Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of Order!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The Country Kitchen was great!
Cons: False advertisement!
Location: Sand Dunes were nice!
We took our family to swim, in the advertisement there was a big pool with a slide. Out of Order, its not like this just happened either, the pool has been closed for quite some time and won't be open until May. The workout facility, out of order!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Nice Place to Stay Near Great Sand Dunes NP

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms, location, people, TV channels (who knew you could watch Colorado Mammoth Lacrosse?)
Cons: I really wish the pool had been open but it looked like it was being renovated. I'm still young enough for water slides with no shame.
Location: Near downtown Alamosa, Rio Grande Scenic Railroad, great adobe architecture, Great Sand Dunes National Park, San Luis Valley, great Mexican food, etc.
Stayed one night here during my Spring Break trip. Clean and comfortable room. Friendly people working there. While not within walking distance to much, it is a quick drive away from downtown Alamosa and about twenty minutes from Great Sand Dunes National Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Phyllis Grey General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm with you we are never to old for a good waterslide. Would love to have you back when the waterpark is finished. Thank you again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst hotels- and I travel for a living

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The servers at the restaurant were pleasant.
Cons: Expedia needs to reduce the number of stars. This should have 1 star - if that.
One side of the shelving in our first room was unscrewed and hanging from the wall, making it unusable. I told the person at the desk about it and his comment was "well, is the bed clean?" I was shocked and told him I hadn't gotten that far; the room was unacceptable. It also had no microwave. He put us in another room. This one had no phone and three out of the five light fixtures didn't work. The toilet and sink fixtures were dirty. The bed frame sticks out from the side of the bed, but it's hidden by the bed skirt, so I bruised my shin. The property states there's an indoor pool and there hasn't been one there for quite some time. There's a sign that says the pool is closed until further notice, but there's no sign of a pool and the "spa" is inaccessible. Their "cooked to order" breakfast is an English muffin, oatmeal, or a danish. I booked this through Expedia's express deals, sight unseen, because they billed it as 2 1/2 stars. This is a one star hotel, and I would not stay here again. I will also not trust Expedia's deal ratings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pueblo, CO

Okay for the price

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: make sure features in rooms are fully functional. Very annoying when something.. Be more specific in ads re "free breakfast"-free continental breakfa
Location: annual sandhill crane festival in this area is magnificent, very big draw for nature lovers!
cost was $59/night, so didn't expect outstanding. Had to wait quite awhile for desk person to come back from doing something else. Pools were closed indefinitely.Stopper in bathroom sink not functional. Large area where glass had broken out was laced with "crime scene" tape.Hallways were dim. The "free breakfast" was just a continental breakfast, but you could get a full breakfast buffet for $10.99! A bit misleading. Rooms were pleasant enough, Man at front desk was polite and helpful once he got there. The "full breakfast" buffet, even though we had to pay for it (minus 10%) was actually quite good. So, you get what you pay for, and I'd say we did, and maybe a bit more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by David Front Desk Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. Management is aware of the lacking breakfast in the morning, along with some if not all of the issues we face here at the Rodeway and is working to make a change that way we can offer each one of our guest an affordable and comfortable stay. We'd like to thank you for staying with us and if you happen our way in the future we'd love a chance to exceed your expectations of our hotel! Kind Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ks

Rather Sleep Under A Bridge

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Nob broke off tub round 11pm when we got in town. Water wouldn't shut off. Couldn't move us to a room till morning. New room the lights flickered. Everything seemed stained and half he light switches were broke. Breakfast is a joke. Online says breakfast included but that's just one muffin and a cup of coffee. Staff was rude. Waterpark was shut down and tore down and looked like the black lagoon. I could keep going but honestly just pay the extra $20-30 somewhere else. This place is a huge joke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by David Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. We're sorry to hear that there were some pluming issues in your room, management has since been made aware of the issue and is working to resolve it, we'd like to offer you a discount on your previous stay. We try hard to offer a comfortable and affordable stay here at the Rodeway and we're aware of most if not all of our faults and work on a daily basis to fix what needs fixing and improve service where it needs to be improved and reviews such as yours are helping us know how we can better ourselves, I'd like to thank you again and if you happen our way again we'd love the chance to exceed your expectations of our hotel and again we're sorry we weren't up to your expectations the first time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Stay somewhere else

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We booked this hotel specifically for the pool. When checking in we found out the pool was closed for renovations. The rooms are very dated and very dusty, didn't even want to sit on the couch because of the thick layer of visible dust. Mattress was awful. We ended up leaving early because we were so uncomfortable. They offer a free continental breakfast but be prepared to order and pay for more food as we found it just wasn't enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Phyllis GM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. As a new GM I encourage guests to leave feedback, I need to know what needs to be done to make our guests stay a pleasant one. I look forward to seeing you again so that you can see our many improvements in the future. And again thank you for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a "Bomb" make over

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Hair on tub Iced up refrig. No sense to tv programming facility in dire need of major update.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review, we are working hard to give all of our guests an affordable and comfortable stay. I'm sorry to hear that we fell short on a few things in the room and we are aware of such issues and are working on a daily basis in order to assure each one of our guests the stay anyone would ask for. If you happen our way again we'd love to exceed your expectations of our hotel. Alamosa Rodeway Inn Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pueblo, CO

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Easy Access from Hwy 160. Has restaurant, bar and place to entertain kids. Pet friendly rooms available.
Comfortable and inexpensive. Good sized rooms with comfortable beds. Stay there whenever I visit the Valley for family events and business meetings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and if you in the area again we'd love to exceed your expectations of our hotel! Rodeway Inn Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roswell NM

hotel for family in Alamosa for graduation.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location was fine, concept was great - just needed updating to the times.
Cons: same as above.
Location: n/a
Needs update badly! Time of visit was in Dec. so it was cold. Summer would be nicer. We wanted access for all members of family to have different fun and not have to leave hotel. Not too many guests. Everything just needs to be updated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We're doing our best to give each of our customers a pleasant and affordable stay with our property. We regret that we were unable to provide you with this, but we encourage you to give our hotel another chance if you're ever in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I highly advise you not to stay here

Posted Dec 4, 2016
We wanted to see the Sand Dunes, and decided to stay here because of the pool. The pool was closed, which I called the day before to double check that it was properly working and would be open. The door to our room DIDNT LOCK. When brought to the attention of the gentleman at the front desk, he could care less. Told me to latch the door from the inside and no one could get in. I brought it to his attention that that was such a great idea for when we were in the room, but how about when we were out of the room. And he said our valueables are our responsibility and to move us he would charge us for a second room. So we kept all our luggage in our car. Let me tell you how fun that was. I highly regret going the cheap option. We ended up spending more money then we would have spent at the nice hotel in town because we had to pay to go to a hot spring, and the free breakfast wasn't enough to fill up anyone in my family. The hotel is also insanely run down, smelled horrible. The only good thing was I got a good night sleep, and the bed was comfortable. I'm assuming it was a new mattress bc there were a pile of mattresses insight by the front desk
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We regret that you didn't enjoy your stay, but would encourage you to give us another shot if you're ever in the area. We've been working hard to give our guests the best experience possible, and to give that experience at an affordable price. We also updated our locks on all doors on the premises. We hope you'll stay with us again, and that we'll be able to surpass your expectations.