Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Posted Jun 18, 2018
Everything was great. Love how the room was remodeled from our last stay. The kitchen was nicely put together. Was surprised when their were no dishes in room as before. Oven mitts, kitchen towels, should be provided. Overall great. Now I know what to bring my next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2018 by Hotel Management  , Hotel Management
Angela, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Extended Stay America. It's great to read you enjoyed your comfortable suite and fully equipped kitchen. Thanks for all of your great feedback. We look forward to your next stay! Sincerely, Hotel Management  
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We are delighted you had an outstanding stay at Extended Stay America and you loved all aspects of our hotel. Thank you for the excellent rating, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alameda

Posted Apr 19, 2018
The room smelled like smoke and I wasn’t accomidated with another room. I didn’t stay and I didn’t get a refund either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the smell of smoke you experienced in your room. We work hard to provide a clean environment and we are sorry for not meeting your expectations. We will follow up on your concerns to ensure we are doing everything possible to minimize the impact on our guests. Thank you again for your candid feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Asked for blankets at the front and after the employee told me that they had some washing she would take them to my room; that never happened. check in took forever because it was already check in time (3:00) and only one employee helping in front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
It is disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and we're truly sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ripped Off

Posted Apr 14, 2018
We paid for 2 nights on-line but were only allowed to stay 1 night. We were told the room was o0nly paid for 1 night even though the receipt said 2
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
We are so sorry for the difficulties you had with your reservation. We are looking into the issue to see what went wrong and how can we avoid such incidents. Meanwhile, please feel free to reach out to us so we can assist you further. We truly hope this unfortunate situation will not prevent you from staying with us again. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Spent a night there , and for that price it was amazing . Def will book again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for being our guest. Our top priority is for you to have an enjoyable stay and from your five-star review, it appears that we succeeded in that. It was a pleasure having you at Extended Stay America, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Liability- Extended Stay

Posted Apr 8, 2018
The employee Jay at the Oakland-alameda Extended Stay called the police because I asked for his employee ID number and asked to speak to his manager. Instead of giving me proper identification he had the law enforcement harass me to the point where I was scared for my woman Jessica's and my life!!! Both Extended Stay and the law enforcement(I don't know what entity; ie: county sheriff, city police or extended law enforcement) threatened me to open the door and were trying to strip me of my 4th amendment rights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STAY AWAY!!!!

Posted Apr 8, 2018
TERRIBLE experience!!!! I went to check into the hotel after a long drive and was told that this hotel would not accept the price I previously paid for the hotel. An hour later, after Expedia's negotiation, I was able to get to my room. The nonsmoking room I booked smelled like smoke, the windows were all open, and there were TRASH BAGS tied up to cover the smoke alarm! The room was not bad otherwise, but the hallway had a strong urine smell and a trail of sunflower seeds. Additionally, I needed to print a paper for work and was told by Brian that we could not print anything, even though we were told ten minutes prior by another attendant that we could print for $1/page. This was obviously a lie because we were able to have our forms printed by the kind morning attendant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will take the necessary actions to ensure these issues are properly addressed. Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location is not ideal

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Pros: let me think about it.............
Cons: fix the door lock going out the back door to the parking lot.
Location: none
not many choices of places to eat , .........nothing close by , I had to drive back to the airport road to eat at a lousy diner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Wayne, thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. Although your overall visit was pleasant, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations and regret any inconvenience it caused. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2018
There was no air in our room kept getting lied to the 1st night then the 2nd night it was replaced
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying your stay with us. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced in your room, but we are glad that we were able to make it up to you. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with the outstanding service you should always have. Sincerely, Hotel Management