Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If nothing else is available.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Centrally located.
Cons: Room wasn't ready for guest. And priced way too high for what was presented.
Room not ready. No toilet paper or coffee/filter. Bathroom sink needs maintenance. Dirty ceiling fans.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Shopping and Rest.
To many stairs an oldely person could not stay there! The day we left asked for a receipt they can't print one up instead they send another revcotion to my email. had to go back so they could a receipt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

coziest hotel ever

Posted Sep 5, 2016
My wife and I loved our stay. The staff was friendly enough and made checking in and out super convenient. We love the homey western feel and have never been more cozy in a hotel. Its said that the hotel is haunted, and the antique phone upstairs rings on occasion (though it isn't hooked up.) Regardless, this is magical place to stay, and is less than a minute walk from some of the coolest little shops and breakfast/coffee places. This is our new favorite place to stay in our new favorite little mountain town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy dirty. Cancelled our stay upon entering

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Entered the room to find a dirty filthy bath mat in bathroom. Hotel needs updated completely. Nothing like described. Cancell upon arrival with front desk manager. She said there would be no charge. Took us hours to find another hotel in area. Very much inconvenienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Alabama

Great Stay......Great Staff!!!

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: I really loved the old western style look of the rooms, with rustic wood planks along the walls. The authentic antique furnishings just fabulous!
Cons: Well, if anything..trying to find what switch was for what. A little confusing.
Location: The hotel was in town, plenty of shopping, forest areas, restaurants (no fast food :) ) Just quaint intimate local owners with nice merchandise.
This Hotel was located right over the downtown stores, kind of in a country/western setting. The room was just beautiful with that touch of antiquity style in it. Old student desk, old dinner table, old clothes closet........just beautiful! The staff was absolutely wonderful and helped us in any way they could, and very personable. The view......breathtaking.....snow in October?...wow!!! It was my first trip back in 42 years and I found that Cloudcroft had struck gold with this Hotel...Well done!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Internet pic of hotel is misleading

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: Some kind of patio for sitting outside.
Location: Close to shops and restaurants. Not much nightlife.
There are a few rooms in the building pictured but most rooms are off site. Basically like "portable" motel rooms. Do not go expecting everything you need to be in kitchenette, like a knife or dish soap. It was adequate and the bed was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lubbock

Motorcycle trip

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Clean & friendly
Location: Good cafe next door, open for breakfast at 6 am
Good all around experience, a relaxing time that made a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on Main Street

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Pretty great
Cons: Mattresses and a place to gather other than the room. Couch/ chairs, games etc....
Very good! Hotel staff was super nice and willing to help in any way needed. Rustic quaint old hotel. We loved the experience! Claw foot tub/shower and antique furnishings were neat! If your looking for amenities and lots of activity, Cloudcroft on a whole is not for you....... It is a very peaceful quiet town wth a few shops, restaurants (all close by 9), hiking, biking a little golf and just relaxing. A great Cinnimon Roll at bakery!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but beware of spiders

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Nice location and room layout.
Cons: Pest control and bathroom updated. There was a beetle under the bathroom shower mat and multiple spiders.
Location: Beautiful outdoor trails and shopping along the strip. I buy turquoise jewelry here every year.
We had 4 spiders come our way within the one night stay here. Great location but not the best room. Since we were out on the trails, shopping, etc. and we were only staying for one night we didn't make a big deal. The shower was not very clean and I would recommend bringing flip flops. The staff told us to check in late as they were still cleaning the room and was not very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice location

Posted Aug 5, 2015
The hotel is in a nice location for doing things in town and within a short drive of many hiking and other outdoor activities as well. There are several restaurants and shops within walking distance including a bar for your nightcap. If you arrive after hours, you will find the place dark and locked up. Call the number on the door to get the code to enter the hotel. We had two rooms and one had a leak in the ceiling. This is an old building so you might expect maintenance issues. We would have been moved to another room, but the hotel was completely booked. The staff was nice, but didn't offer any extras or other compensation for the inconvenience. In any case, we would probably stay here again and recommend the hotel to friends for a weekend get-a-way.