Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for our one night stay

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Hotel overall nice, with fancy restaurant. Pool area was nice, it was a heated pool with a Jacuzzi and also a fitness area with a steam room and sauna. Room was okay, nothing too fancy. My biggest complaint was the water temp the next morning was going in and out, it would fluctuate between whatever temp you had it on and freezing cold to scalding hot where you had to jump out of the way pretty much. We did not complain as we were running late, so it may have been something they would have/could have fixed right away?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Akron Hilton Fairlawn

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the outdoor space the most. It was a beautiful night and we gathered near the pool and the firepit.
Cons: The food was really bad. I don't recommend Beau's Grille -- avoid the breakfast bar, as any nearby eatery would be better.
Location: Great location -- easy access to Cleveland or the prime areas of Akron shopping and dining.
Had a great stay, lots of friends and family joined us. The hotel is a little long in the tooth, but the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Maggie, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you found your bed comfortable and enjoyed our new pool veranda. Our restaurant, Beau's Grille, has been a favorite among our guests and locals alike for the past 15 years so we are very concerned that you did not enjoy the food. Should you wish to discuss your experience further, we welcome you to contact our Front Office Manager. We certainly hope to be your first choice in hospitality should you return to the Akron/Fairlawn area. Thank you again for your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Quiet Place with Nice Facilities

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Cons: The one lesson I learned is that I need to put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. Housekeeping banged on the door at 9:30.
Location: There are great restaurants within a couple miles of the hotel (I recommend Fleming's Steak House) and a mall right across the road.
This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel. It's a clean, quiet location--close to everything. The hotel has a nice rec facility that includes a pool and hot tub, sauna and steam room. The onsite restaurant is delicious and the morning breakfast buffet is delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Room was nice! Ate at Beau's Grille and it was delicious. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet Comfort

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Location: Go to Fleming's Steak House for dinner (less than two miles from the hotel for an amazing meal)
From the time I checked in, I felt like I was lounging in comfort. From the well-appointed room to the sauna and hot tub facilities to the amazing breakfast I they provided free of charge, the entire retreat was a restful, comfortable break from a busy work week.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga

Excellent really enjoyed it

Posted Feb 6, 2015
It was outstanding shopping mall and eating place close by loved it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review Destin. We are so pleased you enjoyed our close proximity to Summit mall as well as the many dining options. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and hope to serve you again at the Hilton Akron/Fairlawn Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2015
A little pricey for what it is, but the bed and shower was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Very comfortable stay over the holidays

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Have stayed here several times over the past years, and have enjoyed and appreciated each visit. Service is great, rooms comfortable; this time, the holiday decorations were beautiful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northeast

Conveniently located for what I needed the hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Staff and restaurant. Clever menu and great prices
Cons: new shower curtain and toiletteries replenished every day of each stay.
we arrived late at night and I think that may have been the reason that we got a room on the ground floor. I know I will have to return to this hotel and I will make sure to request an upper floor room so I feel safer. the room was comfortable, although the bed was too soft for my own personal preference. I also have two questions -- why are hotels so stingy with the toilettries? These amenities cannot cost a fortune but for room attendants to assume that guests only take one shoer per day is not acceptable any longer. I feel that I have to manage my soap to make sure I have enough for two or more showers. silly if you ask me. I also want to know, why hotels have such a hard time switching out old shower curtains. This room was clean, but the minute I stepped into the shower this smell of mildew took over and made my entire hotel experience just okay. It is so unpleasant, the smell of mildew in the shower curtain I mean. A curtain liner costs pennies, but i guarantee that it would make many guests write you an excellent review versus one like this - just an okay one
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
a, thank you for taking the time to share comments regarding your recent stay. I apologize for any disappointment in your visit regarding the room location and bathroom facilities. Our staff is more than happy to accommodate a request for a room on a higher floor if available. Like many other hotels, our housekeeping staff has been trained that if there is any soap, shampoo, etc. left in the amenity bottles, they do not get replaced, however, our staff is more than willing to provide extra toiletries 24 hours a day should you request them. I can assure you our shower curtains and liners are changed out on a regular basis so I sincerely apologize if the one in your guest room had been neglected. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper regarding this issue. a, thank you again for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. We hope to have a future opportunity to serve you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wellsville

Ok stay would have expected better

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Stayed one night on arrival the girl at the front desk was snobby but on check out the girl was straight up rude and someone else had to finish checking us out. Room were clean n comfy. Pool area was nice expect there was no towels and the indoor steps were very slippery and my wife be careful hate for anyone else to get hurt. There was also wedding party that night and loud music could be heard padt 2am. But overall ok stay great area and very clean.