Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Very nice hostel, close to the airport and food

Posted Oct 12, 2015
We stayed a night at the hostel, and we'll be having a second night there soon. Very clean, and friendly staff. Nothing too fancy but had fast free Internet and a 24 hour desk person. The only issue we had was the door was a bit finicky and our room didn't have toilet paper, certainly not deal beakers. Looking forward to staying again soon
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Not a good hostel to stay

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Staff was very friendly
Cons: Hostel need a renovation
The Bathroom was in a really bad condition. For the same price you can have a much better bed and room with breakfast included in a hotel a few blocks near the central park. The pictures in the web page did not show the real hotel conditions. Very noisy hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Great Staff!

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff, clean, internet worked.
Cons: Had to get used to putting toilet paper in the basket rather than the toilet but that's C>R>
Location: The bus station was right next door to the lodge. Alot of shopping and fun sites to see. I particularly loved visiting the Catholic churches .
Never did something like this before and as a 58 yo single female traveler it worked for me. Slept with my money under the pillow and that was secure, however one of the Germany backpacker talked on his cell phone till after 9 and I politely asked him to continue the call in the other room so we could sleep. He was nasty but moved, low and behold when I woke at 3:30 am the card to the room was missing from my hat. He stole it. So the front desk was lovely in putting me in another room, however I had to pay the $5. for the extra card. The guys at the desk were great with directions and knowing about tours. The bistro on the top floor was great food wise and view of city phenomenal. Also, very close to the airport and many other sites in Costa Rica. It made for a very interesting excursion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south africa

Convenient hostel close to airport , shops , museu

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Welcoming , accommodating staff . Bathroom trash can could be bigger or emptied more often . Pity people can't sit in the 4th restaurant area, even if not serving food , the only nice relaxing spot .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

there is no kitchen facilities to cook in

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: the airport shuttle was very convenient, probably the best service they provide and the view from the bar at night was awesome with the full moon
Cons: add kitchen facilities for backpacker use
Location: museum and town center was very close walking distance and lots of coffee shops and restaurants nearby as well
I met lots of friendly fellow backpackers and felt safe happy and welcome
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from prince albert

Close to old town

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Good place but poop all over shower curtain and in need of a lightbulb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive hotel near the airport

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I was looking for an inexpensive hotel near the airport with a free shuttle, and that's exactly what this was. I stayed in a four-bed dorm room with bathroom, and it was exactly as described. The free airport shuttle worked. Two minor points - 1) you can't use credit cards in the restaurant, and I was short on cash at the end of a trip. 2) Interbus doesn't go right to the hotel, so you'll have to take a cab from a nearby restaurant (~$6)
2 out of 5
by Leandro from San Diego, California

It's was a pretty bad experience

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
It's was a pretty bad experience I ever have had. I could not sleep at all. I got there at 1:00AM and I left at 5:00AM, there were 4 long hours. I won't be in that place ever. No more comments.
4 out of 5
by Tara from Asheville, NC

Great hostel, kind staff, 5 mins to the airport

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. I was flying in and out of Alajuela. The hostel is a 5 min drive from the airport which was nice. Several days before my stay I emailed the hostel with my flight information and got an email confirmation stated that Mauricio would be there to pick me up. This alone is valuable offering! The hostel itself is basic but clean with hot water (which is not always the case in Costa Rica), free wifi, and a rooftop bar where you can watch planes fly into the city. Great drinks and decent food as well. Free coffee in the mornings and they also have a free shuttle that runs at specific times to and from the airport so that you can make your outbound flight. I enjoyed my stay so much that I also booked to stay where on my way back through. Very enjoyable stay and the staff is so kind. Will happily stay there again!!