Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly service & nice pool.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Friendly service. Front desk was very friendly. She let us stay in the pool longer that evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

A little elbow grease goes a long way!

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The shade tree over my vehicle.
Cons: Clean the rooms!
Location: We were there for an American Legion conference.
I booked the room with apprehension any way but it was the next in line because I didn't want to stay at the Motel 6 because of the not so great quality I have seen there - but I think I have seen Motel 6's in much better shape. I realize the Magnuson is an older place and over all they did try but that room had not been thoroughly cleaned in some time! It seems that about all that gets done is to change the bedding. The floor had not been swept or vacuumed in some time because we found dirt and lots of change under the desk. The bathtub had not been cleaned in a long time either! The soap scum on the tile wall and in the tub was down right nasty! And the grease on the mirrors was built up you could see the film when you turned the light on. It also had a very musty smell. I will not be returning to that place and maybe the cleaning crew needs better training.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tx

Nice hotel, especially for the price.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Enjoyed our stay, they were able to accommodate bringing our dog even though there was not a place on the reservation site nor the hotel website to let them know we were bringing our dog, luckily I called the day before. I do wish the room was able to be made colder.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces

Great Jacuzzi rooms

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Jacuzzi rooms
Cons: better beds
Location: lots of stuff to do in this small town, zoo, museums, parks, and of course driving to Cloudcroft or Ruidoso is a very short trip.
They have 12 Jacuzzi rooms with very nice tile work and very relaxing. We have stayed there many times. I have never been disappointed with the Jacuzzi rooms, there are very few motels with this set up and it is the best for a weekend getaway. The bed was uncomfortable, and the air conditioner quite working the second night, we did report that the drain on the Jacuzzi was not working and the water would leak out, but they did not replace or fix it. So the water slowly leaked out, but we managed to still use it Breakfast was good, scrambled eggs, sausage, and waffles. We arrived about 10 minutes before breakfast was stopping at 9:30 a.m. The waffle machine was out of batter, but we managed to persuade the attendant to get more batter, I don't think she was real thrilled about that since it was almost time to close up shop, but she did it anyway for us very nice. The hotel staff is excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Very Pleased!

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Everything - it was very nice.
Cons: Please replace toilets with more modern appliance - too small!!
Location: Great location, close to Holloman AFB, White Sands National Monument.
Although this is an older motel, it has been extensively remodeled, and is very up to date in all respects. The front desk folks were exceptional, the breakfast was very good, the pool has been completely refinished and is very nice. The room was a nice size, clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable! The only thing we did not care for was the toilet - it was child sized, and very uncomfortable to use - not up to date as the rest of the facility. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Nice place with a very friendly staff.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
While it is older, they keep it up and the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

$10 to upgrade to a non-smoking room.

Posted May 7, 2016
Upon arrival was informed I reserved a smoking room, had to pay $10 to upgrade to a non-smoking room. Was told that was "all that was left" man in front of me walked in without a reservation, paid $7 less than my total price and was given a king. Receptionist then told me the hotel was only paid $49 for my reservation. Toilet ran ALL night, maid woke me up at 8am even with the do not disturb sign on the door, found long strand of hair in the bed so luckily I had another queen bed to switch to. Place appears ancient with a $10 paint job.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok stay.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: The price was great.
Cons: Housekeeping. I told them I didn't want service and they almost walked in on me when I got out of the shower.
Location: Convenient location. Right in the middle of town. You can go to the Pistachio farm or the sand dunes. Memories restaurant has the best steaks!
The room was average. I didn't like the fact that the pool wasn't open. There used to be a Jacuzzi, but not anymore. There is a big space when the door is shut. The air was whistling through as the wind blew outside. Bathroom window was the only way to air out the bathroom and it wouldn't prop open. The front lobby staff were very polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Feels like family

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: The staff is superb. I've never stayed anywhere where they treat you better.
Cons: Bathroom seal around the tub could use some touchup.
Location: The location is good for us. Most of the places we go in Alamogordo are within a few blocks.
The staff makes you feel like family whenever you are in the lobby. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is enjoyable. We will stay there anytime we visit Alamogordo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Was a comfortable, no frills hotel. Parking was excellent, all spaces were extra wide and right outside the rooms.