Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Nice hotel in a very good area near downtown

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Easy acess, excellent staff, great room....near downtown Oakland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dennis, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Rodeway Inn Alameda; it was truly a pleasure to welcome you and a delight to read your kind comments! We are very happy that you had such an enjoyable visit and found our location convenient to downtown Oakland, as well as received good service from our staff. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have a warm welcome and friendly service, so we are always grateful when this is recognized. Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OR


Posted Sep 8, 2017
Fine hotel, in an area of many restaurants. The receptionist was a little slow in checking me in but can be considered acceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us at the Rodeway Inn Alameda and appreciate your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered at check-in, but we will review your comments with our front desk team so that we can make improvements to this process. Please come back and stay with us again!
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

clean hotel but staff need more training

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: clean room
Cons: service level
Location: good location
Arriving to the hotel was a bit of a disaster. The staff cancelled my confirmed booking. Then when asked to book again in person, he wouldn't take my international mastercard. It became a literal argument with this staff who was working graveyard shift. This hotel chain can do better training to its staff on how to process payment so to avoid any causing more stress to out of town guest who have just gotten off a 12 hour flight from Iceland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Emmanuel, We appreciate your comments and take them very seriously. While it pleases us that you found your room to be clean and comfortable, we sincerely apologize for the trouble with your reservation and check in process. Your feedback will be discussed with our team to make sure this does not happen again and we will certainly use it as a training opportunity as suggested. Please accept our apologies for any stress that this caused you. We strive to provide our guests with friendly and courteous service and our check-in protocols will be reviewed. The next time you return to the area we would appreciate another opportunity to provide you with the customer service you deserve, along with the comfort you enjoyed previously.
1 out of 5
by Robert

Gross... bed bugs.. For real! The room was old, di

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Gross... bed bugs.. For real! The room was old, dirty & stained. The area was ghetto and the service was rude. They literally stood at the door at 11:15 telling us we had to get out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017
Dear Robert, We welcome all guest feedback as we consider it an opportunity to continually address aspects of our accommodations that need improvement. Your report of pests is extremely concerning as we consider this a serious issue. As soon as pests are reported to us, our policy is to close off that room until the pest-services have performed a full investigation and eliminated any possible pests. In addition to this, we apologize for any perceived rudeness during check out. Our check out time is at 11:00 am and unfortunately, we cannot always accommodate late checkouts. Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we hope you were able to enjoy your time in Alameda.
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca.

Sleepless night

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We checked in at 6 pm. Was tied from a long drive the room was nice and clean but no water in the fridge the coffee maker has dust on it . During the night we can hear people talking and walk around the facility we couldn't sleep 'cause of the noise we checkout at 7:30 am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Darlene, We regret that despite our clean and updated rooms, your stay with us was not as restful as it should have been. Nothing is more important to us than ensuring that our customers get the rest that they need and deserve. Our team is always happy to address any noise issues guests may encounter, or to move them to a different room that better suits their needs. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and we will use it to continue to improve our guest experience. We wish you happy travels!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by crystal


Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Dear Crystal, We're saddened to hear about your unsatisfactory experience at our property. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience due to our payment policy. We regret that the situation wasn't handled in a more professional and courteous manner and will discuss this with our team. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope for a chance to make it up to you.
4 out of 5
by Bordintr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Nice location....but,

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Young lady at the check-in was not friendly or inviting at all when I checked in. Bathroom door in my room looked like someone tried put their fist through it. The T.V.s are in desperate need of being upgraded and a lamp on the nightstand would've been nice. This place has potential.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of your experience. As you noted, we do have potential, and we are realizing it with a complete update of our property that is currently in progress! We will definitely address the maintenance issues you identified. Our goal as a staff is to make every one of our guests feel completely at home, so we apologize for the welcome at our front desk that fell below our usual high standards. Please let us make it up to you with another stay in Alameda that proves that we can deliver more than just a good location to our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you soon.
3 out of 5
by Bonnie

Service is awful, room is okay.

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The lady at the counter hated people. She was so rude. The man wasn't great either when we checked in. They need customer service training. We asked for wheelchair accessible room and they only had a room upstairs. Very inconvenient and not sympathetic at all. No offer to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017
Dear Bonnie, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your review as we strive to improve our guest experience. While we're excited the room was comfortable and suitable to your needs, we're sorry you found our front desk service to be below your standards. Your experience is not typical of our staff and we will address the situation with them to be certain that the issue is resolved. We hope you consider us for a future stay.