Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable Oceanside Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2017
We stayed here one night on the way to Reykjavik. The room comfortably slept three people. Very close proximity to the ocean and lots of restaurants. The hotel staff was very friendly. The free breakfast that the hotel offers was delicious and came with an ocean view. Would definitely recommend a short stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear J., Thank you for recommending us, that is the best review we can get. It is great to see that you felt welcomed by our wonderful staff and comfortable in your triple room, as well as happy about being so close to most of the restaurants and the heart of the town. If you ever visit Akureyri again, we would absolutely love you see you again. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Reception Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Orchester UK

Great central location, small room.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Clean, modern, warm. Comfy beds, great location, good breakfast.
Cons: Size of the room. Self closing bathroom door nearly took my daughters finger off on many an occasion!
Ideal central location. Plenty of good places locally to eat but we had a tiny room for 3 of us. Breakfast buffet was varied, plentiful and good. We ate at the launderette cafe (down the side street opposite the hotel) which is part of Akureyri Backpackers Hostel. Good cheap food and beer, lively atmosphere. We also walked up the hill past the hotel to the swimming baths which like all Icelandic baths were cheap and great. Hot tubs, plunge pools, steam rooms, flumes, slides, 2 pools all for 750kr for adults and children under 12 free. Open till 21.30 the night we were there (Sunday).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Emily, Thank you for your detailed review! It is great to see that you liked the location and being able to walk to most of the restaurants and to the swimming pool. We would love to welcome you again. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Reception Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Small room , bathroom very small n tv is outdated . Shower stall is really tight .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for reviewing us. I am happy to tell you that our TV's are being replaced in a short time and we will take your other comments to consideration. Thank you for staying with us. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Reception Manager
4 out of 5
by Chu Yuan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gregory

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel is conveniently located. Staff was caring and the breakfast was good. Definitely worth a visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir, Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Henry, Thank you for a lovely review! I hope you enjoyed your time in Iceland and that you will visit us again one day. Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Reception Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

One nighter in Akureyri

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Great location and an excellent choice for getting to know the area. Walking distance to the shopping center and to the thermal pools. The staff was very pleasant and informative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir, Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Janina, Thank you for taking time to give us such a great review. We surely are well situated for people who want to be able to walk around town. We look forward to welcoming you again! Best regards, Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir Reception Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
Wifi didn't reach my room, had to walk about 250 steps to get to room. Otherwise, good hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Ester, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. Sorry to hear the Wifi was giving you trouble, and for the inconvenience of getting to your room. However, it's great to hear that your overall experience was good and we hope to welcome you again. All the best, Hrefna receptionist
4 out of 5
by Dawn

good hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Close to everything. The room is old fashioned but very comfortable. The only complaint is that some loud noise from the street in the middle of the night. It seems that some kids were driving a motocycle or a car with loud engine up and down the street a couple of times. But it was a good stay in general.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Ester, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Hótel Kea and really appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion. We are aware of the problem you're referring to, unfortunately it can be hard to control these kids sometimes :). We're sorry for the inconvenience. Hope to welcome you again soon! All the best, Hrefna receptionist