors and asked to get moved, we were told that they would follow up with us in the morning but they never did. We asked them to phone our neighbors room to stop the noise, this didn't happen either. Our bathroom smelled of sewage, again we voiced this as a complaint but didn't get moved. The staff at the front desk wouldn't book any excursions (provided at the resort by the resort) to the Visa we had on file, but they took a safety deposit. They demanded that we pay in cash upfront, we went to the ATM at the front gate of the resort (20 mins of waiting and taking the resort shuttle), the ATM was in incompatible with the more modern chip based cards, so we couldn't withdraw anything, we then had to go to town to find a bank and search for an ATM that would work and come back via taxis (approximately 1.5 hours later). This could have been avoided if they just ran our Visa again, which was done when we checked out and checked in. Some parts of the resort were very poorly maintained and falling apart. Generally poor experience and a lot of time wasted unnecessarily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, nm

Little of everything

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Private beach, golf course, lots of pools
Location: Beautiful location with access to eerything
This hotel has a little of everything and with the shuttle service into the D'mall it gives you all the other options. l little remote but the private beach and golf course made this an excellent choice for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Very nice hotel with a private beach.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Everthing was great.
Cons: a better way to contact the hotel to get transportation from the airport to the hotel. The email that they provided did not work.
Location: A lot of water sports and some other things like horse back riding, ATV riding, zip lining, etc.
The hotel and resort is fairly new and is away from the crowd. It has several villas scattered on a golf course. It has a private beach and infinity pool and some other smaller pools. Apparently the resort occupies 10% of the island, so it is very big and it's a world on its own. The villas are very nice, and each villa has a security guard. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which had 3 very big and nice bathrooms, living room, kitchen and veranda. The staff is also very nice and helpful. The resort has a nice trail for horse back riding, and zip lining was also great. We really enjoyed this resort and will go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riyadh

Nice hotel for relaxation

Posted Jan 24, 2017
It was nice and enjoyable experience.. They meet what you want when it comes to service and assistance.. Pools are good, breakfast is will deserve...Beach is nice and maintain overall.... See you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jan 23, 2017
My family and I had a blast on our first vacation in Boracay. Definetely I will recommend this Hotel to my relatives and friends...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Both good and bad

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Safety Shuttle services Private beach Breakfast buffet
Cons: Don't charge for wi-fi if there are more than two devices that need to be connected Softer beds Hotter shower High prices for services (e.g. massage)
Location: D'Mall is only a 10 minute shuttle ride, with plenty of stuff to do on White Beach. We didn't try going to other beaches.
I had high hopes for the Fairways & Bluewater resort. I think there were both good and bad things about staying there. First, the good: the resort had ample security and staff to assist you. The shuttles ran without interruption so you could get to D'Mall or anywhere on the resort quickly. The private beach is also very nice and peaceful. Security is at every entrance of the buildings so you don't need to worry and it is a gated community, which also provides a sense of security. The breakfast buffet was nice too. The bad: the resort was almost too big to feel like a peaceful resort. I would have liked to walk to the restaurants or the private beach, but you basically need to take a shuttle everywhere. The bed was not very comfortable. The staff have a hard time understanding your questions or needs at times (for example, they brought me to the wrong restaurant after I told them twice). The prices within the resort gates were pretty high relative to outside the resort (Boracay is relatively expensive too compared to other parts of the Philippines). Two things that I extremely disliked about the resort...they will charge you for over two devices using wi-fi. The shower was partially warm and I had to have maintenance fix it. Also, I requested a king size bed but when I got to the resort they only had two queens. After expressing my displeasure, they so happened to find an available king size bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: It is a good resort for an escape - a very spread out resort with 24-hour shuttle services within the resort and great activities
Cons: Checkout could be improved - at 7:00am there was only one staff member manning the front desk as more guests were arriving to check out.
Resort is very safe with 24-hour Security Guards posted at each building and entry gate, as well as the public areas. Pools are well-kept & the beach is idyllic. As we had booked through Expedia, we had free WiFi access - but this was only limited to 2 devices during our stay (we were a party of 4 with laptops & smartphones), otherwise we had to pay for any other devices. Our checkout was delayed by 30 minutes as they could not locate 2 bathroom towels and had to re-check the room after we told them where they were located. It took them over 20 minutes to re-check, causing our transfer to be delayed. I am waiting to see if they charge us for the towels as there are notices everywhere relating to lost/missing towels & the related charges.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, Ca

I can't decide if I can recommend!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Nice place but my check in experience is a disappointment. I hinted to the manager that I am active in reviews, We were there before 11 am to check in but they said it will be ar 2 pm. Waited but at 2 pm the 3 rooms are not ready. They assured within 5 minutes and rooms will be adjacent. Only 2 were ready and they were far. We were the only one left in the check in area. The rooms smell sewer. I see the effort but there is no extra effort to please a dissapointed guest. I ask if we can leave late since they gave us the room late but to deaf ears. More training in excellent customer service. They must deal with customer without bias and prejudice since I am visiting my own province of Aklan and I look native coming from California.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great choice on paper

Posted Jan 13, 2017
The location is great, the staff is wonderful. But the hotel lacks some key qualities of a 4 star place. Bed is rock hard, shower wouldn't even go warm enough to be comfortable, 3 days without a hot shower bothered me the most! Roosters and dogs barking every morning wake you up by 6am. The room doesn't insulate at all. When it rained outside, the water off the roof landing on the patio was so loud. The room needs your key card to run the power, since I'm one guest, I get one card. If you go out during the day, the AC is not running. Come back to a hot room, than a noisy AC. The multiple pools are nice, the golf course is great and the reason I chose to stay here. I'll be back to Boracay again, but won't stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

some nice points at this hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: infinity pool and beach
Cons: restaurant and bar staff knowledge is lacking
Location: 10 minute ride to beach, which is crazy busy and has a million pedlars that hassle you relentlessly
got dropped off at wrong spot to check in front desk made HUGE error in booking our transport after check out but Cath at front desk eventually fixed it up for us, food is average at best, Infinity pool and beach is AWESOME, restaurant and bar staff require training and knowledge so they can respond to guest inquiries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Marketing, Hotel Management
Dear Randy, Greetings from Fairways and Bluewater. Many thanks for your review of the resort. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our swimming pools and our private beach. We do try to provide our guests with leisure activities away from the hassle and crowds of the front beach. We apologize for the confusion with your check in process and transport booking, we are glad that Cath was able to straighten things out for you in the end. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions regarding our F&B staff have been forwarded to the concerned department for appropriate action. Best and warmest regards.