Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Horrible

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Would not reccomend it to anyone! Bedbugs and cockeroaches in the room, terrible noise from the street. Unpleasant neighbourhood, bath had hairs in it, loafs of noisy pigeons on tin roof at room 8. Only plus is proximity to airport and friendly syaff. Would NEVER stay again or recommend it to anyone. Still in trauma!
5 out of 5
by Paula

Pure vida

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Outstanding other than street noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed in missing Free Parking promised

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
We picked this hotel for its proximity to the airport and free parking, using the Free Parking filter. We were extremely disappointed to arrive the day before our departure only to find out that there is no dedicated parking for this hotel. The so-called free parking is on the street and is very limited. There is parking after 7 PM in a lot a block and a half away. We drove around the town trying to find parking nearby only to learn that most spots charge by the half hour and surrounding parking lots are only available by the hour (avg 900 colones). The room seemed comfortable and clean when we arrived but lacked a window and wifi was poor; we discovered a few large bugs in the am which looked vaguely like cockroaches, so not as clean as hoped. The 24 hour coffee in lobby was non-existent at 5 am when we had to depart for our flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Conveniently located by the airport.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Landed late and just wanted a clean affordable room to crash until the next leg od my journey. Was nice to have a complimentary breakfast. Room did not have a wash cloth so I used the two hand towels as wash cloth and towel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great location!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room and breakfast were great and the price was reasonable.
Location: Close to the airport and right in downtown Alajuela. Church, central park & market were great. Cafes and ice cream nearby.
We loved Hotel Catedral. The location was great, less than 3 miles from the airport and near the Interbus line to our next destination. The staff was friendly and more than helpful. They carried our heavy suitcase up three flights of stairs without us even asking. The breakfast they serve is hot and good. We stayed there for two nights, once coming and once going. Hopefully we will return to Costa Rica again one day and we will definitely stay at Hotel Catedral.
4 out of 5
by Liora

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by jan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
It is a nice small hotel. Close to everything in downtown. Staff was friendly. It could improve a few things, like a better wifi. But, it is good enough for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Very bad in all aspects

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Cons: Cleaning and some staffs atendance.
Location: Location is good
Hairs scattered all over the unchanged sheets ,flour and washroom and spiderwebs everywhere in the room and washroom . Precarious cleansing .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Easy and convenient stop when arriving from the airport.