Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

Clean rooms

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Rooms were very clean. Personnel was very nice professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Lela, it was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America, and thank you for sharing your review with other travelers. It's great to read you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and service were to your satisfaction. We look forward to sharing your positive feedback with our team. Please visit with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disapprove because of personnel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Nothing to say just disappointed about the level of communication and the support received from the personnel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. We strive to provide better hospitality to all of our guests, but we obviously let you down with our service. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services going forward. We are truly sorry and hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great location for a reasonable price! Alameda is a great mid point for a bay area expirience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America and sharing a nice review. We are glad to know you liked our convenient location and that the reasonable value we offer for the price added to your joy. We hope to be your hotel of choice whenever you are back in this area. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seal Beach, CA

Nothing fancy

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Tables and chairs in lobby so eat bkfst
Location: Only visited family
Staff very accommodating. This is a minimum service Extended Stay. If you wanted to outfit the kitchen, you had to ask for it (NOTHING-not even a coffee maker in room). If you wanted clean towels you had to bring your dirty towels to the front desk and get clean ones! If you wanted room tended more than every 8 days, it was extra. I know this kept the rates down so I do understand all of the above. BUT VERY UNUSUAL as we have stayed at Extended Stays in many different areas of USA As to the facility -- no tables/chairs to eat bkfst - just sofa and balancing food on your lap. No restroom for guests on main floor-had to ask at desk and were taken through hotel laundry to the staff bathroom. BUT when I come North to visit my sister again I WILL STAY at this facility as it is VERY close to her home and convenient for her to pick us up
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Although you liked your overall stay, we apologize that you were unhappy with our hotel policy as well as our facilities. I will share your feedback with my management. On a positive note, I am glad to read our location was perfect for your needs and this aspect will bring you back to our property. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakland

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was great the room was clean and the location was perfect for our family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Joe, it was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America and thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to read you and your family enjoyed our facilities and service provided to you. Please visit us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Stay

Posted Jul 24, 2017
It was a nightmare! Upon arrival we were told that they couldn't accommodate us. The reservation had been done four months in advance and at 6:00 pm we were told to find another hotel. No one notified us until until 5:59 pm via email...too late. Several guests arriving after us were being accommodated. How unprofessional! We were traveling with our children and were being told we could not stay there. After a long ordeal, we were accommodated. No one should undergo this very uncomfortable situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are terribly sorry about the issues you experienced with your reservation, and even more that we did not appropriately correct the situation. Your experience is not indicative of the service we train our associates to provide. We have shared your feedback with the entire team as we take your comments seriously, and our training will be revisited to ensure this does not happen again going forward. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another chance to make it up to you on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Sophia

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to post your gracious rating online. Impressing our guests is our top priority, so we are glad that you were left with a good impression. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon at Extended Stay America - Oakland Alameda. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by hoff

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hoff, on behalf of our entire team, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations or ours. Although we make every effort to be perfect, sometimes we fall short. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future so we can provide you with the superior hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose,ca

The view was nice of the harbor

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The location was good
Cons: The smell and the bed
Location: Lots of places to eat
The room smelled terrible!!! Someone must have cooked some potent food before, it was almost unbearable! Also the bed is so uncomfortable we decided to wake up early and leave and miss our concert just so we could go home and get some sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Lori, thank you for the review. We are glad you liked our location. But, we are sorry for the issues you encountered in your room. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment, and we're disappointed to know that this was not your experience. Your concerns are been shared with our housekeeping as well as maintenance teams in an effort to improve our facilities and services going forward. We hope to have another opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by Oscar

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Oscar, thank you for taking time to rate your visit. Our number one priority is to make sure you receive an outstanding experience, so I am sorry we fell short while you were here. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and accommodations. Sincerely, General Manager