Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by John W.

Trip with Friends

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel location is great with nice views of White Sands. We had breakfast a couple of mornings. The buffet is very nice and reasonably priced. The dinner menu seemed to be overpriced, so we did not eat there. Be advised that there are steps to everywhere, no elevator to the second or third floors. Our room was part of an ac renovation, so we had to request a space heater during the stay to get the room above 59 degrees. The golf course right across the parking lot is a lot of fun and also reasonably priced. The staff, with the exception of one waiter, is very friendly and anxious to accommodate our requests. The hotel was decorated all over for Halloween which was also great fun to experience.
5 out of 5
by Cathy P.

Total Relaxation

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Orbitz
This was the first I had been back in almost 20 years. I was so happy to see it was still just as beautiful and relaxing as it was almost 20 years ago! Golf course is still incredible!
5 out of 5
by Carlin L.

Wonderful stay!

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Orbitz
The first thing I noticed when entering the lobby was the wonderful smell. NO motel,hotel odor. The staff was very efficient . We loved the room we stayed in, so clean and quaint! We enjoyed the peace and quite. . Took a stroll around the lodge, both inside and outside. Very nice. Loved the breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Jodi N.

Weekend Getaway

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel is beautiful and elegant in the sense that it is from a different era. The down size is there is no elevator and we were on the 3rd floor -36 steps up and 36 steps down for each trip. Aside from that, the grounds were nice, would have liked to see more of the golf course- maybe next time I will rent a cart to drive around it - I do not golf. From what I saw it was really beautiful. Ate only breakfast in Rebecca's and it was very good. Would recommend this place to anyone going to Cloudcroft as they are so friendly and it was a very nice Hotel
1 out of 5
by Pierre c.

Hotel without management

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel must have been very nice but without management and staff it has became a dirty aging place.
4 out of 5
by Luis T.

Quick one night stay

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on HotelClub
The hotel is in a wonderful location at the top of a mountain. Everything was fine, the beds were a little soft for us but everyone is different. We were on our way from Carlsbad to White sands with our 11 year old grandson. We had dinner and breakfast at Rebecca's The food was excellent. Our waitress was really nice and did the best she could but service was very slow at night. They only had two wait staff and a 14 top just before us. The appetizer and salad/soup were fine but it took forever for the main course and we skipped dessert as the waitress did not have time to show us the tray.
3 out of 5
by Samuel T.

Anniversary

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on CheapTickets
A bit disappointed. Room very small and not clean upon arrival. However location and food was great.
5 out of 5
by W. Texas traveler

Great Historical Hotel in Mountains

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Orbitz
The Lodge at Clouldcroft is beautifully maintained and the staff is very friendly. This was our second stay in 5 months because it is the best place to get away from the heat for a shot drive from West Texas. The beds were 5 star quality!
3 out of 5
by Carroll P.

Disapointed

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Orbitz
We were placed in a room without a working air conditioning. A fan placed in a open window was intended to take the place of an AC. Problem - our room was situated right above the designated smoking area in the courtyard. We couldn't close the drapes so the bright lights that burned all night made our room light up like an airport approach. After my complaint we were moved to an air conditioned room but not until the next day late afternoon. We visit Cloudcroft at least once a year and have stayed in the Lodge many times. Very disappointed .
5 out of 5
by Lisa p.

Beautiful and cozy resort

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Orbitz
We were so pleasantly surprised! The most quaint little resort! Clean, well staffed, smelled niced. We did not have a chance to eat at the restaurant but the food smelled amazing. There is a golf course my husband wants to play if we are ever able to return. When we checked out to do a little sight seeing and shopping in town, we even returned to The Lodge to shop at the gift shop in the resort. I wish we had more time than just one night. Only con through the stay...they are doing some renovation to downstairs rooms, so no AC. But even in July with a nightly temp of 52 outside, the room stayed around 75.