Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mn

Close to White Sands

Posted May 22, 2017
Older hotel, nice bed, but wouldn't walk around barefoot. Hallway floor kind of sagged. I was surprised it was quiet and I got a good night's sleep. The price made it a decent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Super 8 hotel in Alamogordo NM

Posted May 21, 2017
The hotel manager was very friendly and informative about the amenities of the hotel as well as what the town had to offer. Would stay there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Timberon, NM

Bloody pillow case

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Not Much
There was a lot of blood on my pillow case and the man at the desk accused me of putting there. He offered to give me new sheets and pillow cases but I would have to put them on the bed myself so I asked for a new room and he reluctantly gave me one but not before blaming me for the blood again. Needless to say I didn't sleep well because the room was next door and the same person probably did both rooms. Never again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cherry Hill, NJ

Remember When

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The owner, a real gentlemen. Also, a reserved parking space for any vet (honor system). Nice touch.
Location: WSNM deserves to be on everyone's bucket list. Not many places on Earth like it. Be sure to take the 6:45 PM guided walking tour.
This property was probably built in the late 1950's during the glory days of Route 66. Everything about it was small including the price. The gentlemen at the front desk was also the owner and was very polite and accommodating. If you and your crew need space, you may wish to reconsider. However we are average size and were very pleased with our stay. The morning buffet was really good, ditto the bed and shower. What else do you need? We came here to visit White Sands and the hotel was good enough for that purpose. By the way, how the hell do you explode an atomic bomb in the middle of New Mexico and keep it a secret? Explore the whole WS area and you'll understand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

Very close to all my needs

Posted May 9, 2017
Here on sad business and the staff worked with my needs to help comfort me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place and very friendly staff.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The person who greeted us at the counter was very nice and provided a good deal of information on what to do while we were in the area. It was also one of the nicest Super 8's I've ever stayed at!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Nice hotel. Easy access and check in. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean comfortable room. Next to restaurant and sheriffs office. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location was convenient. Good restaurant next door. Good breakfast bar.
Cons: The room itself and the recliner smelled. The tub/shower was very slippery. Did not feel safe standing in it. Bed wasn't real comfortable.
Stayed in Alamogordo because everything in Cloudcroft was booked up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Disappointing

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The people were very nice and it was close to where I was visiting.
Cons: I would have to say Safety and Sanitary conditions are at the top of the list.
Location: Restaurants are plentiful. You have to travel to see things but the Space Museum is close buy.
Rates were good. Found a taped up wire to a lamp in bedroom,also found plug for the air conditioner had overheated at one time had a bubble and it was brown. Carpet could have been cleaner. When walking from carpet to tile floor in bath room your slippers would stick to the floor. Here is the best, the older man checking on the levels of cereal and filling the containers up using a plastic cup did not use gloves in order to be sanitary. He also pushed down the items in garbage pail and then went about touching the refrigerator counting items inside then proceeded to clean counter with a wet towel. He left and then returned putting bread items in a case that they are kept in and saw nothing used to be sanitary. God only knows where else his hands have been! Unsanitary as heck. I will say the male in front where you check in was very nice and personable. I did not have the heart to tell him the things I had found nor did I want a confrontation with him. I did take pictures of both the wire tapped up and the air conditioner plug. The two biggest things were safety and sanitary issues. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

Not expensive

Posted Apr 6, 2017
I feel the rates are very reasonable. Location was perfect for my needs.