Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The facility was fine it was unfortunate the pool was closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by David Front Desk Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so sorry about the pool, we've been doing upgrades and it has taken a bit longer than anticipated and we did not mean to inconvenience you during your stay with us, if you happen our way again we'd love to show you how great this hotel can be with the wonderful Water park we have. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be seeing you soon!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool closed Restaurant understaffed

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Appeared that operation funds were low due to lack of staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by David Front Desk Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for giving our hotel a review, management is working hard each and every day with our wonderful staff to improve our guest stays. We're sorry about the state of the building, we're aware that it needs some T.L.C. and I assure you that the team we have is just the ones to do it, so if you happen our way again we'd love the chance to show you all of our improvements. Thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback, we're looking forward to seeing you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pool was down for maintenance, room wasn't cleaned after the first night and had to request more towels, no hand soap given in the bathrooms, soap holder in shower is placed dangerously; I almost hit my eye on it and hit my arm on it several times while trying to shower, no bath plug; had to go buy one in order to give the baby a bath, wall paper was coming off the wall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Phyllis Grey General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review, I'm so sorry about our pool and about all the issues you had in our rooms. Since I became the GM I've worked to improve each aspect of the hotel for our guests and your feedback is helping me figure out first hand what I need to focus my work on, thank you again for staying with us if you happen our way again I'd like a chance to exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of Order!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The Country Kitchen was great!
Cons: False advertisement!
Location: Sand Dunes were nice!
We took our family to swim, in the advertisement there was a big pool with a slide. Out of Order, its not like this just happened either, the pool has been closed for quite some time and won't be open until May. The workout facility, out of order!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by David Front Desk Supervisor , Hotel Management
We're so sorry that you were not informed about the pool being closed for repairs. We've been trying hard to reach out to all of our future guests to inform them of the problem. Please come and stay with us again once it us up and running again, we'll make sure to get you a good discounted rate on your room and a filling breakfast. We're sorry we fell short during your previous stay with us but I assure you it is not our best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Nice Place to Stay Near Great Sand Dunes NP

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms, location, people, TV channels (who knew you could watch Colorado Mammoth Lacrosse?)
Cons: I really wish the pool had been open but it looked like it was being renovated. I'm still young enough for water slides with no shame.
Location: Near downtown Alamosa, Rio Grande Scenic Railroad, great adobe architecture, Great Sand Dunes National Park, San Luis Valley, great Mexican food, etc.
Stayed one night here during my Spring Break trip. Clean and comfortable room. Friendly people working there. While not within walking distance to much, it is a quick drive away from downtown Alamosa and about twenty minutes from Great Sand Dunes National Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Phyllis Grey General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm with you we are never to old for a good waterslide. Would love to have you back when the waterpark is finished. Thank you again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst hotels- and I travel for a living

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The servers at the restaurant were pleasant.
Cons: Expedia needs to reduce the number of stars. This should have 1 star - if that.
One side of the shelving in our first room was unscrewed and hanging from the wall, making it unusable. I told the person at the desk about it and his comment was "well, is the bed clean?" I was shocked and told him I hadn't gotten that far; the room was unacceptable. It also had no microwave. He put us in another room. This one had no phone and three out of the five light fixtures didn't work. The toilet and sink fixtures were dirty. The bed frame sticks out from the side of the bed, but it's hidden by the bed skirt, so I bruised my shin. The property states there's an indoor pool and there hasn't been one there for quite some time. There's a sign that says the pool is closed until further notice, but there's no sign of a pool and the "spa" is inaccessible. Their "cooked to order" breakfast is an English muffin, oatmeal, or a danish. I booked this through Expedia's express deals, sight unseen, because they billed it as 2 1/2 stars. This is a one star hotel, and I would not stay here again. I will also not trust Expedia's deal ratings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Phyllis Grey General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. I'm sorry about the condition of our hotel, since I became the manager I have been working daily to make improvements and still have a long way to go but I assure you that I will get there and improve our hotel to stop things such as what you have shown and said in your review. If you happen our way again I'd like a chance to give you a much better experience, in a much better room and again I'm so sorry about everything!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pueblo, CO

Okay for the price

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: make sure features in rooms are fully functional. Very annoying when something.. Be more specific in ads re "free breakfast"-free continental breakfa
Location: annual sandhill crane festival in this area is magnificent, very big draw for nature lovers!
cost was $59/night, so didn't expect outstanding. Had to wait quite awhile for desk person to come back from doing something else. Pools were closed indefinitely.Stopper in bathroom sink not functional. Large area where glass had broken out was laced with "crime scene" tape.Hallways were dim. The "free breakfast" was just a continental breakfast, but you could get a full breakfast buffet for $10.99! A bit misleading. Rooms were pleasant enough, Man at front desk was polite and helpful once he got there. The "full breakfast" buffet, even though we had to pay for it (minus 10%) was actually quite good. So, you get what you pay for, and I'd say we did, and maybe a bit more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by David Front Desk Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. Management is aware of the lacking breakfast in the morning, along with some if not all of the issues we face here at the Rodeway and is working to make a change that way we can offer each one of our guest an affordable and comfortable stay. We'd like to thank you for staying with us and if you happen our way in the future we'd love a chance to exceed your expectations of our hotel! Kind Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ks

Rather Sleep Under A Bridge

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Nob broke off tub round 11pm when we got in town. Water wouldn't shut off. Couldn't move us to a room till morning. New room the lights flickered. Everything seemed stained and half he light switches were broke. Breakfast is a joke. Online says breakfast included but that's just one muffin and a cup of coffee. Staff was rude. Waterpark was shut down and tore down and looked like the black lagoon. I could keep going but honestly just pay the extra $20-30 somewhere else. This place is a huge joke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by David Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. We're sorry to hear that there were some pluming issues in your room, management has since been made aware of the issue and is working to resolve it, we'd like to offer you a discount on your previous stay. We try hard to offer a comfortable and affordable stay here at the Rodeway and we're aware of most if not all of our faults and work on a daily basis to fix what needs fixing and improve service where it needs to be improved and reviews such as yours are helping us know how we can better ourselves, I'd like to thank you again and if you happen our way again we'd love the chance to exceed your expectations of our hotel and again we're sorry we weren't up to your expectations the first time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Stay somewhere else

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We booked this hotel specifically for the pool. When checking in we found out the pool was closed for renovations. The rooms are very dated and very dusty, didn't even want to sit on the couch because of the thick layer of visible dust. Mattress was awful. We ended up leaving early because we were so uncomfortable. They offer a free continental breakfast but be prepared to order and pay for more food as we found it just wasn't enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Phyllis GM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review. As a new GM I encourage guests to leave feedback, I need to know what needs to be done to make our guests stay a pleasant one. I look forward to seeing you again so that you can see our many improvements in the future. And again thank you for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a "Bomb" make over

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Hair on tub Iced up refrig. No sense to tv programming facility in dire need of major update.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our hotel a review, we are working hard to give all of our guests an affordable and comfortable stay. I'm sorry to hear that we fell short on a few things in the room and we are aware of such issues and are working on a daily basis in order to assure each one of our guests the stay anyone would ask for. If you happen our way again we'd love to exceed your expectations of our hotel. Alamosa Rodeway Inn Management