Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, Indiana

A lush oasis right outside the airport

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the airport and the very reasonable price. The big surprise was the beauty of the place!
Cons: Air conditioning would be nice, but we were quite comfortable with the doors to the balcony open all night.
This small, friendly hotel should be everyone's first and last stop when flying into or out of Costa Rica. The hotel and grounds are exactly as they appear online, which seemed highly improbable when we turned off the busy road and down the lane in the dark, wet night. Staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful and we were pleased to find they would still cook dinner for us despite a late arrival. The rush of a river toward the back of the property and the sounds of birds make you forget the airport is so close until a plane goes by, but even that is muffled. An impossibly small, sweet calico cat wanders the grounds. Everything was clean and neat, great towels. Staff speak English adequately to well, they take dollars with a fine exchange rate. The grounds were gated and safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
This is a great hotel for arriving and leaving Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dinner was excellent!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We had a great, restful experience at the Trapp Family Country Inn before leaving Costa Rica. Great place to stay on arrival or departure. Definitely have dinner while you are there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Hotel Trapp, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Sep 3, 2017
It was a beautiful peaceful hotel with lots of green to see all around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Hotel Trapp, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We arrived late after getting lost. Staff was awesome in helping us get settled in so late at night. Beautiful place, clean and welcoming. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy it more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by karin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your beautiful comments!! It was a pleausure to have you here. karin Trapp
4 out of 5
by Calvin

Great local, great service!

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay if you want to be close to the airport, but not feel like you are in the city, more of a park-like setting surrounded by vegetation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from EEUU

Chef taught me a lesson

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Very pretty
Cons: The chef. The ants
Location: Loud jet airport noise, they told us it was too dangerous to walk outside and around the hotel.
I ordered very very well done beef. It came very bloody. They took it back and returned it black outside, bloody inside. So I closed my eyes cutting off an outside edge to find it so so salty and rancid that I couldn't eat it. I waited a long time for the waitress to return, She seemed angry and jerked the plate away and left. I went hungry because there are no other restaurants around there, and its kind of a bad area to be walking at night warned the guard. When I took a shower, winged ants poured out of the wall. there were so many I accidentally stepped on some while drying off. I think this angered them as they swarmed out along with 2 other species of ants. They went into full battle attacking each other for a couple hours. When the ant war was over, they had carried off all the hundreds dead from the bathroom floor. Each time the room next door flushed, the pipes in the wall sounded like a train whistle for a couple minutes. I simply put on earplugs and rectified the airplane noise too!. This place is very pretty. Pool not heated.
5 out of 5
by Matt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
These are spacious rooms with large doors that open out onto a balcony surrounded by jungle trees and a view of the swimming pool. The staff was responsive without being overbearing.
2 out of 5
by noelle

Worst Hotel of our Costa Rica Trip.

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
STAY AWAY! Trapp Country Inn looks nice in photos, but upon arrival, I could quickly sense that it wasn't worth how much we paid for it. My husband and I stayed there the night before our departure because it was close to the airport, but the room was so gross that we felt cleaner not showering than using the bathroom which had mold on the walls. I had the most difficult time sleeping for a number of reasons - paper-thin walls, loud guests, no AC, lots of bugs/mosquitoes in the room, creaky bed, old mattress...but worst of all, the pillows REEKED like a mixture of mold and sweat. Like really, were they even washed prior to our arrival?! The bedsheets felt gritty/sandy/dirty, too...it was hard to ignore, so I actually put on long pants/shirt to barricade me from the dirty sheets. Such a shame because the employees seemed really nice. But the room/amenities were among the worst I've ever experienced.