Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Great hotel across from the mall.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Big bathroom/shower space. Indoor pool is nice sized and good temperature.
Cons: The vending machine on the second floor wouldn't take my dollar bills.
Location: Across from Summit Mall, close to food and shopping plazas.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location across from Summit Mall and close to shopping and dining. Indoor pool is awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2015 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Ty, thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Akron/Fairlawn. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your review. We hope you allow us a future opportunity to serve you.
4 out of 5
by Adam from Canton, Ohio

staycation.....

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
just dinner and shopping for my wife and I.....one night date night...clean hotel....good location....nice time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Adam, we're thrilled you and your wife enjoyed a staycation with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Akron/Fairlawn. We hope to have you back again soon. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark OH

We were rather disappointed.

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and neat, close to where we wanted to go. The staff was helpful.
Cons: They could make sure they have hand held supports for elderly people to get in and out of tubs and/or showers.
Location: It was very close to a nice mall, and several great places to eat.
Although when I called the hotel directly, to confirm our reservations, I told them we(my husband and I) were both 85, and the friend that was coming with us was 88, and we booked her a seperate room, no ameninties for elderly people were in our rooms. Both rooms were on the first floor, but well over 100 feet from the entrance to the hallway to our rooms. Norene walks slowly, and it was a long way for her to walk. The room was nice enough, but the shower-hot tub bath was impossible for any of us to use, as there was no way for us to get safely in or out of it. The television set was horribly slow, and there was no TV guide to tell us what was on the different channels. The staff was friendly and helpful, but all in all, it was rather disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2015 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Garry, thank you for reaching out to us about your recent DoubleTree experience. As safety is our top concern for our guests we do provide grab bars and a nonslip coating in all of our showers. Our handicapped rooms have additional safety features but it appears a handicapped room was not specifically booked for your stay through Expedia. We are always happy to move our patrons to our handicapped rooms if requested and available and we apologize if this was not offered to you. We appreciate your feedback and hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Nice hotel with a great staff

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: I vist my family and friends and this is close by.
Location: There are plenty of parks and places to hike.
When I got there at noon, my room was ready and I got a warm cookie!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2015 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Kathy, thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your warm DoubleTree cookie and were able to take advantage of the nearby hiking trails. We hope you were able to see some beautiful fall colors and look forward to serving you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Not Provided from Alexandria, VA

Willie's Akron, Ohio Family trip

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
It was great as suggested in the rating above.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Valued guest, thank you for your five-star review of your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Akron/Fairlawn. We hope to have you back again soon and thank you for your patronage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore MD

Good hotel to stay in while visiting Akron.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Close to shopping and restaurants. Met all of our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from Port Clinton

Very good hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Check in was easy and fast, staff helpful and spoke fluent English. Room was clean and quiet. Went to a concert, came back, enjoyed our evening. Very nice place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Stephen, thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Akron/Fairlawn recently. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to be your first choice in hospitality should you return to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

My stay at Doubletree

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: I like that the hotel was very clean, and well organized.
Cons: Noise on our floor (2nd). Guests were obnoxiously loud while we were sleeping at 11pm. It was so annoying! Ice machine did not work on our floor.
Location: There is a mall right across the street. There are many fast food restaurants in the area, as well as a restaurant in the hotel...but it's pricey.
My husband and I booked a room for two nights just to get away from a hectic week. We are parents of 6 children, and this little getaway was what we needed. My experience at the Doubletree was nice...outside of the disturbance on our floor. There were other guests near our room, who was extremely loud late at night. They were playing music, and acted like they were having a party. There was no consideration for the other guests on the floor. I started to call front desk and asked to be moved, but I was so tired from working..I did not want to move...I just laid there and prayed they would shut up. And eventually, they did... after 1 a.m. All in all I would return. The room was very clean, well stocked with towels etc...We didn't order room service because we felt it was too pricey..however there were many fast food restaurants, a grocery store, and other eat out spots in the area. We chose to eat out. Other than that....I can say that I will be back, maybe at another location though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2015 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Valued guest, thank you for your Expedia review. We're thrilled you and your husband were able to have a getaway with us at the DoubleTree Akron/Fairlawn but disappointed there was noise from other guests that inhibited your stay. We do abide by quite hours so that all of our patrons enjoy a relaxing evening and our staff is always happy to take care of any noise issues that are brought to their attention. We appreciate your feedback and hope to be of service to you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Timothy from Suffolk, VA

Fairlawn stay

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was great. The staff was very helpful, and got us checked in and out very quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five-star review Timothy! We hope we may be of service to you again in the future.