Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stinks

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Hotel and rooms had an odd smell. One side of bed too close to wall to use, one person had to crawl across, hot water in shower so hot you could barely turn the water on as cold as it would go without being too hot. Shower walls and floor chipped, only one pod for coffee provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Central Alabama

Hospital too far. Stayed before surgery.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Close to Hospital. Staff accustomed to patients and families staying there.
Cons: It serves the purpose very well.
Location: We were there for pre surgery. Did not shop or sight see
Bed was very comfortable. Room a little small. Clean. Quiet. Close to Hospital.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Meranda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction only

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is being used as a long term stay for construction workers. Since people stay so long ( many had mail envelopes on their doors) you can smell food being cooked as well as cigarette smoke. I didn't see another woman/child while staying there. While it's nice to find a hotel with a kitchenette, bookers should be aware of the unique set up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is true we are an extended stay and offer kitchens and all suite options that are very attractive to extended stay requests from crews and construction teams. However, we also have have extended stay university, corporate, medical and leisure travelers in house. During the past 30 days we were lucky to secure a big AT&T project that filled our hotel with many crews working on fiber optics and increasing area cell phone coverage. They took much of our inventory. This group has almost completed their project here. And while we welcome this and all types of crews, most of the time the hotel is a more of a mix of families, corporate, leisure and extended stay business. We hope you will consider us if your plans take you back to the area. We are gearing up for a 1.5 million dollar renovation this fall! Again, thanks for your comments and let me know if you need anything further from me or anyone here at the Candlewood Suites Alabaster! Melinda Bennett
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EXCELLENT HOTEL. VERY CLEAN. FRIENDLY STAY.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE
Location: OAK MOUNTAIN STATE PARK OFFERS SOMETHING FOR EVERYTHING
I STAYED HERE FOUR DAYS. THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AND WELL SUPPLIED. IT WAS LIKE HOME AWAY FROM HOME.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
I rented the hotel rooms so my future daughter in law would have a place to get ready for the wedding since the wedding took place at a nearby farm. I ask for a late checkout, and was told that would be okay. I even offered to pay for it. Two of the hotel staff on two different occasions confirmed that was okay. On the day of the wedding, may daughter in law was approached by a night manager saying if she didn't check out, she would need to pay for another night. When I called the hotel and spoke to the night manager to find out what went wrong, she said she had not been in formed and had every right to ask my future daughter law to pay for another night. Every thing was straightened out, but what good is arranging things ahead of time when the staff does not communicate with each other? My new daughter in law should not have had to deal with that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Very comfortable, great for traveling with pets.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Room size, bed comfort
Cons: I wish there was a breakfast option that you don't have to fix in your room, and seating to eat on the main level.
Location: Great restaurants and shopping right across the highway. And a Starbucks. Yay!
We chose this hotel to stay for a 4-day dog show in nearby Columbiana, as they accept pets. The rooms are super comfy, not cramped, and come with a kitchenette. Considering all the dogs there, it was nice and quiet, and there is a grassy area across the street for exercising pets. Because it is an "extended stay" hotel with kitchenettes, there is no breakfast offered, which I missed. I guess they expect you to buy your own groceries and fix it yourself. However there is a "pantry" next to the lobby with 24 hr free coffee and and an assortment of packaged snacks for purchase. I would totally recommend this hotel especially if traveling with pets.
5 out of 5
by eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels