Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Located on the banks of lake vembanad, this hotel has great views. The building itself is also very beautiful and our room was comfortable and clean. The only downside is that the facilities are a little old and parts of the hotel seem a little run down.b
2 out of 5
by Tharian J

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Promise Not Delivered.

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything except the location.
Our experience fell way short of our expectation. The resort is poorly managed, too many staff but all poorly trained. So, when you arrive, you have three to four helpers in your room doing nothing but expecting to be tipped. The front desk staff are poor communicators. The term resort is a misnomer, with very little on offer in line with a resort. The whole building is in need of extensive repair. Do not get taken in by the photos on the travel site. The surrounding environment is poorly maintained, with a nearby abandoned pool full of scum and mosquitoes. There are no lawns with proper grass cover. The only two big plus for Lemon Tree include a fantastic location, and a very good and enthusiastic cook, Selva. The pool is like an infinity pool, ending nearly on the edge of Vembanad lake, but here again, staff are poorly trained and the whole pool area is poorly designed. Hotel guests wearing all kinds of dresses except appropriate swimming costumes were in the pool. The main staircase railings are creaking and loose, so, it is safe not to hold on to them. It is better to charge guests more but provide a well-managed resort, but for the price we were charged, it was a big disappointment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Very nice hotel for the money.

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Great hotel for the money. Beautiful view of the lake and the staff was most helpful.
3 out of 5
by Charles from Paris

Amazing view but paying Wi-Fi

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location with beautiful view, but the bathrooms are old and not pleasant, you have to pay to get Wi-Fi which is unacceptable in an expensive (for India) hotel
3 out of 5
by mohammadali from mala.thrissur

a bad experience

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel's location is ok.but room (102)was horrible. Bathroom not hygienic, bad smell.blocked manholes shaking watercloset. In room furniture's are not arranged up to guests comfort old model TV no clarity atall. Staff very cooperative. roo service also good
4 out of 5
by Mani from New Delhi

Peaceful and enjoyable trip!

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights in Dec and mostly enjoyed our stay. The best part about the hotel is that its right on the lake and most rooms have views facing the lake. We stayed on the ground floor which had a porch overlooking the lake, where you could sit peacefully and watch the shikara's passing by. There's a beautiful pool which we did not use but it was in the open and had an effect that it was merged into the lake. There is a lot of open spaces/lawns to roam around in and also a kid's play area near the reception. The rooms were well equipped with all the necessary equipment. The staff, especially at the reception were very efficient and would always be ready to help and answer any question, also would arrange transport at a couple of hours notice. There is only one restaurant in the hotel, which serves multi cuisine dishes, but the hotel is in need for more eateries, especially because it is a resort and is a while away from most tourist places. Places of interest around the hotel are 2 beaches- Morari and Alleppey, the latter one more crowded. Shikara's and Houseboat day trips can also arranged from the reception and are really worth it... the scenery is beautiful and green and very peaceful you get to see lovely flora and fauna on the way.
4 out of 5
by Santosh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Brandon from United States

Amazing view but housekeeping was on vacation too.

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
We had a junior suite next to the pool, overlooking the lake. The view was beautiful and the size of the room more than accommodated us. The restaurant was delicious, although slow if you order off the menu. The buffet was nice so a good option if you eat at 7pm or later. I have kids so that wasn't the best option for us. My big issue was the horrible housekeeping. When we arrived the first thing I did was pick up all the dead bugs. I realize we are next to a lake but I shouldn't be welcomed by an insect zombie crew. We were here two nights and housekeeping NEVER showed up. Our room was never cleaned. They called us once at 8pm to see if we needed anything. I should have said toilet paper. The shower was a high tech space module that we never figured out. The water coming out of it did smell bad half the time. This hotel does have some high points and our stay was nice overall but this is NOT a four star hotel.
3 out of 5
by Rama from sydney

Great potential as a resort aftera serious renovat

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived in a sad looking uncared hotel. Extremely overpriced. Shower had old fittings, painfully low water pressure water was always cold to lukewarm at its best Pool was green Pool surrounding was aged and unbearable Wall on the pool side was broken down poolside tiles were all dirty They didn't tell us anything about the renovation Great view Beautiful location Fantastic crew (overworked) Great food. renovation Roof tools were ugly, first floor was in renovation