Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Mountain atmosphere . The restaurant was very good!!!! The food was done to perfection.
We only stayed one night, so didn't get time to any hiking, or exploring the town., but it was beautiful there. We would like to go again when we have more time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Area is beautiful!!! Loved the small town. Although we had a wonderful stay , felt as though the room could have been cleaner... thick dust on celina fan , cob webs on the windows and curtain need cleaning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location, ambiance, restaurant.
Great weekend get-a-way for Labor Day! Very comfortable, although rooms were a bit small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flower Mound, TX

Pretentious for no good reason

Posted Aug 24, 2014
This hotel is old, amenities are way subpar, and in a grotesque way tries to pretend it is a world class hotel. It is not, never been, never will be. The same goes for their restaurant, which is a joke in its own. Save yourself the disappointment and get yourself a nice house on VRBO.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Good Sunday Brunch:) Please don't force me to write more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Beautiful historical hotel!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Antiques, history, and the restaurant!
This hotel is a wonderful experience and we loved it. But if you have trouble with elevation sickness you should be aware that it is three stories without an elevator. The hotel is at 8900 feet and we had to leave after one day because my sickness. Was fine after getting back down the mountain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, CA

Classy old "Lodge" hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The room was quaint....antique furnishings and a king size bed. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Put in an elevator.
Location: N/A
I would not have stayed there if I knew there were three flights of stairs to our room and no elevator. They did find a person to help us with our luggage. The dinner and breakfast were just "OK", but priced accordingly. I would recommend the Lodge at Cloudcroft to folks who like to hike and appreciate the mountain things to do. 9,000 feet elevation and three flights of stairs did us flat-landers in but it was a nice experience after we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice turn of the century hotel with lots of charm

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful views from restaurant. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth,Texas

Totally Relaxing

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Scenic setting…quiet and uncrowded! Great legend about being haunted!!
Cons: Rocking chairs on the porch and decks
We were pleasantly surprised with how delightful the Hotel was….Very nicely appointed. Historic and inviting. The scenery and views are great. Dining room setting and bar are very nice. We took advantage of the surrounding area and hiked some trails and then took a scenic drive during our stay. We found a great place for lunch and walked around the cute little shopping district. We came back to our pavilion room which looked like a cabin to rest and clean up. The covered porch was beautiful for sitting and enjoying the cool summer weather with a glass of wine from our room. We ended up at the Lodge Bar for a second glass of wine followed by a lovely dinner overlooking the mountain side . The food and service were good, maybe not like our top notch Dallas fare…but better than I expected! After a relaxing meal we ended up climbing the stairs to the tower to see the sunset view. Stunning! Before retiring to our room we spent some time by the fire pit behind the hotel near the gazebo watching someone roast a marshmallow. Cloudcroft is quiet and peaceful place …Sleep with your windows open in the summer! It's safe and very rewarding to visit. We loved it there! The Jackson's
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Mountain Get away

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The restaurant was great and the grounds were well kept.
Cons: Upkeep of the rooms. See above
Location: Mountain area with hiking, biking and a cute small town.
Our experience at the Lodge was ok, but we were disappointed in the upkeep of the facility. The carpet going upstairs was wore, the flooring in our bathroom was peeling. The furniture in the game room was dirty. The windows were dirty on the outside and had spider webs. This is a lovely old setting, but needs to be maintained.