Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Nov 9, 2017
The inside of the room was nice and basic but the hotel itself was weathered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are happy to know you liked your well-appointed room, but we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will encourage you to choose us again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
promise a fully accessible room and after payment was given a room that was not fully accesible
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take guest feedback seriously, as it allows us to continue to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your review and will be taking the necessary steps to ensure the issues you described do not occur again. Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Convenient location & good value

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Facility was close to my destination in east Alameda. Price was best in area. I’ll book there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Brad, thank you for being our guest. We are pleased to read our location was convenient for your needs and that you found us to be a good value. We appreciate you sharing your nice comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alameda ca

No amenities

Posted Oct 14, 2017
We were staying one night. The breakfast should not be advertised. It was a joke. granola bars and instant oatmeal. Coffee was good. No ice machine. Had refrigerators but no ice cube tray. Too much money for off season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Karen, we apologize for your disappointment with the in-suite amenities. Since our suites are designed for guests staying multiple nights desiring home-like living, these guests often bring their own bath amenities such as hairdryers and toiletries. These items are available and complimentary at the front desk at any time. Kitchenware for your suite is also available and kept at the front desk to ensure cleanliness, and it is available on request Your feedback is appreciated, and we will be sure our front desk communicates this more clearly going forward. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rapid city sd

Awesome

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Staff was very helpful n rooms were great. Very very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Wendy, thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your spotless room along with the excellent service delivered by our courteous associates. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Great location mediocre accomodations

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: location to Oakland Coliseum.
The girl working the front desk was rude and completely unwelcoming. She appeared bothered when we requested bedding for the pull out and only sent sheets and a pillow, no blanket. There was a huge ball of hair that was not swept up by our bed. Food items were left in the refridgerator/freezer. The location was quiet and perfect for our needs. However, zero amenities. There was not even a ice machine on site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dina, thank you for your review. Although you were pleased with our location, we sincerely apologize for not matching our typical level of standards. We never compromise on the courteous customer service for which our entire staff is trained for, and we can assure you we will redouble our efforts to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you will consider being our guest again so we can show you the example of our true hospitality. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oakland, california

No running hot water

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I checked into room and tried to take a shower it was freezing cold and wouldn't turn hot. I called front desk several times no answer and when they responded the said maintenance wasn't available until next day. 30 minutes before my check out maintenance came to room tried to fix shower. Didn't work still cold water. Couldn't take shower past 2 days. Left for work dirty and unpleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jan, thank you for staying with us. Please accept our apologies for being inattentive to your needs and for the unsatisfactory service you received during your stay. These issues will be addressed with our team to prevent them from occurring again. We truly regret the inconvenience it caused. We appreciate your business and hope you will consider staying with us once more so we can provide you with the hospitality you should have experienced on this visit. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Southern San Francisco Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Location: It's a little isolated,with limited public transport.
Nice hotel, good staff, amenities and complimentary airport shuttle service from San Francisco airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kevin, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest at Extended Stay America. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service and were impressed with our helpful associates. We value your feedback and hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Other than the microwave not working properly, everything else was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America and sharing your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your suite offering apartment style living with room to relax that made your stay easy. Please come and see us again when in our area. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oakland

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The staff was friendly, toilet did not work, I had to fix it & the shower did not drain. Room was clean but smelled of cigarettes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know you had a pleasant visit and that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. However, I am sorry for the issues you had in your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. I have shared your concerns with my team to ensure no future guest experiences the same. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager