Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet location

Posted Sep 24, 2016
While the highway out front may create a bit of noise, the back of the lodge, patio areas, the grounds, the river for kayaking, etc, are wonderful and relaxing. The 24-7 refreshments of water, tea, and coffee are welcome perks. The upstairs loft area/media room/game room over the lobby is AWESOME. Great for a hang out. The breakfast (included) was also very good. We did also appreciate the kayaks were included at no additional fee (first come, first served) so you dont have that feeling of being nickel-and-dimed- to death for everything you want to do..... Unaffiliated with the Lodge-Beware of Chippewa taxi service as they ripped us off big time (cash only, naturally) for the 8 mile ride to Peliston Airport (a GREAT little airport, BTW...) Shop around and get a quote up front or you'll pay $45 like we did....!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Scenic setting

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Quiet and accommodating.
Cons: On site dining.
Location: Location to trail heads for biking and access to boating on nearby river and lakes.
We loved staying here. The staff was very accommodating, the room extremely large and very comfortable. Loved the balcony - nice spot to relax and enjoy the nature view and river. The popcorn and drinks was a nice afternoon touch and we enjoyed the fire pit in the evening. The breakfast was very good. The only down side was no restaurant for dinner although a discount coupon was provided for other Stafford restaurants. We enjoy a nice dinner with a cocktail and it would have been nice to have the option on premises without driving into Petoskey. It seemed the restaurants nearby were more bar food, deli types. Probably good food but not what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
would highly recommend- only stayed one night traveling through bur plan on coming back for longer
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Illinois

Wonderful place to get away from the world

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Views of the beautiful grounds, the marsh and the creek with the woods in the distance. All rooms have a view.
Cons: It's about as close to perfection as any place I have stayed.
Location: Lake Michigan and Huron are nearby as well as other smaller lakes. Canoeing and hiking. Sight seeing. And just getting away from it all.
I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. We happened across it as a place to stay for the night as part of our tour of the upper regions of Michigan. What we found was a place where we would like to stay for many days. Somehow, if you can get to Alanson, MI for a few days, I recommend that you stay here. Alanson is close to the Straits of Mackinaw, Mackinaw Island. It's also close to Petoskey and Charlevoix ... and the beautiful surrounding areas. Traverse City is relatively close by, but if you really want to get away from it all, I suggest that you drive in for a lunch and that about it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Natural setting, comfortable rustic furnishings

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Clean, large rooms. Reasonable variety to breakfast. Easy parking.
Cons: Elevator is slow. No plugs on night stand to charge devices overnight.
Location: Property adjoins Crooked River. Burt Lake state park is 15 minutes away.
The hotel has plenty to offer, including free breakfast, open air patio overlooking large lawn down to creek, kayaks, games, rustic lodge look.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wixom Lake, MI

Great stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The small things that make it nice. Like iced tea, lemonade and ice water in the lobby. Popcorn in the old fashioned popcorn cart. Outdoor fire pit
Cons: As I said above, brighter and larger showers.
Location: With Petosky only 10 miles away, there is lots to do. Great restaurants. The state park beach. Downtown shopping. All sorts of water recreation.
Love the cleanliness and nice staff. Ease to check in. Grounds are beautiful. Nature walk was wonderful. Fantastic breakfast. Only one thing negative I can say. The showers are small and dimly lit. Need to be brighter definitely. A curved shower curtain rod is all the showers need. Other than that, the stay was great and will come back again.
5 out of 5
by willa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kristen from Wisconsin

Love this Lodge!

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Resort has many perks: Kayaks and paddleboats (life jackets provided), indoor pool & hot tub, game room, outdoor gas fire pit at night...and delicious breakfast. Artesian well on property....lemonade, iced tea and water provided during the day in lobby.The only disappointment for my teenage daughter was not being allowed in the pool after 9:00pm - becomes adults 18+ only after that time - thought that was a little early. Staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Will definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area.
4 out of 5
by Lisa from Northville

great "up north" feel!

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great place & location. Staff was great. Wonderful up north feel. Wish there was a mini fridge in room. Would stay again.