Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Unique Experience

Posted Oct 11, 2017
This resort is very unique, amazing architecture, 5 waterfalls on site. Absolutely stunning view of alajuela in which every villa and the resteraunt over looks. Massage was great, rooms were great, no AC but rather a natural cooling rooms which was much nicer Imo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Relaxing Mountain View of San Jose

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Cool, quiet and gorgeous. Great food, beautiful grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beauty

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The gardens
It was just a beautiful experience. The room was great, the restaurant, etc. would love to go back, especially to explore more of the trails, waterfalls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Not much to talk about I had a bad experience at my arrival to the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful oasis close to San Jose airport.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I was stuck in Costa Rica due to hurricane, messing up my travel plans into Miami. The staff at this hotel where are more than accommodating. I spent two nights in room 20 with a normal shower, which was very romantic and then it was moved to room 11. The majority have the rooms have an interesting shower situation, a glass wall opens to an outside courtyard which although private could weird out someone who was very modest. It is a lovely facility with trails on the property to several beautiful waterfalls. The spa is amazing! They have three lovely Pools, two of which we were heated & 2 hot tubs. The beautiful sunset pool needs a bit of maintenance though, the waterline needed cleaning and tiles have been falling off. Complimentary breakfast included fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, lunch meat and cheese, fresh baked bread and muffins, hot breakfast was available for a fee. Dinners were very good with excellent service although entrées were a bit pricey, Costa Rican meals were a better value and delicious! Overall I was very pleased with this facility and would recommend it highly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Oasis near airport

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Getaway, botanical gardens make up the grounds, spa, pools, trails and impeccably well maintained facilities. Lunch and dinner aren't included so it's not quite all inclusivo, but the price reflects this. Food is excellent, salt pools feel great and the ceiling fan in the room is all you need for comfort. Great way to start or even end a trip. We stayed one night midweek in shoulder season. Early check in was no problem so we spent abut 1.5 days and it was just right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Va

Little Bit of Paradise

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The attention to detail began at airport when our driver seemed to just pick us out of hundreds of travelers. The staff was always very accommodating, pleasant and cheerful. They liked their jobs and liked living in Costa Rica and that showed. Food was excellent and yes the coffee, a priority for me was excellent. The concierge was extremely helpful in setting up tours.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tried to charge 100$ for towels

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We left towels in the pool area in a designated basket and they tried to charge us for them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

The spa

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Great hotel. Staff were class. Loads and loads of butterflies
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Eu , Hotel Management
Dear Patrick thank you for your recent stay and we look forward to have you back in the near future. Pura vida!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Waterfalls in your hotel??

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: All the area and the gorgeous view
Location: 10 minutes from airport Juan Santamaria
Believe it or not this beautiful hotel in Alajuela Costa Rica, 10 minutes distance from the airport, has not just one or two but four waterfalls in its area, it is amazing, how you can just get out of your room and take a hike to some wonderful, waterfalls, they do have a path completely signalized, where you can walk towards the waterfalls, very safe and absolutely gorgeous. The staff is great, the food is REALLY GOOD, and the restaurant has an amazing view of the city. The house special breakfast is great, with Pinto (rice an black beans), and plantation, eggs, is delicious! If you have the chance to go, do not forget to walk to the water falls you will not regret it, you will need around an hour to go to the first 2 waterfalls and maybe an hour an half to walk all of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Eu, Hotel Management
Muchas gracias for your recent stay with us and for visiting the waterfalls which are our treasure hidden in the property, we look forward to having you back in the near future.